The Gaslight Anthem The '59 Sound
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
RandMcNally
November 13th 2008


158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This sound make me feel all nostalgic, like i miss the good old days, although i was born in the 80s. lol. Im really into traditional sailor jerry tattoos, 50s pin-up art etc, this conjures up that kind of imagery for me.

xmOBSCENEx
November 13th 2008


122 Comments


never been a big fan
ive heard a few singles
is the album worth getting?

Cesar
November 13th 2008


2732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Taking a look at you ratings I don't know if this would be for you... check out the songs in their myspace just in case cuz album is very good.

From what I saw from your rating first things that came to mind as recommendations are the album I'm digging (I Am Ghost - Lover Requiem), much better than the new one by FAR, and older HIM albums like Razorblade Romance, also much better than Dark Light by FAR... or Venus Doom if u like more the Metallic side of HIM.

I have a test in 10 minutes, so forgive me from just recommending that.This Message Edited On 11.13.08

Bleak123
November 13th 2008


1902 Comments


Listened to the title track today when it came up on shuffle, first time in a while. Dang it's good. Might be time to take this out for another spin.

Cesar
November 13th 2008


2732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm pretty sure my fav is Mile Davis Brings the Cool, and the title track.

natey
November 13th 2008


4170 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The title track, Ferris Wheel, and the one about "high top sneakers and sailor tatoos" are my favorites. Also Heres To You, Kid.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2008


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

even cowgirls get the blues is my fav

guitarplaya91
November 13th 2008


485 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

here's looking at you kid is ILL

Kiran
Emeritus
November 14th 2008


6001 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

old white lincoln, here's looking at you kid and great expectations are my favs at the moment

BallsToTheWall
November 22nd 2008


44644 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Picked this up today and despite being in a foul mood all day, it's pretty cool so far.

Digging: Mare Cognitum - Phobos Monolith

Athom
Staff Reviewer
November 22nd 2008


17222 Comments


Nice pick up balls. Such a good album.

KritikalMotion
November 24th 2008


2262 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good album but i don't think it'll last very long for me. First two tracks are probably my favs.

BallsToTheWall
November 24th 2008


44644 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Red and yes, I agree. I feel that i might raise this in short time. Love Casanova. Cowgirl is also a favorite.This Message Edited On 11.24.08

Athom
Staff Reviewer
November 26th 2008


17222 Comments


pitchfork gave this an 8.6. Seems like they finally hired someone with ears.

lunchforthesky
November 26th 2008


1039 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A lot of people on the internet need to ear humble pie after that review. I don't understand why everyone gets so butthurt over Pitchfork. They are right 90% of the time.This Message Edited On 11.26.08

Athom
Staff Reviewer
November 26th 2008


17222 Comments


my stance on pitchfork is that if they give it a good rating there's a really good chance that its a great album. if they give it a bad rating, add 3 points to the score to find out what it really is. They just seem to drastically over state the negative. Its just that them giving this a 8.6 really surprised me seeming that this doesnt seem like it would be their thing.

CushMG15
November 26th 2008


1802 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My favorite is probably Here's Looking at You, Kid.

"But boys will be boys, and girls have those eyes
That'll cut you ribbon sometimes
And all you can do is just wait by the moon
and bleed if its what she says you oughtta do"

I mean, who can't relate to that? Great album, all around.

Intransit
November 29th 2008


2797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Guys, everyone is overlooking the two clearly best tracks. The Backseat and The Patient Ferris Wheel.

And god I hate being wrong about albums at first.

Mendigo
November 29th 2008


2299 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

my stance on pitchfork is that if they give it a good rating there's a really good chance that its a great album. if they give it a bad rating, add 3 points to the score to find out what it really is. They just seem to drastically over state the negative. Its just that them giving this a 8.6 really surprised me seeming that this doesnt seem like it would be their thing.

yes, a pitchfork rating of 8 or higher is almost always a great album, though I'm often kinda irritated by the actual 9-star ratings, which tend to be good but not that amazing (especially this year). however, they often criminally underrate albums, especially when the style is not up their alley.
but this time they were wrong imo, I still cannot see what is so special about this one.

foreverendeared
November 29th 2008


14678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

but this time they were wrong imo, I still cannot see what is so special about this one.
agreed



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy