Eluveitie Slania
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BallsToTheWall
March 2nd 2008


44800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hey!!!. I'm going to be broke for quite some time so I'm going to have to try to pirate some before buying it. Now that I can, i'll try to find them.

Digging: Pink Turns Blue - If Two Worlds Kiss

Crimson
March 2nd 2008


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If you don't want to get into Crimson (as it could be considered demanding) get Purgatory Afterglow, and don't bother with anything before it, not that it's bad, but it really isn't up to Crimson/PA's standards.This Message Edited On 03.02.08

combustion07
March 2nd 2008


5420 Comments


I like how the celtic sound meshes with the heavy sound of the album, this is solid.

AngelPhoenix
March 2nd 2008


2764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^^^That's really the simplest/best way to put it. Maybe I just haven't been saturated by "gothenburg" riffs, but these guys play at least half as well as DT (i think nearly as well), then you add the celtic sound and you've got just thing I've wanted to hear lol.

Crimson
March 4th 2008


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm listening to this finally, and it's not really great, but it's pretty fun and a solid listen.
x2, got this, and even though it's grown on me since I first heard it, it still isn't brilliant. Reasonably solid though.

AngelPhoenix
March 4th 2008


2764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Brilliant isn't the word I would choose either, but despite it not standing out too much in the metal world (like say Fortress or The Frail Tide) this was really just something that I personally found to be a perfect blend for me, I've gotten at least a half dozen other albums around the same time as this one, many of them very excellent, but I'm listening to this the most.
Similar deal as SmyX's Paradise Lost I guess. I can't put my finger on it exactly, but this album just amazes me, track for track.

south_of_heaven 11
March 4th 2008


5438 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It would be better with more celtic elements. Half the time they just sound like your average melo-death band.

stillbjorn
March 14th 2008


6 Comments


Hold the phone...i just signed up here...

Am I to understand, that in this forum you people are not talking about music...but you are rather REVIEWING EACH OTHER'S REVIEWS?!?!?!?!??!?!

of all the self centered bullshit....


EDIT....
I THINK I MAY HAVE SPOKEN TOO SOON...
Or was i right in the first place?
This Message Edited On 03.14.08

combustion07
March 14th 2008


5420 Comments


We talk about the music and the reviews...

stillbjorn
March 14th 2008


6 Comments


Are you sure? cuz i came in here to talk about Eluveitie and instead i'm reading a bunch of proofreading suggestions. So is this a website where amateur reviewers hone their skills and hope one day to write for Spin magazine or is this a site about music? I seem to see more english professors than headbangers on this thread.

combustion07
March 14th 2008


5420 Comments


No we just try to get better at our reviewing, we read the reviews to see if the album is worth getting. People can suggest to have the reviewer to describe the music better next time and give suggestions about reviewing.

What did you think of the album?

stillbjorn
March 14th 2008


6 Comments


I think it's one of the best records i've heard in years.

The lack of guitar solos and harmonies is the reason there's room for all the flutes and what-not. The flutes and pipes play what would normally be those little harmonized guitar mini-leads that in flames used to do (before they became the european Korn).

I also liked that here was some folk metal with the 'stockholm sound' instead of the black metal sound.This Message Edited On 03.14.08

combustion07
March 14th 2008


5420 Comments


I also liked that here was some folk metal with the 'stockholm sound' instead of the black metal sound.

Agreed. Its refreshing.



AngelPhoenix
March 14th 2008


2764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I can't even begin to get that technical as I know practically sh!t about musical techniques, but I can tell you that I love this album and I'm glad to see others do as well.

Welcome to the site stillbjorn!
And yeah, we try to strike a balance between talking about the music, and talking smack to each other, it's fun

Wizard
March 14th 2008


19612 Comments


Glad to see your the new doorman AngelPhoenix!
Good review Balls. I'm surprised I missed this review of yours. The summary made me want to check this out; in time though, I have a pile of albums sitting here in front of me, begging for a listen.

Digging: Hans Zimmer - Interstellar

Wizard
March 14th 2008


19612 Comments


Glad to see your the new doorman AngelPhoenix!
Good review Balls. I'm surprised I missed this review of yours. The summary made me want to check this out; in time though, I have a pile of albums sitting here in front of me, begging for a listen.

AngelPhoenix
March 14th 2008


2764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I have a pile of albums sitting here in front of me


Dude, holy crap, same here, I've gotten like 8 albums (either CDs or digital downloads) in the past like week and a half, I've listened to like 3 of them one or two times through. This one keep getting thrown in the mix though, I really love this.

lol, doorman. This Message Edited On 03.14.08

BallsToTheWall
March 14th 2008


44800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I have too msny albums at the moment to listen to fully. I still havent fully heard the new Meshuggah eyt.

stillbjorn
March 14th 2008


6 Comments


smack talking is great, i was just hoping the smack talk would be more like, "shut up n00b, metallica sucks balls" and good stuff like that....not like...hey..."your participle is dangling and thats a run on sentence and and and you sound like a fanboy!"

but i'll get used to it. i've been clickin around and i'm liking some of the discussions. I HAD to get in on this one though cuz this album surprised the shit out of me!

I wanna write my thoughts on COB's new one "blooddrunk" but i don't think i could stand up to the 'creative writing' criticism! i just wanna talk shit! =D

thanks for the welcomes AngelPhoenix!

Wizard
March 14th 2008


19612 Comments


Meshuggah - Obzen (which is really growing on me)
Primordial - To the Nameless Dead (Angel and Balls, you would love this album)
Blotted Science - The Machinations Of Dementia (awesome tech/ prog/ death album and review posted here a week ago or so)
Decapitated - Nihility (really good death metal)

Thats just skimming the surface!

I wanna write my thoughts on COB's new one "blooddrunk" but i don't think i could stand up to the 'creative writing' criticism! i just wanna talk ****! =D

Dude, write a solid review up! But write it because you want to, not because you want to talk smack about it!
This Message Edited On 03.14.08



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy