Manic Street Preachers The Holy Bible
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
WhiteNoise
December 9th 2011



2876 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wow I'm loving this record so much! It's definitely bleak but it doesn't make me depressed like some other albums (Closer and In Utero comes to mind) the punk riffs and snarl in his voice is just fantastic!

Digging: Eagulls - Eagulls

jefflebowski
April 11th 2012



6842 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

fantastic album, though i do wonder why they didn't use the US mix for the original release, it's miles better

jefflebowski
April 14th 2012



6842 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

ifwhiteamerica, mausoleum, 4st 7lb and faster are probably my favorites here

WhiteNoise
April 14th 2012



2876 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Is the US mix really that much different?

jefflebowski
April 14th 2012



6842 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

surprisingly so actually. It beefs up the bass (and especially) the drums a lot, and adds a bit of
space into the arrangements. It definitely packs more punch overall, even if there is a little too
much reverb on some tracks. The band say they much prefer it

WhiteNoise
April 14th 2012



2876 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Interesting... I'll have to give it a listen soon.

jefflebowski
April 15th 2012



6842 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

well this is veering dangerously close to a 5

awesome review by the way, especially considering it was written in 2005

Graveyard
April 15th 2012



5387 Comments


"awesome review by the way, especially considering it was written in 2005"

yea, i love Iai's reviews

jefflebowski
April 15th 2012



6842 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

he doesn't seem to review that much these days which sucks, unless i'm just not paying attention

Graveyard
April 15th 2012



5387 Comments


nah he still reviews every now and then

but mostly on other reviewing websites

jefflebowski
April 15th 2012



6842 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

hm, figures i guess. He is one of the best staff reviewers

In other news:

'I am stronger than Mensa, Miller, Mailer
I spat out Plath and Pinter'

jefflebowski
April 29th 2012



6842 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

finally got round to 5'ing this

Pentagon
June 18th 2012



1998 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

so damn easy to cave in, man kills EVERYTHINGGGG

Ethics
August 20th 2012



4112 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Album is insane.
Couldn't get it at first, now it's easily top 5. Lyrically, this album is beyond genius.
The album holds more weight once you find out the guy went missing afterwards.

Does "The Intense Humming of Evil" sound like the Pyramid Head song from Silent Hill to anyone? Somewhat similar, pretty interesting to me.

Incredible review, btw. One of the best on this site.

Pentagon
August 20th 2012



1998 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"ifwhiteamerica, mausoleum, 4st 7lb and faster are probably my favorites here"
Dont forget Yes, and ifwhiteamerica is a bit meh

jefflebowski
August 20th 2012



6842 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

ifwhiteamerica was the track that got me into the album, but yeah, it's probably one of the weaker ones

archives of pain though, holy shit

Pentagon
August 20th 2012



1998 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

She is suffering!!!! listening to this after a year or so

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
August 20th 2012



14492 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've only been on this site a week but the fact that this is the highest rated preachers album sorta indicates to me that a lot of the users on here have impeccable taste. Lots of people prefer 'everything must go', at least here in UK, and they are wrong.

Digging: Ian Anderson - Homo Erraticus

Ethics
August 20th 2012



4112 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Welcome!
You're already a friend in my book.

Ethics
October 23rd 2012



4112 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

damn we were cool even before kate

5 this though



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy