Pinegrove
11:11


4.0
excellent


Release Date: 01/28/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: My guitar is covered in moss and twigs and now I’m late for work

Rolling dew-doused meadows and sun-soaked streams are the passages of 11:11, and they’re really quite pretty. Of the many country-ish emo-ish indie-mostly excursions Evan and co have set out on, their latest foray into the thicket may well be their most patient and under-dramatic to date. Organic and breathable are its tunes, blooming in real time with warm swirling arpeggios (Iodine) and the spindly swaying of oak and pine (Habitat). They watch the clouds roll in, compositionally loose and indifferent, vibrant and alive in their passivity, punctuated (however) by moments of movement. Alaska cracks open the sky with streaks of floral lightning, catch(ing)(y) like fire, alike the campfire singalong of So What, all crackling wood and silent smoke trails. It’s just so moreishly green and kind and reassuring and good as it bursts and blossoms and sings and soars, fuck. Actually, it’s rather uneventful, which, honestly, I rather enjoy. I like camping and sleeping and not doing things and, in such endeavours, 11:11 supports me unquestioningly: a companion to aimless woodland walks and petting strangers’ dogs; to Sunday morning coffee and excess pancake batter; to finding peace between the ceaseless mundane tragedy of the everyday and trying not to cry in public. And/or, by way of a not-quite-so-glum concluding sentiment: these are some v. wholesome songs and I hope that you are well.



Recent reviews by this author
Psychedelic Porn Crumpets Night GnomesBilly Woods Aethiopes
Ghost Mice All We Got Is Each OtherSOUL GLO Diaspora Problems
PUP The Unraveling of PUPTheBandVein.fm This World is Going to Ruin You
user ratings (128)
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Jack Mancuso CONTRIBUTOR (4)
but nothing i try can abbreviate the time...



Comments:Add a Comment 
Gyromania
January 28th 2022


34475 Comments


lol this might be even too short for a soundoff my guy

which is to say it's great because reviews tend to be way too damn long

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2022


7479 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

n i c e s o u n d o f f



idk i didn't have anything more to say than this. it is a very nice album. if you like pinegrove, you will be happy.

Gyromania
January 28th 2022


34475 Comments


yeah they're decent. they're like a 3.5 band

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2022


47725 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hi trebor what are your plans for the weekend

Digging: Dream Dolphin - Dolphins Talk to You

Colton
January 28th 2022


15174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i said nobody can review this before me



dick

Sowing
Moderator
January 28th 2022


40988 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

In a way this reminds me of The Decemberists' The King is Dead. Very calm and rural and Americana-laced. Only three songs in but if it continues this way it could become my favorite Pinegrove album.

Digging: Zach Bryan - American Heartbreak

Colton
January 28th 2022


15174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

really like Habitat, Iodine, So What and Cyclone. the band sounds really good, like they took the dynamic they formed on Amperland, NY to the studio

HBFS
January 28th 2022


1539 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Flora is very The King Is Dead, that’s for sure

Digging: Everything Everything - Raw Data Feel

theBoneyKing
January 28th 2022


22235 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The King Is Dead is one of my favorite albums of all time so this is extremely exciting to hear.

Digging: Ethel Cain - Preacher's Daughter

fogza
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2022


5611 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Liking this much more than their last one so far.

Digging: The Ninth Wave - Heavy Like a Headache

Pikazilla
January 28th 2022


22992 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

If this leans more towards Americana, then I should probably stay away.

theBoneyKing
January 28th 2022


22235 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I mean, the trend of their whole discog so far has been getting more and more Americana

HBFS
January 28th 2022


1539 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I think overall it’s less Americana/country than Marigold even though Flora is probably their most ~country~ song.

fogza
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2022


5611 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

definitely less boring than marigold

butt.
January 28th 2022


9826 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha love this review. Best one paragraph review ever and so accurate

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2022


3936 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Last sentence undermines too heavily a very good, very pretty piece!!!

Digging: Ethel Cain - Preacher's Daughter

theBoneyKing
January 28th 2022


22235 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I also just learned this has Chris Walla on production so I am even more excited now.

butt.
January 28th 2022


9826 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That choir of harmonies on Orange sounds so damn good.

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2022


11432 Comments


cute lil rev bro!

> definitely less boring than marigold
hope so

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2022


7479 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

changed the conclusion for you, Blush < 3



hope you pals enjoy this here album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy