Greyhaven
This Bright And Beautiful World


5.0
classic

Review

by GarthAlgar USER (11 Reviews)
April 14th, 2022 | 787 replies


Release Date: 04/15/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Perfectly blending familiarity with innovation, Greyhaven demand your attention with another instant classic following 2018’s Empty Black

It’s difficult to listen to a new Southern Metal record without acknowledging the fact that Every Time I Die is no more. It’s even more apparent when a band like Greyhaven wears that inspiration so proudly. Fortunately, there’s so much more to this band unlike most that slip into copycat territory. Greyhaven finds structure inside all of the chaos that permeates throughout every track. Following up 2018’s breakout record Empty Black is a tough order in and of itself, but This Bright and Beautiful World realizes the ideal combination of familiarity and innovation to give us one of the best metal records in recent years.

Aside from “All Candy”, the front half of this record is blistering. “In A Room Where Everything Dies” is pure madness from the start and doesn’t let go. “A Painful and Necessary Action” highlights Greyhaven’s infectious melody to make sense of all the disarray. “More and More Hands is an instant classic that has a monolithic chorus and ferocious screams throughout displaying one of Brian Mills’ finest vocal performances. “The Quiet Shakes” and “And It’s Still Too Loud” also incorporate the band’s quintessential fusion of heaviness and melody.

Just when you thought you heard everything, “Of Snakes and Swans” delivers one of the best anthemic southern metal choruses in recent memory. The final chorus slows down midway through and hurls the listener into a goosebump-induced beatdown. “Foreign Anchor”, one of the three singles, is another high point on the record with the most frenzied guitar sequences that somehow sounds expertly controlled.

There are a few slower tracks on this record, and they’re all additive to the experience. “Fed To The Lights” and “Ornaments From The Well” prove that Greyhaven are more than just another Southern Metal that solely embraces the disorder of bands of old. Instead, they display the band's originality and diversity in a scene that desperately needs it. Though many felt sour after the release of the first single, “All Candy”, the song itself fits the flow of the record much more than as a standalone track. Without a doubt, every track on this record is sublime.

This Bright and Beautiful World gives us everything we wanted and everything we didn’t know we wanted. Personally, those are usually my favorite types of records. Some artists don’t need to reinvent the wheel. Like Empty Black, this record is a complete piece of work that is infinitely replayable. There is something mystical to this band that I cannot put into words. Greyhaven deserves so much more recognition than they have, especially in a post-ETID world. Simply put, This Bright and Beautiful World is a masterpiece.



Recent reviews by this author
Monuments (UK) In StasisThe Cure Bloodflowers
156/Silence Don't Hold Your BreathSleep Token This Place Will Become Your Tomb
Thrice Horizons/EastSpiritbox Eternal Blue
user ratings (241)
4
excellent
related reviews

Empty Black


Comments:Add a Comment 
Purpl3Spartan
April 14th 2022


4090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice short one.



Excited for tonight

JayEnder
April 14th 2022


14704 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice review Garth! Pos'd. One small mistake though, the singer's name is Brent Mills.



Let me just say this. The people who loved Radical and miss ETID are gonna have a field day with this.

Digging: Alexisonfire - Otherness

GarthAlgar
April 14th 2022


948 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Agreed, Jay. Thanks for the edit. I couldn't remember his last name off the top of my head and the first result must've been wrong.

Snake.
April 14th 2022


24275 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

imma be real here chief i'm yielding all hype for this unless y'all convince me that it's better than what the singles suggest

onionbubs
April 14th 2022


15873 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is good so far but idk how big i am on their more melodic side here

Digging: Alexisonfire - Otherness

SaveBandit
April 14th 2022


2599 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Listened twice on youtube and it's pretty fucking good. Feel like it'll only get better with repeated listens with headphones.

Digging: Static Dress - Rouge Carpet Disaster

GarthAlgar
April 14th 2022


948 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Headphones are necessary, but I always listen with them on first listens.



Snake, just give it a spin tomorrow when it's on streaming services. I really think the singles flow very well in the album. I'd also say they're the most different tracks of the record. The 7 non-single tracks are more like Empty Black.

GarthAlgar
April 14th 2022


948 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I get that, Onion. I don't think it's much more melodic than EB. Maybe one slower track than that, and the rest of the tracks incorporate as much melody as EB.

onionbubs
April 14th 2022


15873 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

its more so i dont like the types of vocal lines theyre going for on here as much vs the amount of them. i j like eb's melodies more. those are j my initial impressions tho ill stick w it more. a good amount of this ripped and his screaming is only getting better

nash1311
April 14th 2022


4278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

All Candy sticks out like a sore thumb lol. Clearly aiming for a wider audience. Doesn't flow at all between tracks 1 and 3 even if I like the track.

Digging: Chris Turner - Steezy

GarthAlgar
April 14th 2022


948 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Ah, gotcha. That makes more sense. Its approach to melody is vastly different than EB and it all comes down to if you enjoy that change. I personally love it as it would be stale to get the same stuff 4 years later. Hopefully this can grow to a 4 for you over time now that you know what to expect after the initial listen.



Note: I actually think All Candy flows pretty damn well with the themes of the record. Trying to gnaw out of the depressive thoughts and trying to see that "bright and beautiful world" yet still reverting back to that negative mindset. But hey, opinions!

JayEnder
April 14th 2022


14704 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Didn't like All Candy at first but it grew on me big time.



Also can we talk about how Putney nailed the production this time around?

GarthAlgar
April 14th 2022


948 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Has Putney ever done us wrong since Structures? I should've said something regarding the production in the review. Damn.

JayEnder
April 14th 2022


14704 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

New Vein was somewhat poorly mixed (sadly) and even for his band the new FFAA album has weird mixing that doesn't sit right with me.



That END album too is bricked to shit and Brendan's vocals are barely audible.

onionbubs
April 14th 2022


15873 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

putneys dope a lot of the time but never forget his horrific production job for northlanes node

GarthAlgar
April 14th 2022


948 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Huh, I didn't know he did the new Vein. That hurts a little. Something tells me that END album wasn't all his fault. I also just don't get the love for them. I've tried.

Thankfully, the production on this is perfection.

Purpl3Spartan
April 14th 2022


4090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Node production would probably end most producers’ careers instantly

onionbubs
April 14th 2022


15873 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

node has one of the worst prod jobs ive ever heard lmao idfk what went so horribly wrong there. at least he majorly redeemed himself a year later when he did stillworld

Purpl3Spartan
April 14th 2022


4090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

True stillworld is masterclass prod

GarthAlgar
April 14th 2022


948 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I have legit removed that album from my memory. I wish I could enjoy just one Northlane record front to back. New singles are alright jams, but nothing new.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy