Kayo Dot Blue Lambency Downward
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Eliminator
June 9th 2008


2067 Comments


is that statement supposed 2 be ironic

astrel
June 9th 2008


2615 Comments


can I butcher the use of to to 2, too?

Kage
July 10th 2008


1172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ugh the vocals drive me nuts on this album.



Shut up, Toby. Every vocal section needs to be replaced by a Greg Massi guitar solo and the album would be a 5.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
August 14th 2008


4938 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

http://www.pitchforkmedia.com/article/record_review/142842-kayo-dot-blue-lambency-downward



lol

iarescientists
August 14th 2008


5865 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

what is with pitchfork pretending to listen to awesome bands lately.

204409
Emeritus
August 14th 2008


3998 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

wow lol



http://www.pitchforkmedia.com/article/record_review/142842-kayo-dot-blue-lambency-downward



3.3



i generally agree with the criticisms but i don't think it ruins the album like this reviewer thinks it does. i think it just makes it more challenging and pensive and less engaging on the surface.

204409
Emeritus
August 14th 2008


3998 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh sorry to repost that. i wrote that up earlier in the day and then my battery was dying so i had to sleep my comp and i reposted now without checking. opinion still stands.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
August 15th 2008


4938 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I think the pitchfork reviewer is secretly Kage

204409
Emeritus
September 16th 2008


3998 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

As much as I don't like this as much as their previous albums, this is still above and beyond what most other people are doing right now. Even if some of the tracks don't seem to hold together as songs, there is a lot of value in the collection of awesome, interesting moments throughout the album.

Kage
September 16th 2008


1172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just because it's more interesting than most music out there doesn't excuse it from being crappy

pixiesfanyo
September 16th 2008


1223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

album rules.

Kage
September 24th 2008


1172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I listened to this at 6:00 am in the fuzzy aftermath of a long mescaline trip and i think i saw the light

thebhoy
Emeritus
October 12th 2008


4461 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

the sow submits is such an awful song. It's just random poor chord choices pretending to be "challenging"... I find a lot of this album pretending to be challenging. Thank God for Symmetrical Arizona and Clelia Walking home, or my rating would be way lower.

Electric City
Emeritus
October 12th 2008


15759 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Symmetrical Arizona and sometimes the first track are all I can stomach. And Awkward Wind Wheel if I'm feeling ambitious.



Edit: Conveniently all the streaming tracks!This Message Edited On 10.12.08

SnackaryBinx
October 12th 2008


2309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't see what's with all the hatred, I enjoy this album quite a bit.

Electric City
Emeritus
October 12th 2008


15759 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I find the record just has nothing to grab on to. It's one thing to be progressive, but the sheer atonal quality of it all plus Toby's worst vocal performance ever make this almost unbearable. The reason I like the tracks I do are because they're the only ones that seem to have any direction.

Kage
October 12th 2008


1172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the best thing about this record is that it proves Toby is going to continue progressing, and he's not going to put out the same album twice. It would be so easy for him to release album after album of post metal/classical style with these huge build ups that everyone loves, but he's not going to do that, clearly.



secondly, the record's most unifying characteristic is its refusal to adhere to any sort of songwriting standard. the record is basically a lot of sounds tumbling all over one another, most fading away meekly. There is almost no sense of "climax" at all to be found, which is exactly why you feel there is nothing to grasp on to--even the end of the record just sort of tapers away ponderously, in the way most of the sounds on the album do.



In that way I've grown to love it because in a sense all it does is ask questions, without ever providing any answers. That's a bold move, and one that 99.5% of people are going to reject.

Electric City
Emeritus
October 12th 2008


15759 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Would you stand by your rating of 1 still, Kage?

Kage
October 12th 2008


1172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

actually i just changed it



it took seeing the band live again to finally drive the record home again



also yesterday morning at dawn I took a walk while listening to it. symmetrical arizona as the sun comes up = yes

SnackaryBinx
October 12th 2008


2309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

glad to see your opinion changed.



now only if pitchfork saw the light, but I highly doubt they ever will -_-



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy