Every Time I Die
Radical


4.2
excellent

Review

by While She Sleeps: [in the back] STAFF
October 21st, 2021 | 2133 replies


Release Date: 10/22/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Once more unto the breach

Have Every Time I Die always been quite this angry? The answer, obviously, is yes - as each and every one of the band's southern-fried, riff-stacked LPs can attest to - and yet there’s something distinctly, dizzingly fucking furious about Radical that is just chef kiss levels of delicious (*mwah*).

Opening trio “Dark Distance”, “Sly” and “Planet Shit” erupt with the kind of pissed-the-heck-off energy that the Buffalo-bred quintet haven’t quite hit since 2012’s Ex Lives. The slightly more composed and calculated tendencies of the band's recent output are briskly shaken off in exchange for Radical's joyously jagged edges, tinged as always with their characteristic hot pink flair for groove and melody. “All This And War” and “AWOL” keep the party going, breathlessly tossing out hand grenade after hand grenade of infectious bluesy hellfire. Jordan and Andy bounce frantic, funky licks off one another throughout both tracks, as Keith bellows out endless cathartic one-liners with reliable bravado and grit. Equally impressive are the softer cuts, ETID retaining a dash of poise and composure to their repertoire despite their renewed ferocity. The serene “Thing With Feathers” and painfully singable “Post-Boredom” pace out the boisterous beatdowns nicely, whilst the pensive "Desperate Pleasures" and “We Go Together” dial in some morishly claustrophobic atmospherics, sporadically bursting open with landmine drum-kicks and feedback freakouts just as you'd hope.

The thing is, I'm probably not telling you anything that you didn't already know. The lads have been at the centre of the pit since their favoured flavour of heavy was first conceived, and whilst many other names have come and gone, "Every Time I Die" still remains at the tip of our collective tongue after over 20 years. Radical is by no means a reinvention or revelation for the band, but I wouldn't want it to be. In refusing to fix what ain't broke, ETID prove themselves once more as the reigning king of their peculiar, blood-splattered bouncy-castle. I think I can speak for everyone when I say: thank fuck for that.



Recent reviews by this author
Frontierer OxidizedEmployed To Serve Conquering
Royal Blood TyphoonsWhile She Sleeps Sleeps Society
Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The LSO PromisesWorld Peace Come And See
user ratings (607)
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
Tyler W. CONTRIBUTOR (5)
This is Rad(ical)...

TrantaLocked (5)
It's time fam....



Comments:Add a Comment 
AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
October 21st 2021


7187 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Out tomorrow.

Gyromania
October 21st 2021


33252 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Good review

onionbubs
October 21st 2021


14444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

rad(ical) review. not sure if this is a 4 or a 4.5 yet (just bc theres so many songs here to dig into lol) but it most certainly rules

Digging: Volumes - Happier?

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
October 21st 2021


2741 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah, I love this

Digging: Silent Planet - Iridescent

TooManyFriends
October 21st 2021


3417 Comments


all this and war completes the extremely rare task of every successive part of the song being unequivocally better than the last

onionbubs
October 21st 2021


14444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea all this and war is incredible. scogin feature did not disappoint and is already one of my favorite features theyve ever done

Storm In A Teacup
October 21st 2021


36570 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

https://youtu.be/uZGb3ttgp9k

BigPleb
October 21st 2021


63991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Only on the opener and daaaamnnn, this is gonna be a trip.

dangerousdarrin
October 21st 2021


772 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

My dear God I want this immediately

Digging: Sentinels (US) - Collapse by Design

mynameischan
Emeritus
October 21st 2021


1954 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

God I’m so excited for this

BigPleb
October 21st 2021


63991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

SPAAARRREEEE ONLYYY THE ONES I LOOOOVVVEEEEE



Keith sounds p*ssed here, damn.

Storm In A Teacup
October 21st 2021


36570 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nice review. Hyped for the album!

BigPleb
October 21st 2021


63991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice to see they've continued their trend of having amazing openers.

StickFeit
October 21st 2021


1944 Comments


Album fucks hard, the boys done did it again

The Whip is brutal

JayEnder
October 21st 2021


11806 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So unbelievably stoked for this.

Digging: Volumes - Happier?

BigPleb
October 21st 2021


63991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This might just end up topping Low Teens, how do they keep putting out such amazing material?

trilo
October 21st 2021


4186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea this absolutely rips (unsurprisingly)

Digging: Plebeian Grandstand - Rien ne suffit

BigPleb
October 21st 2021


63991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The Whip is stupid heavy.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 21st 2021


26975 Comments


nice review man! had no idea this was coming out

anyone getting SOAD vibes during parts of Post - Boredom? haha

Digging: Emily Scott Robinson - American Siren

BigPleb
October 21st 2021


63991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's the blatant single of the album, for sure.



Album has minimal filler, impressive especially due to there being 16 tracks.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy