Hinako Omori
a journey...


3.6
great

Review

by don't ask me, I don't know any hallways STAFF
April 24th, 2022 | 66 replies


Release Date: 03/18/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: is its own reward

Hinako Omori's lovely floaty very-much-but-not-exclusively ambient debut is A Journey…. Is it? The record's intrigue - though also my biggest (soft) gripe - is that its progress is so frictionless that I am often unclear what kind of journey either we or Omori are supposed to be taking here. Some pieces are diffuse and ornamental in the fashion of fluffy ambience (most journeys are indeed more segue than substance); others are more succinct and offer travel cushions for the flakier listener's attention span. "The Richest Garden" and "Snow" are beautiful showcases of the latter, coincidentally the only cuts with the kind of songwriting that warrants this record's pigeonholing as ambient pop. Pop, for the most part, is jettisoned within Omori's spacescape, though this is no great loss: the record's longest cut and standout song (a term that holds little water here) "Will You Listen In?" is a gloriously immaterial reverie, generous and inviting for the listener to drift in and out as seamlessly as its interweaving layers of the title refrain. Listen for as long and as closely as you so please, posits Omori: it's one of those pieces so blissful that its expansive insistence on one single endlessly repeated idea is entirely warranted. The effect is spellbinding, and it flows smoothly on to the following "Heartplant"'s delightfully understated to-ing and fro-ing, but it finds itself a little exhausted by album as whole. The parts that are engaging are scarcely more 'active' or even creative than the ones that aren't, but the difference is pronounced enough that your "Levitation"s and "Ocean"s feel like minor disappointments where they should be unobtrusive extensions of atmosphere. The upshot? I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this as a situational record: work it into your study playlists, your bliss-outs, your tightly curated
to the well-soundtracked night's sleep you so deserve. Recommend it to your new age pals regardless of whether or not you've heard it (trust me, they'll love that for you). My nag is that it's a strong enough listen that I don't want it to be situational! Hinako Omori has some gorgeous, precious pieces on show here, and I want her to make a whole album of them that I will listen to all the time and with great zeal. Maybe she is better at beginnings than journeys. To be continued!



Recent reviews by this author
Hatis Noit AuraCoheed and Cambria Vaxis II: A Window of the Waking Mind
Asian Glow Stalled Flutes, meansParannoul / Asian Glow / sonhos tomam conta Downfall of the Neon Youth
Perfume Genius Ugly SeasonBowery Electric Bowery Electric
user ratings (13)
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 24th 2022


48729 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

I am shit and do not know how to embed bandcamp from my phone, but: https://hinakoomori.bandcamp.com/album/a-journey

the good bits here are 85% likely to be better than whatever shit you're currently listening to, and I like them :]

parksungjoon
April 24th 2022


44468 Comments


just a small town girl

Purpl3Spartan
April 24th 2022


4022 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good album

parksungjoon
April 24th 2022


44468 Comments


livin in a lonely world

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
April 24th 2022


4504 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice dig

Purpl3Spartan
April 24th 2022


4022 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

?????????

parksungjoon
April 24th 2022


44468 Comments


she took the midnight train

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
April 24th 2022


28232 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

Ooh nice, you reviewed this one!



These are pretty sounds, people, check it.

Digging: Ataraxy - The Last Mirror

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 25th 2022


48729 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Yes!

Jesp/everyone check Atmospheric Healing from the recommended tab the good bits are so good!!

parksungjoon
April 25th 2022


44468 Comments


thats a whole ass album dude

parksungjoon
April 25th 2022


44468 Comments


iyashikei music kinda psybient vibes or smth

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 25th 2022


48729 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

it is an album

parksungjoon
April 25th 2022


44468 Comments


probably more mellow overall than most like solar fields aes dana type shit but yea good find. listed

parksungjoon
April 25th 2022


44468 Comments


psybient is the shit man

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 25th 2022


48729 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

yeah dude, defs something i wanna explore more

parksungjoon
April 25th 2022


44468 Comments


theres definitely crossover appeal between psybient and like trip hop and walking wounded type shit

but yea ill check dream dolphin more thoroughly eventuallyTM. what about this

Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
April 26th 2022


17600 Comments


stop spamming johnny

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 26th 2022


48729 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

I will not calm down

park this is nice and everyone will like it. except hmm maybe some people will think it's boring? they suck!!

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
April 26th 2022


4504 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

checked this and it was nice, will check atmos healing next/soon/hopefully

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 26th 2022


48729 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Check Love Eating Alien first bc it's probs better but not as chill UGH I wanna get back to my laptop and download the rest of her discog and listen to it!! Am far away



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy