Rise Against Appeal to Reason
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2008


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the second half is decent but the first half is pretty awful

Zizzer
October 8th 2008


915 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review! I'm buying this seeing as to how I'm seeing them in Kansas City on the 14th and I want to be familiar with their newest songs.

I don't really like the sound of the Iraq war message though. I'd rather not have political views forced down my throat when I listen to music I like.

Damrod
Moderator
October 8th 2008


1093 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Actually it's not really "forcing down political views down your throat" with Hero Of War if you ask me. It's more like a starting point for a train of thought to me, describing something people probably heard of years before the song (Abu Graib anyone?).

TimeToTurnTheTide
October 8th 2008


208 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"its hard to get over it and soldier on through to the rest"

nice pun. Good review I didn't know these guys were putting out a new record although I think it's about time. Seems ages since TSTW

This Message Edited On 10.08.08This Message Edited On 10.08.08

beans
October 8th 2008


2332 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The song isnt too bad, the lyrics just miss the mark by more than a little bit

The album is ok, but i will agree with you John, the last few tracks are some of the best they've done, if only they could have kept that going for them on the whole album
shame.This Message Edited On 10.08.08

Serpento
October 8th 2008


2351 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

good review, the only thing i don't agree with is your opinion on "entertainment," feel like it's one of the better songs compared to the rest of the album

zuzek
October 8th 2008


752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review, totally agree there's way too much filler on this. Can't comprehend the Hero of War bashing though, I find it quite a strong track. It's just my take on it but I believe Tim portrays the war by use of a 'simple man's' perspective, the grunts serving as cannon fodder, that's what I first thought when I heard the song and still do. And in that case, the lyrics more than adequate in my opinion.

Platonism
October 8th 2008


168 Comments


These guys always sound exactly the same. The album isn't bad, but I find their message to contradict their image.

Too repetitive I'd say.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2008


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Their message is perfectly in line with their image I think...

Platonism
October 8th 2008


168 Comments


I think it's because they're so big, it seems like their lyrics are more of an image rather than heartfelt lyrics. Do you get what I'm saying?

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2008


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yes but if you look at everything they do, it definitely is not just an image. "Appeal to Reason" is sold in digipacks that are made of only recycled paper and vegetable inks, completely eco-friendly, so I mean...

lunchforthesky
October 8th 2008


1039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This band seems to have gotten softer with every release although their last was in my opinion their best as other bands do fucked off hardcore better but no one (aside from Boysetsfire who are even more preachy and have wank production) does pop meets hardcore better.

That said I can usually stomach around 5 or 6 Rise Against song before I reach self rightousness overload and decide I'd sooner think for myself.

This album is neither bad nor good really it just exists as another Rise Against record.

Platonism
October 8th 2008


168 Comments


Yes but if you look at everything they do, it definitely is not just an image. "Appeal to Reason" is sold in digipacks that are made of only recycled paper and vegetable inks, completely eco-friendly, so I mean...

Maybe you're right, it was just a feeling. I'll look more into it, I didn't know all of that.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2008


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The best Rise Against songs are always the ones with as little political meaning as possible really.

Cesar
October 8th 2008


2732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't agree to that, but that statement has been right quite a few times.

StrizzMatik
October 8th 2008


3220 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Rise Against hasn't really done anything new or interesting in a few years and this album is the best proof. Nothing wrong with simple music but it's getting really generic and boring lately.

Serpento
October 8th 2008


2351 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

rating's down and may lower still, realized i only enjoy half the album at most =/

ThePriceofBeauty
October 8th 2008


72 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

His voice sounds slightly different.

Yazz_Flute
October 8th 2008


18855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like this a good deal, probably a little more than Siren Song tbh. Savior is definitely my favorite song.

Digging: Kenn Nardi - Dancing With the Past

The Sludge
October 9th 2008


2169 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is still a solid Rise Against album, but considering what I think of the past Rise Against cataloge (unwraveling-4, rpm-5, siren song-4.5, tsaw-5), this is kind of weak. I agree with the thread on Savior being the best song on here.

If we are talking about Rise Against's best song, I would say Everchanging (either version). It's just a song I connect with on a personal level.This Message Edited On 10.09.08



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy