Moonspell Night Eternal
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Wizard
March 2nd 2009


19612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

maybe, its definantly close between this and the antidote



The Antidote is their best, no contest.
This Message Edited On 03.02.09

Digging: Hans Zimmer - Interstellar

BallsToTheWall
March 2nd 2009


44800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Should get that then because this si solid. Does that album feature female vocals perchance?

Digging: Pink Turns Blue - If Two Worlds Kiss

Wizard
March 2nd 2009


19612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think on one song and thank god it's not for long. Too cliche.

fireaboveicebelow
March 2nd 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't recall any actually, but yeah it's their best album I agree

Willie
Moderator
March 2nd 2009


16128 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, allow me to take the other end of the arguement and say that in my opinion The Antidote isn't nearly their best. Anno Satanna (Whatever it's called), this one, and Memorial are all better than that one. It's my cynical view that the only reason people love the Antidote so much is because it wasn't the bag-of-ass that the three or four before it were.

Digging: Kenn Nardi - Dancing With the Past

fireaboveicebelow
March 2nd 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I thought you didn't like Memorial, and it's Under Satanae

Willie
Moderator
March 2nd 2009


16128 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I guess I could have taken the time to look up the album name but I'm being lazy. I like Memorial, but I do wish all of the random instrumental songs had been removed. Maybe you're thinking of "Wolfheart" which I gave a very generous 2.5-rating review.

fireaboveicebelow
March 2nd 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

no I know you don't like the first two, but I guess I just generalized because not many people here like memorial

EnCrypt.
February 1st 2010


882 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

title song is sooo good vid is kinda cheesy but into cheesy shit

Hawks
May 23rd 2010


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Listening to this again for the first time in ages. Album still rules and is definitely the best I've heard from this band.

HereComesTheStorm33
January 22nd 2011


22 Comments


First Light is awesome.

Hawks
January 22nd 2011


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Whole album is awesome.

Willie
Moderator
January 22nd 2011


16128 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I listen through Moon in Mercury, but nothing after.

Hawks
January 22nd 2011


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Come on man! I love the whole thing. Listening to it now. Gotta say either the title track or Scorpion Flower is my favorite here.

Altmer
June 25th 2011


5652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The best songs are indeed towards the beginning but this is just a great album as a whole. I still haven't got any other Moonspell material.

A cool tidbit about Moonspell is that the Portuguese postal service issued a series of stamps with famous Portuguese rock band's album covers on them. One of them is Moonspell's Wolfhearts (but they use the white cover). Guess Portugal really does like their metal sons.

pizzamachine
June 25th 2011


12571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've always enjoyed this album. The symphonic aspect is well done, and I love the heavy riffs. The growls are great too.

Dreamflight
June 25th 2011


1760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haven't heard about those stamps, need to check them out. Too bad most of our bands are really painfull. :D

As for Moonspell they're one of the few that make me proud of our musical scene.

tylerdurdenpt
April 5th 2012


96 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I mostly agree with the review. Moonspell are an average, sometimes overrated band, and this is
clearly their best album, at least in terms of songwriting, vocals and guitar work. The band is
clearly better at writing and performing heavy/black metal songs than gothic rock. Ribeiro's clean
voice is pretty poor, in my opinion (maybe it sounds exotic to people outside of Portugal) but he's a
decent "growler". Anneke's voice fits like a glove in "Scorpion Flower".

Willie
Moderator
April 5th 2012


16128 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If you think that, then you'll love their upcoming album. There's maybe 30 seconds of Ribeiro's clean singing total through the whole album. There's no gothic songs at all -- in fact there's not even a ton of keyboards. It's stripped down blackened thrash/metal with no guest vocalists, minimal clean vocals and a ton of black/death growls.

tylerdurdenpt
April 12th 2012


96 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I've listened to a couple of pre-release tracks in youtube and they sound great. I never thought I would say this, but I'm actually looking forward to listen to a Moonspell record. The portuguese metal scene is rather stale, but Moonspell are getting better, and there's also a fine portuguese gothic metal band which you may want to check out, in case you don't know them alread - http://www.myspace.com/heavenwood - their last album is pretty good (better than anything by MS, imo).



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy