Panic! at the Disco
Viva Las Vengeance


1.0
awful

Review

by hobblepot USER (19 Reviews)
August 18th, 2022 | 55 replies


Release Date: 2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Viva Las Sex Offender

Brendon Urie is an idiot. Despite his talents, the man refuses to use them. Panic’s latest effort is dead on arrival, filled to the brim with bull*** faux indie pop rock snoozers.

The bands style has never remained consistent, with each album having its own distinct identity for the most part. This album is no different, but the identity it has is detrimental to its enjoyability. Even the worst Panic albums had catchy hooks, the kind that stay in your brain for weeks. This album hasn’t got one. “Shut up and go to bed” isn’t a hook, it’s what Panic! fans now use as a retort when Brendon’s sexual misconduct allegations resurface!

“Middle of a Breakup” is the worst song the band have ever written. The lyrics are abysmal, and that’s saying something coming from the band who wrote “Lying is the most fun”. “Don’t Let the Lights Go Out” I initially believed was a cover song, only to discover it is in fact a completely original track. I’m using “original” very loosely here, because the song sounds like every ballad ever written all blended into one foul tasting smoothie.

In “Star Spangled Banger” the band shamelessly rip of Thin Lizzy. The song is so painfully embarrassing to listen to, Brendon straining his vocals throughout. “God Killed Rock and Roll” features the band ripping off THEMSELVES by emulating the sound from Pretty Odd. The lyrics mention Buddy Holly, who was clearly a huge influence on this albums sound, going for a 70’s pop rock aesthetic, and you have to wonder why? Panic! have always, even in their early years, been a pop band. Dropping that to put out a boring car advert music album can only be the result of Brendon trying to distance himself from the allegations against him.

“Say It Louder” is one of the better tracks, using electronic elements and actually sounding like a Panic! track. Lyrically it is another “don’t kill yourself, you’re so unique and cool” song, and whilst the message behind it is always good to hear, the rest of the album devalues it by sounding so bad. “Sugar Soaker” immediately plunges us back into the 70’s pop rock depths, sounding like a really bad AC/DC b-side. Simultaneously, Brendon tries some faux-Elvis vocals and sounds like a child trying to imitate a deep voice. The lyrics, particularly “you’re a car, you’re a woman, you’re a drug” made this reviewer roll my eyes, but also scratch my head. I am not sure how progressive it is to compare a woman to an environment destroying machine AND narcotics in one line, but outside of that it just sounds like Urie used auto-fill whilst writing a lot of this.

“Something About Maggie” is a monotonous Beatles riff, however Brendon’s vocals are actually pretty okay on this one. He’s not pushing himself to notes he can’t hit or sustain, but this song, and most or all of this album, just sounds like something you’ve heard a million times before. It’s got no soul. The remaining tracks are all exactly the same, “Sad Clown” sounds like it belongs on the Grease soundtrack. “All By Yourself” sounds somewhat like “All By Myself” by Celine Dion, only with a 70’s pop rock instrumental, and closing track “Do It to Death” sounds again like the Grease soundtrack. They harken back to the “Shut up and go to bed” lyric, further cementing a battle cry their fans can use when losing in a shouting match in the YouTube comments section.

This album was a slog to get through. It’s not just unoriginal in concept and execution, it’s boring. Really really boring. And at the end of the day, that’s worse than listening to something like Corey Feldman or William Control because at least they provide some laughs whilst you listen, they’re so bad they’re good. This album? It’s empty of entertainment, devoid of personality, and is a stark reminder of how much Brendon refuses to use his talents.



Recent reviews by this author
Dance Gavin Dance Jackpot JuicerPorches All Day Gentle Hold
Crim3s CRIM3SCrown the Empire Sudden Sky
Twenty One Pilots TrenchFalling in Reverse Coming Home
user ratings (119)
1.7
very poor
other reviews of this album
Brendan Schroer STAFF (1)
A little self-awareness goes a long way....

tmagistrelli (4)
Vincero...



Comments:Add a Comment 
hobblepot
August 18th 2022


2947 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I’ve never been so miserable, I don’t know if I will ever recover from this

hobblepot
August 19th 2022


2947 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Thanks Dewinged! He sure is

rodrigo90
August 19th 2022


7387 Comments


This is pretty much a warning that "if you started with the emo wave on the mid 00's and you're still releasing albums, you probably going to end up like Elton John".

Trebor.
Emeritus
August 19th 2022


59912 Comments


I heard this guy sucks

Dromasta
August 19th 2022


249 Comments


This sucks but none of those allegations had any legs. To call the guy a sex offender and keep that narrative going is kind of mean considering there is no real evidence I can find that proved this... and I did look it up. If it's true then I hope this guy is eventually exposed with some concrete stuff and thrown to the streets. Fuckin A this album is trash though.

bigguytoo9
August 19th 2022


1427 Comments


Brendon Urine

YoYoMancuso
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2022


19039 Comments


Summary made me laugh really hard

Crxmateo
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2022


165 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Didn’t even realize this dropped, I was expecting this to be horrible, will probably give it a listen to at least say I’ve heard it. The first two singles were horrible

hobblepot
August 19th 2022


2947 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

“This sucks but none of those allegations had any legs. To call the guy a sex offender and keep that narrative going is kind of mean considering there is no real evidence I can find that proved this... and I did look it up. If it's true then I hope this guy is eventually exposed with some concrete stuff and thrown to the streets. Fuckin A this album is trash though.”



The guy was made aware of the allegations and went into fucking hiding for 2 years. He stopped streaming on twitch because people kept asking him to say something. These are not the actions of an innocent man. Not to mention, what reason did those people have to accuse him falsely? False allegations are incredibly rare, because you point the finger at someone like Brendon he could take you to court and rinse you for everything you had if the allegations were false. He’s rich. His security guard has been accused of sexual misconduct, previous band members have said he was very touchy and inappropriate, their previous guitarist was done for being a nonce. Allegations were not baseless.

hobblepot
August 19th 2022


2947 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Could the people negging the review please leave a comment as to why? I cannot improve my writing if you don’t explain why you feel this is not well written, and if you’re negging because you disagree with my opinion that isn’t what the neg button is for

Koris
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2022


21442 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

I pos'd :]

MarsKid
Emeritus
August 19th 2022


21035 Comments


Worst cover art of the year contestant. . . . .

Shemson
August 19th 2022


4157 Comments


I didn’t neg but when you post a 1 review of a popular artist, call them a sex offender repeatedly and it reads like you decided you hated the album before you listened to it, you will get negged.

I think one thing you could do better is explain why the songs are so abysmal. You said two songs sound like they’re from Grease and nothing else about them. Grease is one of the most popular musicals of all times and Panic have always been a campy/musical/showtune kind of band so just saying it sounds like Grease isn’t a good enough reason to write it off. You also said they ripped off their own sound from Pretty Odd after earlier criticising them for always changing their sound so I’m not sure about that. If you’d have enjoyed the song you’d have said ‘this song reminded me of a Pretty Odd track which was a great throwback’ but you just kind of dismissed it because it sounded like an old sound.

Anyway, I probably won’t listen to this but you asked for some constructive criticism so I hope that helped. Overall - the same way you wanted constructive criticism, is the same way you should’ve given more constructive criticism to the album.

HelloJoe
August 19th 2022


1097 Comments


I didn't think it was that bad. Maybe a bit derivative as a pop rock 'n roll venture but not without its pleasures to be honest. He has a good voice and the melodies are nice.

@ Shemson X sounds like Y is basically this entire piece, yeah. XD

hobblepot
August 19th 2022


2947 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

That criticism helps, thankyou.



I did go into this album expecting it to be bad, the pre-release singles really grated me so I knew going in it was going to be rough. Brendon being a sex offender is something being brushed aside by the fanbase, so I wanted to make myself clear that he is one, although I used it in the summary more for comedic effect that making any kind of comment. As for comparing the songs to other songs, if you listen to this album it’s hard to really say anything else. The songs really do sound like covers of lost 70’s rock tracks, and the two I compared to the Grease soundtrack I did so because I had to actually look up if they were covers of songs from Grease. There isn’t much to say about this album, other than it takes from other artists to the degree I could not think of anything else to say. I rated it a 1 because I think it is awful, it’s awful to see a man with Uries talent taking from others and not even doing it particularly well. I understand what you’re saying, but if you had listened to this I think you might see more where I’m coming from. However, I concede my entire review feels more like a list of comparisons rather than a genuine critique. Perhaps I’ll rewrite this at some point and go more into depth, but at the same time, there really isn’t much more to say here

Koris
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2022


21442 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

"The review just reads more like a review of Brendan Urie as opposed to me being able to take it as a serious review of the music Brendan has spat out. Likely the reason for the negs. It comes across pretty biased against the project from the get-go."



Not gonna lie, this is what made me revoke my pos

Shamus248
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2022


1029 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

“Shut up and go to bed” isn’t a hook, it’s what Panic! fans now use as a retort when Brendon’s sexual misconduct allegations resurface!"



BASED AS FUCK

Shamus248
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2022


1029 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Panic! has 2 fanbases; the 30 something former emos who can't grow up and bourgeois white liberals who stab baristas bc their avocado toast was subpar

Cormano
August 19th 2022


4202 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

is the summary supposed to be clever?

STIGMATIZED
August 19th 2022


363 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

panic! At the jail sentencing



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy