Mastodon Crack the Skye
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
March 25th 2009



16134 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, I'll be. Chan was right. A solid rating of 'I'm a faggot.'

I agree with some of what Jom said. The rating said 'poor' but the review didn't really say 'poor.' More 2.5 territory. All in all another well-written piece though.

Altmer
March 25th 2009



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well-written but I think we can establish the fact that Dfelon can now be nicknamed Nick Queer

Thor
March 25th 2009



10176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Ok this is something that's really bothered me...who is singing the first few verses in Oblivion?!?! It doesn't sound like either Troy or Brent, and Brann said in an interview that they only got one feature (Scott Kelly) on the album. Help a brother out; I'm sure once someone gives me an answer I'm gonna feel stupid, but I need to know.This Message Edited On 03.25.09

Altmer
March 25th 2009



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

could it be Bill?

Thor
March 25th 2009



10176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I considered that this morning. That'd be hella cool if that was the case actually, I think whoever is singing those parts has an interesting voice and having three different singing styles adds yet another element to the song.

I mean I know Bill does some backing screams and stuff with a lot of songs on Remission but I've never heard about him doing any clean vocals.

KebertXela
March 25th 2009



367 Comments


Interesting, first negative review I've seen for this from any outlet. Not a bad review, I gotta check it out now that I've seen an opposing opinion.

jingledeath
March 25th 2009



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah that other vocalist on Oblivion is soo cool and if it is Bill then he should be doing more singing for the band

Altmer
March 25th 2009



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I checked the wiki for Mastodon, apparently Brann does vocals for the band? Didn't know that.

DaTwig
March 25th 2009



217 Comments


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YLjMM0VauT8

Yeah, most definitely Brann. I knew he did backup vocals for stuff like Colony of Birchmen live, I just didn't expect him to get anything on record.

ConorMichaelJoseph
March 25th 2009



1870 Comments


words in this review that are overly-complex:

propensity
ruminations
enigmatic
isomorphic
rote
defibrillate
resuscitate
curio

lol you don't read many books, do you?

MisterBeefy
March 25th 2009



244 Comments


I've never paid much attention to Mastodon, but since so many people seem to like this album, I thought I'd check it out. It's not bad, it's nothing amazing but it definitely doesn't deserve a two.

Thor
March 25th 2009



10176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Damn that really is Brann. That's fucking cool! Now everyone in the band does vocals.

Tyler
Emeritus
March 25th 2009



7928 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

maybe if you combined them all you'd have one competent vocalist

Essence
March 25th 2009



3577 Comments


sadly I'd have to agree with that

morjens
March 25th 2009



207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Shitty fucking review, who gives this album a 2?

Chewie
March 25th 2009



4531 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

how the hell are ruminations, enigmatic, defibrillate or resuscitate overly complex words?


well how does defribrillate and resuscitate really apply to music terminology?

lauriej
March 25th 2009



1711 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

he was probably using metaphors/similes

Altmer
March 25th 2009



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah the vocals aren't super (that always kinda bugs me about Mastodon, the vocals feel limited) but they make ace music so I could care less.

OllieS
March 25th 2009



2029 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I bought this in HMV today, better be good

jingledeath
March 25th 2009



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I kinda like the vocals



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy