KMFDM Blitz
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Meatplow
March 25th 2009



5524 Comments


Move On is probably my favourite off of Angst, Light and Drug Against War are so fucking tight though.

Willie
Moderator
March 25th 2009



15919 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I like KMFDM but I've never been a huge fan... I do love me some Angst though. I've always been more drawn to Skinny Puppy, Acumen Nation, Evils Toy.

There used to be an industrial label called Reconstriction Records and they had a lot of cool industrial bands (and they released an "industrial remakes of rap" compilation including a remake of "Push it" by salt and Peppa that sounds like White Zombie and a gothic remake of "Gangsta's Paradise").

If you like this band you probably like Wumpscut too. I got the promo for "Fuckit" at the same time as this album and that is a great album that fans of KMFDM will probably love.

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae

Meatplow
March 25th 2009



5524 Comments


Hell, if we're talking essentials, you may be talking to the wrong guy. Fanboy that I am, I think they're all essentials, haha. I enjoy Naïve and Money both, but I think the period I cited above has the most even and effective distribution of what makes KMFDM. Guitars, synths, hooks, divas, screaming, lyrical wit, and so on.


Definitely, in that sense i'm with you there.

And I can see how very little post-Symbols has captured you. The more firmly-established band of recent years can still put together a stronger record than most acts in music today, but in my opinion, the fact that they've almost completely shut the door to guest musicians has allowed new KMFDM to stagnate. People coming and going in the good ol' days is a large part of what kept KMFDM fresh and interesting (though if you have too many people involved, the music mostly blows; see: Pigface).


Excellent post, I agree fully except i've never listened to Pigface so I can't reference that. (I have Gub) I got bored with what you describe as the stagnation, it seemed a more of the same approach to everything and while I love the KMFDM sound overall nothing I heard sounded as vital and energetic as the early days. But, it seems that way with most early 90's industrial metal i've come across (Ministry, Skinny Puppy, etc).

Merkaba33
March 25th 2009



702 Comments


Yeah, the Angst reviews might not be the most well written in the world, but don't let that seal your opinion on this site.

Whatever. I know many ppl will listen to that album and feel the exact same way i felt about it so i think my review did it's job. The group's so called "winning formula" was some of the most atrocious stuff I've ever heard and that review was merely a warning.This Message Edited On 03.25.09

Meatplow
March 25th 2009



5524 Comments


Don't worry he said "review", meaning mine was not the most well written in the world either :p

Variety in opinions is what makes the world go round.

Meatplow
March 25th 2009



5524 Comments


"reviews*" dammit

Willie
Moderator
March 25th 2009



15919 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Dudes, I wasn't trying to put down either of your reviews. I'm almost positive that I pos'd both of them. What I was trying to avoid was a potential arguement with a new member who might have taken offense when he read a negative review of his favorite band. He likes industrial and it would be cool if he stuck around... then when he gets attached we can all get into another Angst debate ;)

Meatplow
March 25th 2009



5524 Comments


It's fine man, I figured that no offense seriously

i'll be waiting for the next bi-monthly KMFDM review/industrial discussion with the usual regulars

Willie
Moderator
March 25th 2009



15919 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm glad you didn't figure I was trying to talk shit or anything.

ha ha, if we can convert a few more people maybe there will be enough industrial reviews to even have monthly debates!

This Message Edited On 03.25.09

Merkaba33
March 25th 2009



702 Comments


i wasn't mad or anything i just don't want ppl to disregard it as some shitty review cuz they may end up a little dissapointed when they buy the record (as i was). but i understand your view of keeping ppl around. i'm all for that.

Meatplow
March 25th 2009



5524 Comments


yeah man underrepresented genre on here. if I had the time to review more I probably would

i'm not sure how you go with the noise and ambient side of industrial but Navicon Torture Technologies - The Gospels of The Gash is a recent release I found an excellent listen. i'll check out that Wumpscut when I get a chance.

http://annihilvs.blogspot.com/2009/02/gospels-of-gash-020109.html

darkinchworm
March 25th 2009



6 Comments


Just to clarify the "piss-poor reviews" remark I made: I was referring to the scores and reception, not necessarily the writing quality. My apologies for the poor phrasing.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
March 25th 2009



4950 Comments


used to love these guys when i was in highschool. good live show.

DWittisarockstar
March 25th 2009



1501 Comments


I don't listen to much KMFDM, and I don't see that changing with this review. I prefer Attak the most of their albums (though it's never mentioned by KMFDM fans), and I thoroughly enjoy Hau Ruck. KMFDM does suffer from repetition syndrome though.

darkinchworm
March 26th 2009



6 Comments


Attak's rarely mentioned amongst fans because it's almost universally agreed to be their worst effort, haha. At least, it seems that way. What else have you heard?

kingsoby1
Emeritus
March 26th 2009



4950 Comments


juke joint jezebel is all you need.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 26th 2009



8329 Comments


Quote:
ha ha, if we can convert a few more people maybe there will be enough industrial reviews to even have monthly debates!

well that would actually be very nice, since IMO industrial metal is VERY underrated in here. And debates are always good, they introduce a lot new music for about everyone in the debate.

HighandDriving
March 26th 2009



3288 Comments


Is there any songs like Stars and Stripes off of WW3, that's about the onyl song I heard by KMFDM and I like it.This Message Edited On 03.27.09

Wizard
March 26th 2009



19344 Comments


Review made me want to listen to some Skinny Puppy. Good review Willie.

Digging: Mistigo Varggoth Darkestra - The Key to the Gates of the Apocalypse

Willie
Moderator
March 27th 2009



15919 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

juke joint jezebel is all you need.
That's definitely a fun song
Is their any songs like Stars and Stripes off of WW3, that's about the onyl song I heard by KMFDM and I like it.
That's basically a normal KMFDM-style song. They don't all have backing female vocals or guitar riffs, but most of them do. If you like that song you'd probably like the entire album it came off of. Try "Moron" from that same album. Also, find Juke Joint Jezebel.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy