Flora (USA)
Keep Calling


3.5
great

Review

by neekafat CONTRIBUTOR (70 Reviews)
May 3rd, 2021 | 13 replies


Release Date: 03/09/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: cool kids only

With any debut EP, the trick is to stand out from the crowd. Flora Billen's bedroom-pop musings may stray too close to inspirations Soccer Mommy and Clairo, both in their 90s alt-pop aesthetic and murmured vocals, but the attention to detail in both the production and songwriting engage the listener from the start. Not every melody flails in your face; not every instrument fights for attention. With her father producing and older brother on guitar, Flora's tunes cement into a surprisingly solid collection of songs on her debut EP. Whether it be through the opener's gentle synths, standout "Magic Eraser"'s dip into americana during its coda, or "Better Off Alone"'s notably less successful punk stomp, each track signifies another side to Flora's sound—and her potential as an artist.

Keep Calling is clearly a labor of love, both for Flora and her family. In the release's marketing, her father paints the project's story as one of reconnection and support, of discovering a way to communicate with those you love beyond words. The EP indeed relies much on her kin's collaboration, but Flora is unquestionably the star of the show here. Her musings on love and life never ring hollow, as her vocals weaponize her own naivety in the most charming of ways. At 13 years old, one of the hardest things to do is finding your voice—Flora is figuring it out a lot faster than most of us. In time, the confidence on display here may lead her to be a dominating force of her genre. But for now, we're just lucky she's here.



Recent reviews by this author
Helena Deland Someone NewPVRIS Use Me
Alanis Morissette Such Pretty Forks in the RoadThe Chicks Gaslighter
HAIM Women In Music, Pt. IIIJaunt All In One
user ratings (4)
3.1
good


Comments:Add a Comment 
neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
May 3rd 2021


21114 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

First rev in long, long time and I wrote this immediately after my 2nd vax dose so pls forgive the brevity and rust--this is well worth checking if its your thing

"Magic Eraser": www.youtube.com/watch?v=lOkW8LP_3VI&ab

aaronrkc
May 4th 2021


389 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Enjoyed this EP. Curious how you came across it. You from the KC/Lawrence/Topeka area?

Digging: Goodbye World - At Death's Door

Kompys2000
Contributing Reviewer
May 4th 2021


5856 Comments


Oh shit a new neek review

This doesn't really sound like my thing at all but I might give it a go if this ends up being a slow week for me (:

Digging: Chad VanGaalen - World's Most Stressed Out Gardener

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
May 4th 2021


7854 Comments


lovely lil rev

Digging: Erika de Casier - Sensational

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2021


14082 Comments


this is beautiful neeky (is sput down) - the review not the music, fuck knows about the music as we all know this is fan and away from what I'd normally go for.

Digging: ACAUSAL INTRUSION - Nulitas

normaloctagon
May 4th 2021


5683 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ep sounds interesting neek i'll give it a go soon, nice little rev

SteakByrnes
May 4th 2021


23540 Comments


Woah neeka review hell yea, love ya bud and nice short review. Might check this out, I've been getting more into the indie sound lately

parksungjoon
May 4th 2021


31674 Comments


I've been getting more into the indie sound lately


Digging: Make a Change...Kill Yourself - II

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2021


2315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

There's some cringy lyrics and a few other issues, but this is crazy impressive given the artist is 13. Magic Eraser is a beautiful tune, in particular. Nice review!

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2021


21114 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks so much everyone, this might've been the longest break I've taken between reviews, hopefully it'll stay the longest (:

Glad you liked it Sunny, "Magic Eraser" is my choice cut too! That coda is phenomenal

Trifolium
May 6th 2021


24311 Comments


Love this short little text which makes me think I should check the EP 💚

Hello neek!

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
May 6th 2021


21114 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hello lovely! You should, would love to hear your thoughts (:

normaloctagon
May 7th 2021


5683 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

cute EP, lightning in a bottle was my fave. hope she keeps at it!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy