Drudkh
All Belong To The Night


4.5
superb

Review

by InfernalDeity USER (26 Reviews)
November 19th, 2022 | 115 replies


Release Date: 11/11/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Let our world flood

The stoics of ancient Greece engaged in a meditative practice known as Memento Mori (you too will die). Contrast is how we value and devalue our subjective experiences. Contrasting life's menial tasks with death's eternal solitude is a great way to appreciate each waking hour. It is also an excellent tool for combating anxiety because it helps you focus on the things you can control rather than those you cannot. However, another practice is even more potent, perhaps even unsettling. Meditating on the scope of time. Realizing that the day is nothing but a droplet in the ocean of time. Perspective laid bare by contrast. The horrors of reality are minimized while the beauty of life is amplified. Yet, music and art act as stills of the ephemeral tragedies that whisk by us, hijacked by father time. These works force us to look into the void. They remind us that the void is looking back at us. Suffering is stitched into the fabric of our reality, but the momentary lapse of grief is what propels beauty to the loftiest of heights, giving humanity something to strive for.

This delicate balance of pain and pleasure, beauty and horror, is expertly implemented in Drudkh's 12th effort, All Belong to the Night. The production is atmospheric, yet the separation of instruments is fleshed out just enough to hone in on the intricate bass passages and drum fills. Yes, the bass is actually audible in an atmospheric black metal record, and you can hear it in all its glory on the third track November. Drudkh has always captured the melancholic dread the genre is known for exceptionally well, but the weight of this album is distinguishable from their previous efforts. There is something more hidden beneath the melancholy that we haven't heard from Drudkh since Blood In Our Wells – hatred. All Belong to the Night is a product of its time, intent on remaining a fixture in your mind. The contrast isn't an ebb and flow between beauty and chaos but from despair and rage. This war may be a droplet in the ocean of time, but it may be the drop that drowns the world.



Recent reviews by this author
Ezra Furman All Of Us FlamesJulia Jacklin Pre Pleasure
Liminal Shroud All Virtues AblazeNaked Flames Miracle in Transit
Maul Seraphic PunishmentScarcity Aveilut
user ratings (70)
3.9
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
botb
November 19th 2022


15880 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

These dudes are on a neverending victory lap these days and I’m here for it

Azog
November 19th 2022


907 Comments


Easily their best since Microcosmos.

InfernalDeity
November 19th 2022


358 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Agreed.

botb
November 19th 2022


15880 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Their last LP and the comp with all the splits from the past few years are also on par with this

InfernalDeity
November 19th 2022


358 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Im not sure I can say are on par. I certainly enjoyed them, but this release is just stellar.

Eakflanderyof
November 19th 2022


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Last album had a couple really good tracks but this album has higher highs and the lows aren't as low. It was a solid 3.5-4. This is more in the 4.5 range for me

InfernalDeity
November 19th 2022


358 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The bass work on here alone bumps it up .5

botb
November 20th 2022


15880 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Their bass player and drummer are wildly underrated in the metal world

GiaNXGX
November 20th 2022


5037 Comments


stopped reading after first two blurbs

WatchItExplode
November 20th 2022


9981 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can't a throw out any revised thoughts on this. It's a solid and engaging drudkh album throughout.

InfernalDeity
November 20th 2022


358 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@GiaNXGX haha thanks for trying to make it through

WatchItExplode
November 20th 2022


9981 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My revised thoughts are "this is a ripper"

InfernalDeity
November 20th 2022


358 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like the way your brain works

InfernalDeity
November 20th 2022


358 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I thought this release would have had more fanfare

WatchItExplode
November 20th 2022


9981 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah the black metal contingent around here used to be huge

botb
November 20th 2022


15880 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

People are afraid to say they like this band around here tbh

Space Jester
November 20th 2022


10594 Comments


I like this band a lot but haven’t really been in love with anything after Microcosmos

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
November 20th 2022


4448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'd say this is their best since Microcosmos by a clear margin, excellent record.

Egarran
November 20th 2022


29886 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good to hear. Acquiring as we speak. Love me some Drudkh.



>Their bass player and drummer are wildly underrated in the metal world



Also their vocalist Thurios is one of the best in BM imo.

WatchItExplode
November 21st 2022


9981 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh are these guys white supremacists or something? I really don't have the energy to keep up with all of the thousands of bands. I listen to personal ideology



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy