Monolord
Your Time to Shine


4.5
superb

Review

by Gary Grump CONTRIBUTOR (49 Reviews)
November 3rd, 2021 | 17 replies


Release Date: 10/29/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Gentle heaviness.

After signing to Relapse Records, Swede trio’s made the first bigger steps towards a more “experimental” direction in their style in No Comfort. Under that I mean, they turned a bit away from the heavily fuzz-soaked monumental riffages (well known from Sleep and Electric Wizard too), and started to craft a more unique sound for themselves. And I believe, in Your Time To Shine they reached their full potential, delivering a heavy yet far more emotional album without completely abandoning anything they stood for in the past.

A clear evolution can be observed in Monolord’s discography. They began their career as a far darker and aggressive doom band (in the vein of Electric Wizard, Conan and so on), and in time they turned towards a more melody and mood centric stoner or momentarily psychedelic soundscape (sometimes stepping into Red Fang’s or Elder’s territory here) while still carrying the key elements of their earlier sound. Now, witnessing their current creation, it is safe to state that Your Time To Shine is Monolord’s most progressive, and arguably most interesting album so far.

Your Time To Shine is a two-faced album. One focuses on a crushing, monstrously heavy riff crash (which with a more gain and brutal distortion could easily show well on a death-doom record) - like what you can hear in “The Weary” and in “I’ll Be Damned”. The album’s other face feels closer to rock than metal with its highly atmospheric, and spaced out melodies. Through them, Your Time To Shine gently shepherds the listener’s mood towards sweet melancholia - observable in the remaining songs: “To Each Their Own”, the album’s title track and “The Siren Of Yersinia”. Personally I think these more melancholic and psychedelic songs are the album’s absolute pinnacles, and contain the album’s most interesting moments. These slower and the somewhat softer tracks all contain really earworming melodies, surprising amounts of clean guitars and playful experiments with effects, and Thomas Jäger’s best vocal performances (for example, the classic Ozzy-style vocal effects did a marvelous job). Moreover, in each song they managed to present different moods as well, like “To Each Their Own” ends with a really uplifting solo, while the title track’s “Planet Caravan”-esque finish grants a beautifully captivating and calm feeling. However the overall effect wouldn’t be the same without the heavier and groovier songs. “The Weary” and “I’ll Be Damned” are perfectly placed within the album (an opener and one in the middle), as they bring more dynamism, energy and a certain depth into the whole creation. Generally, the whole album feels like a really mature work and is really balanced, not to mention the pleasant production.

Through Your Time To Shine Gothenburg’s trio could clearly show that they evolved, and fearlessly turned Monolord’s style into a somewhat new direction. The result is a really characteristic work, which remains very heavy but it’s full of soul and sentience, making it one of the most memorable stoner/doom albums of the year.



Recent reviews by this author
Hallas Isle of WisdomNapalm Death Resentment is Always Seismic...
Aequorea DimKrampusnacht Krampusferatu
Various Artists Back in Black (Redux)Old Tower The Old King of Witches
user ratings (41)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
garas
Contributing Reviewer
November 3rd 2021


7176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Bandcamp: https://monolord.bandcamp.com/album/your-time-to-shine

DDDeftoneDDD
November 3rd 2021


20164 Comments


Here it is! Awful cover, since my last name is Rabbit

Digging: Famyne - II: The Ground Below

jemaiseyeti
November 3rd 2021


197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Very very good, brutal album cover too

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
November 3rd 2021


5689 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Weird decision with that album cover. I listened to this album twice, but I don't feel it as much as previous records yet. Will wait a bit more before rating.

Digging: Pure Reason Revolution - Above Cirrus

Ashtiel
November 3rd 2021


1351 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"I'll Be Damned" and the title track on this are wonderful, I don't know if it quite surpasses the emotional highs of No Comfort for me, but this record is definitely in the "all killer, no filler" category.

also I feel like the album cover really suits what the band is going for tonally, it's bittersweet and works with the vibes of the record.

Azog
November 3rd 2021


796 Comments


No Comfort was better, but still a very good album on it's merits. Love that cover too, fits the music perfectly.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
November 4th 2021


28008 Comments


Dude, nice, this reminded me I haven't heard this one yet.

"Review Summary: Gentle heaviness."

I had exactly the SAME summary for my Blackwater Holylight review lol

Digging: Nina Hagen - NunSexMonkRock

garas
Contributing Reviewer
November 4th 2021


7176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Personally I dig this album more than No Comfort, but I totally get it if it's more appealing to you guys. And I'm with Ashtiel and Azog: the cover art is a perfect choice.



> I had exactly the SAME summary for my Blackwater Holylight review lol

Lol. "There are no accidents." - Master Oogway

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
November 4th 2021


11432 Comments


nice nice nice garas!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
November 4th 2021


5689 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'd love if they brought back some of that muddy production their first 2 records had.

Hatework
November 4th 2021


228 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First impression is that it dosnt have the "wow" moments of prior albums. I think its good but need some more spins.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
November 4th 2021


17113 Comments


This is a great, succinct review. Good work Adam.

Dedes
November 5th 2021


8734 Comments


I really dug No Comfort so I'll definitely jam this soon. Dope review my man.

Sabrutin
November 6th 2021


8501 Comments


Gotta check this because the opener is great. The intro is heavy but hints at a taste for melody, and then the vocals enter and it's like doom Wishbone Ash

ChaoticVortex
November 6th 2021


1307 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

More consistent and well-written than their last two albums, really enjoyed jamming to this. Quality doom.

kgrab2112
November 16th 2021


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My favorite Monolord album since "Vaenir". They've definitely gravitated towards a slightly more mainstream approach to the production and playing style, but without abandoning what makes them so good. I approve.

garas
Contributing Reviewer
November 22nd 2021


7176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Sometimes some of these sweet melodies randomly start playing in my head during the day. And that's really something.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy