Bad Religion New Maps of Hell
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DFelon204409
Emeritus
June 25th 2007



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yo the echoed vox, clean tone reverby upstroked chill guitar. You know what I mean. What would you call that temporary genre?

StrizzMatik
June 25th 2007



3175 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No way is this album a 2. It's definitely a 3 at absolute worst and an easy 4. Yeah, a lot of it is still Bad Religion as they've always been, but you totally ignore the musical/rhythmic contributions of Brooks Wackerman. This is easily his standout record for BR and he really does a good job of getting them out of their "slow 4/4 or fast 4/4" rut, adding far more depth and nuance to their sound.

And the songwriting is definitely solid. I think "Grains Of Wrath" is one of the best, most urgent songs they've done yet, as are "Heroes And Martyrs", "New Dark Ages", "Fields Of Mars", etc. And "Submission Complete" does a hell of a lot of cool-ass rhythmic work considering most of the song is two chords. I mean a lot of the songs can be expected to be "BR" style... they're not going to turn around and release a post-hardcore record and I don't think anyone wants or expects them to. And I don't think the double-bass on "Heroes And Martyrs", "Submission Complete", or "Scrutiny" could constitute anything resembling "convention" for Bad Religion or really any typical punk band out there. Their vocal harmonies are the BEST they've done yet, hands down. And for a bunch of dudes in their mid-late forties they've got more energy than most bands half their age.

Either way you look at it, it's miles ahead of their Atlantic releases and better than Recipe For Hate and dare I say, Stranger Than Fiction. And please, do you know of any other bands putting out actually good records fourteen albums deep, 28 years into their career? Highly doubt it.

Digging: United Nations - The Next Four Years

RandyfromPennywise
June 25th 2007



752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah U2 still put out awesome albums, and they've been around for 30 years. But good post anyway.

Man this review is early. Kind of means waiting two weeks to review it for someone who's not staff is kind of pointless if one was trying to review it as a new release. Not that I was planning on reviewing this, just a thought. And the review is pretty good. Can't really comment too much more as I haven't heard the album.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
June 25th 2007



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Well at least my opinion is obviously different from the typical people who would be aching to review this, right?

And strizz, just cause they win the Cal Ripken award doesn't mean that they're jacking homers at every at bat in one of their last games of all time.

descendents1
June 25th 2007



702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I feel that argument won't really go very far in this world felon, though it's valid.

This album is everything I feared it would be. I was hoping for something new. Their last album was so good because it was bad ass progress! I'm almost upset.

Uh oh. After listening to this the 4th or 5th time it's starting to grow on me. It's one of those albums.This Message Edited On 06.25.07

RandyfromPennywise
June 25th 2007



752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

[QUOTE=DFelon]Well at least my opinion is obviously different from the typical people who would be aching to review this, right?
[/QUOTE]Yeah. I wasn't saying that this being early is a bad thing.

multiplemike
June 25th 2007



4 Comments


I've heard a lot of mixed reviews of this album. I still haven't heard it, but I have high hopes. I'm not expecting anything new at this point. All I want is lots of harmonies. To the present day, my favourite Bad Religion albums are Against the grain and process of Belief, and I've been hearing lots of comparisons of these to the new album. Hopefully they're true.

I'm making a point of not listening to any leaks, so I will have to wait until July 10th to know. Either way, I've liked anything the band has put out. Even New America and No Substance.

StrizzMatik
June 25th 2007



3175 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's a lot like their older records. Stripped down, fast short songs. If you liked ATG and TPOB you'll dig this. And I'm sure you'll REALLY dig the harmonies on this one.

StrizzMatik
June 25th 2007



3175 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Like I said Nick, just check out New America and No Substance. I highly doubt you'd be able to stand by a 2 rating for NMOH in relation to those albums.

Pete
June 25th 2007



189 Comments


Uh, did you even mention the lyrics? Like, once? It's a Bad Religion album, and you never payed attention to the lyrics? I kinda wanna neg you for that, because that's just lazy reviewing.

Let's Chop Cats!
June 25th 2007



142 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

heir last album was so good
You can't be serious. It was probably the worst thing they've done outside of Into the Unknown and maybe No Substance.

descendents1
June 25th 2007



702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I am very serious. Read my review.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
June 25th 2007



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Uh, did you even mention the lyrics? Like, once? It's a Bad Religion album, and you never payed attention to the lyrics? I kinda wanna neg you for that, because that's just lazy reviewing.


I don't care about lyrics. If they modify my opinion of a release they're either really amazing or really bad. Bad Religion's lyrics have always just been whatever. Good for what they are but not much more.

Pete
June 25th 2007



189 Comments


Well then you're not the right reviewer for this, because you're too lazy to care about lyrics.

Altmer
June 25th 2007



5652 Comments


SOCIETY SUCKS BALLS OMG AMAZING LYRICS!!!!111ONEONEELEVEN111!!!1

DFelon204409
Emeritus
June 25th 2007



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

you're too lazy to care about lyrics


Haha that's not at all the case. And I like how you say "not right" as if Bad Religion deserves the Sir Percival of reviewing to perfectly consider every minute facet of their music. If you don't agree or feel something is omited write your own review.

DanReligion
June 25th 2007



38 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Germs Of Perfection
Grains Of Wrath
Fields Of Mars

Nouns Of Other Nouns!

Anyway. This album for me is more typical BR, and minus the horrible "Submission Complete" All of the songs have their ups and downs. "Germs Of Perfection" has blastbeats for christ sake!

It'll take a while for me to get into this album, but we also need to remember it's just the leaked version, and the CD version will be of better quality.

Intransit
June 25th 2007



2797 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is definitely a step back for them, that much I agree with. However, I don't think it's nearly a two. I certainly wish that they had grown in the direction of The Empire Strikes First. That had such a balanced consistent sound to it.

This one is just like Hot Cross releasing a Saetia cover album almost if you understand my really bad and dorky analogy.

Pete
June 26th 2007



189 Comments


[quote=Altmer]SOCIETY SUCKS BALLS OMG AMAZING LYRICS!!!!111ONEONEELEVEN111!!!1[/quote]Are you serious that you're an "approved reviewer"? Because you seem to have some sort of brain damage.

[quote=Dfelon]Haha that's not at all the case. And I like how you say "not right" as if Bad Religion deserves the Sir Percival of reviewing to perfectly consider every minute facet of their music. If you don't agree or feel something is omited write your own review.[/quote]I'm not that big of a fan or anything, but it's common knowledge that 50% of a Bad Religion song is the lyrics. It's almost as pivotal in BR as it is in most good hip-hop/rap music. Just saying.

descendents1
June 26th 2007



702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The lyrics are a vital component but it's not something quantifiable. Even if it was, 50% is a poor estimate. Bad Religion isn't just lyrics + background noise. They're harmonies, irresistable hooks, attitude, edge, anger, focus, experience, and on and on and on.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy