Gwen Stefani The Sweet Escape
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
morrissey
Moderator
January 4th 2007



1688 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah it's pretty much exactly on schedule for a major pop artist.

Eliminator
January 4th 2007



2067 Comments


I think I'm the only one that actually likes this album.



Tyler
Emeritus
January 4th 2007



7926 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah more or less.

RandyfromPennywise
January 8th 2007



752 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Hey morrissey, I actually liked the length of this review. It's more in line with other review sites, short and to-the-point. Sputnik seems (to me) to be a fairly unique review site: a lot of the reviews are massive (like, over 1500 words) and take on various forms, and even get lives of their own... Which is not necessarily a bad thing, but I really like it how you threw in an extra short review here, it works well.

About the words: I know you and Spat Out Plath basically run this site (well in my eyes anyway*) but I found it a little Sputnik-indulgent when you refer to "Sylvia" in your review (that's referring to Plath right?). Maybe it's nothing but I think that very few people would get what you were talking about there, and after all this can be read by anyone. Other than that you write really well and use lots of big words. In a good way.

*Sorry to the other mods and regulars but I always come across those two mods way more than anyone else on here. This Message Edited On 01.08.07

morrissey
Moderator
January 8th 2007



1688 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I actually never thought of it that way, it's a good point. And kind of feeds into that cliquey crap everyone's always accusing sputnik of festering in. I'll edit it out.

And thanks for the compliments etc. Maybe I'll try more short reviews in future. They're certainly easier to write.

MrKite
January 8th 2007



5020 Comments


Maybe I'll try more short reviews in future.

I wouldn't mind seeing that.

morrissey
Moderator
January 8th 2007



1688 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Edit me back in.

Do it yourself

RandyfromPennywise
January 9th 2007



752 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

[QUOTE=Spat Out Plath]Edit me back in[/QUOTE] Hahaha.

Still not sure if this is worth downloading yet...

Abaddon2005
January 21st 2007



684 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5


Ok, so I got this, and your review is absolutely right.. what's weird is that tracks like Early Winter are pretty damn good and then Orange County Girl's just weak.. it's rare that the difference in "quality" of individual songs is this big, to me anyways.

RandyfromPennywise
January 26th 2007



752 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Hey Amanda I downloaded this the other day and I could not agree with you more about "Wonderful Life". What a great song, and certainly the pre-eminent one from the album.

The Jungler
January 26th 2007



4827 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Title Track is bangin'

monkeywrench
February 16th 2007



22 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I don't know who told Gwen Stefani that this album was a good idea. She should stick to something she is better at, like No Doubt.

alishaalexander
September 14th 2007



1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ok, I gave Gwen a 5 when no one else did. I am speaking for those 20,000 fans who cheered for her when she performed live.
Go see her live.



Abaddon2005
September 14th 2007



684 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

That's nice, but the rating is for the actual album.

darkblue51506
November 6th 2007



2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Why is everyone on this site so ridiculously negative about talented people? This is only like the second time I've been on here because I can't even stomach you people. You are not music critics. You are not successful musicians. You probably live in your parents' basements. Jealousy is hilaaarious.

zane1234s
November 30th 2007



47 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The Sweet Escape is an irresistible pop tune that got annoying by over-playing radio stations. Wonderful Life is a New Wave, catchy ballad about a missed lover. Yummy is an embaressment, as well as Orange County Girl. So is the rest with the exemption of Fluorescent and 4 in the Morning.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
November 30th 2007



16083 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

For some reason, my primary email is signed up for the Gwen Stefani fanclub updates.

timbo8
February 27th 2009



618 Comments


"Sweet Escape" is underrated

FattyKnee
February 27th 2009



490 Comments


lord...

AtavanHalen
February 28th 2009



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

woooooooohoooooo
yeeeeeeeeeeooooooooooo



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy