Mastodon Crack the Skye
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
taylormemer
March 25th 2009


4917 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Coke likes to put everyone in their "place" regardless of whether it is necessary or not. All hail the site's sheriff.

Thor
March 25th 2009


10191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

at least this time it's warranted

rasputin
March 25th 2009


14544 Comments


yeah the review was just too greery

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
March 25th 2009


4927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If I calculated a trimmed-mean of the album ratings, this rating would be thrown away as an outlier

rasputin
March 25th 2009


14544 Comments


mine would probably be a 3 but I'd have to listen to the album or something i dunno

rasputin
March 25th 2009


14544 Comments


maybe a 2.5 yeah a 2.5

lexicons
March 25th 2009


144 Comments


nick greer is wrong! bad 2! bad!

StrizzMatik
March 25th 2009


3188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Review wasn't terrible by any means but it's not one of your best, Nick. You do have a tendency to compare completely disparate bands that have little to do with one another and connect them with rather flimsy arguments (i.e., Avenged? Come on man) at times. I can appreciate the technical know-how of the music but it does alienate people that aren't musicians.

I like the record. It's fun, and in the context of Mastodon's previous work, their least-heavy and most melodic album. It's certainly not the Earth-shaking work of genius most people are making it out to be - it's hard to justify giving this a 4 in the long run - but it doesn't warrant a 2.5 rating.

00DK00
March 25th 2009


21 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

if only i had such an impressive vocabulary I could subjectively criticize this album as being contrived. ironically enough by using so many adjectives it screams “LOOK AT HOW BIG MY LITERARY BALLS ARE!”, in a much contrived fashion. but seriously, this review fails to point out how this album deserves a rating of poor. disagreeing with conceptual and production values is not enough. these songs are good

SnackaryBinx
March 25th 2009


2309 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

he doesn't even compare mastodon to a7x lolol at all the people getting their panties in a bunch at that.

itchyandscratchy
March 25th 2009


314 Comments


I'm gonna shove ma tongue up Greer's ass when I say this review is good & most of the people trying to slate it couldn't do better so

natey
March 25th 2009


4170 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Sure it's a bit Spinal Tap, but that's also part of the enjoyment of the record. I mean,

maybe for queers

StrizzMatik
March 25th 2009


3188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

It wasn't a direct comparison of A7X to Mastodon, but he has a storied habit of dropping names in reviews and many times Nick throws the term Metal into one big umbrella when there's many different facets.

itchyandscratchy
March 25th 2009


314 Comments


I mean I think if you read this Nick's probably right to do so:

http://www.somethingawful.com/d/your-band-sucks/metal.php

ConorMichaelJoseph
March 25th 2009


1870 Comments


Mastodon are wearing off me a bit but still a good album

Chewie
March 25th 2009


4532 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

words in this review that are overly-complex:

propensity
ruminations
enigmatic
isomorphic
rote
defibrillate
resuscitate
curio

itchyandscratchy
March 25th 2009


314 Comments


Users who should never review again:

derekchewie11

Fugue
March 25th 2009


7353 Comments


how the hell are ruminations, enigmatic, defibrillate or resuscitate overly complex words?

Jom
Staff Reviewer
March 25th 2009


2675 Comments


It was a good and as always well-written review, but I don't think the prose justified a 'poor' distinction. The musicianship is praised ("If looking no further than the technicality of the album, then yes, hell yes. There is really nothing bad that can be said about these guys as musicians. During Mastodon's heaviest and most brutal sections, the playing is urgent and tight, and during their more melodic passages, their riffs are original and convoluted and the drumming is spot on. In particular, their unorthodox approach to any one riff's contour keeps their music unexpected and exciting") but the lyrics are trashed ("Crack the Skye is the be all and end all, but for anybody without a Celtic Frost tattoo, do not follow "the wise man's staff / Encased in crystal").

Having said that, I can see the possibility that a lot of this review could have been written prior to listening this record, and then picking arbitrary sections of the album to pinpoint with irrelevant parallels. We get that you don't like Protest the Hero. I didn't like Fortress either. I don't see the connection between the bands mentioned (Trivium, Avenged Sevenfold, et al) "exploring unfortunate creative avenues" and Mastodon/Crack the Skye.

botb
March 25th 2009


9674 Comments


good review, but i disgree. i enjoy this a ton.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy