Morbid Angel Altars of Madness
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BigPleb
February 7th 2015


43879 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Who's upsetting my Titan?!

OvDeath
February 7th 2015


7547 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Not in my circles???? You wish you were exposed to my circles, let's just leave it at that.



Your ignorance makes you sound like a brand new fan my friend, which is fine too.



And the 'seasoned' users on this site know exactly what I'm talking about."



i don't know what your circles were, but yeah all the guys I know seem to have always been pretty fond of Abominations. Everyone has different experiences though man, and everyone is exposed to different bands in different ways, etc. Maybe the exposure of Abominations wasn't prevalent for you, obviously, but from the guys I know, talks with Mike Browning and the like, it wasn't as obscure as you're making it out to be. But hey I'm only 21 so I'm just basing my info off of the guys I've talked to. I obviously wasn't around for it in '91. You can stop trying to sound so high and mighty though, man, it's hilarious watching you try and prove something because, what, you were around before me? lol

Gameofmetal
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2015


8640 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Morbid Angel is good

Digging: Jonsi - Go

Titan
February 7th 2015


11442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm not trying to sound mighty Ovrot, I'm just trying to share the experience with you, that's all.





Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2015


19745 Comments


You can stop trying to sound so high and mighty though, man, it's hilarious watching you try and prove something


Digging: Grave - Out of Respect for the Dead

BigPleb
February 7th 2015


43879 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Go get em Titan bro.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2015


24477 Comments


lol that's not Ovrot, Titan.

Digging: Anderson .Paak - Malibu

Titan
February 7th 2015


11442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

'Ovrot'



OvDeath, i apologize, don't know where that came from.....there is a user Ovrot, right?

BigPleb
February 7th 2015


43879 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hahha ye, Ovrot is mighty too.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2015


24477 Comments


Yeah there is and he rules.

OvDeath
February 7th 2015


7547 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

" I'm just trying to share the experience with you, that's all."



aye, i understand, but you're getting unnecessarily aggressive about it, especially when, from all i've read and heard, the album got plenty of exposure. Even before it was released in 91, bootlegs of it that the bassist sent out were pretty rampant too, apparently. got lots of exposure in fanzines. as i said--not necessarily your exposure, but it was definitely not as obscure as you're claiming it was.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2015


24477 Comments


It was obviously way more obscure than Covenant though which explains why that album gets more recognition.

Aftertheascension
February 7th 2015


3001 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Morbid Angel is good"



fantastic*

adr
February 7th 2015


8455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Titan is right, Abominations of Desolation never been a classic, that's not even a official release, let's be real.

OvDeath
February 7th 2015


7547 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"It was obviously way more obscure than Covenant though which explains why that album gets more recognition."



well yeah definitely, no denying that. my original comment wasn't about "recognition" though, I was mainly speaking for long-term Morbid Angel fans that are knowledgable about all their albums (i.e. most people in this thread). My main point was that I don't really understand the Covenant love, then I compared it to my preferred albums. this turned into a mess of a thread.

OvDeath
February 7th 2015


7547 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"that's not even a official release"



Not technically since the band scrapped it at the last minute, but the band was signed to Goreque Records and the album was recorded as a studio record. Browning considers it the band's first album, while the others call it a demo, despite the fact it was recorded and fully intended to be a studio album.



"classic" is also interpretive. I don't automatically associate "classic" with mainstream recognition. It was definitely overshadowed by their bigger releases as the band got bigger, but for me it's totally a classic with some of the band's best music.

adr
February 7th 2015


8455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

obviously everything from Altars to Covenant is just better



but you think Goatlord is best DT, so no point to argue with you, really.

Ryus
February 7th 2015


10982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol

Titan
February 7th 2015


11442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@ Ovdeath



It was very obscure in NYC, a place where non mainstream bands made their living playing small clubs 6 nights a week. That 'demo' was no where to be found.



And of course Browning has a different opinion about it, I would too.

OvDeath
February 7th 2015


7547 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"but you think Goatlord is best DT"



no I don't. Goatlord is my third favourite Darkthrone.



Circle the Wagons > A Blaze > Goatlord



"obviously everything from Altars to Covenant is just better"



well not "obviously" for me, since that's your opinion. Obviously for you, but obviously for me, AoD and AoM are the best. AoD might take the winning edge just because of my love for Browning.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy