Big Brave
Vital


4.5
superb

Review

by Jesper L. CONTRIBUTOR (66 Reviews)
April 24th, 2021 | 37 replies


Release Date: 04/23/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: slow carnage

Vital is absolutely relentless. The record bears the intensity of a thousand delicately planned and controlled car crashes in slow motion, and appears more than aware of its colossal nature. Impressively, Big Brave manage to afford themselves enough time and space to indulge in astonishingly dynamic songwriting, keeping their latest full length as intriguing and engaging as it is immensely overwhelming.

Opener ‘Abating the Incarnation of Matter’ wastes no time drilling a massive, distorted riff into whatever may be in its proximity. It repeats and repeats, slowly disseminating into hypnosis before Robin Wattie’s vocals pierce through Big Brave’s eternally grey cloud. She sounds steadfast yet helpless, as her angelic wails transform into wonderfully ear-splitting screams, resolutely demarcating the end of the track’s destruction.

There’s time to breathe. Kind of.

Every breath on Vital is filled with equal amounts of anticipation and captivating fear. ‘Half Breed’ employs moments of silence to cataclysmic extents, allowing Wattie’s voice to permeate the ominous interruptions, before the lethargic avalanche of distortion crashes back into view. Its final two minutes elongate the breaks, adding an element of unpredictability to the song, while absolute, eventual destruction remains tangibly inevitable. Bleeding into ‘Wited. Still and All…’, Big Brave opt for splitting the record in half with an equally eerie piece of lingering drone, beautifully contrasting and complementing its surrounding blanket of dense, sludgy post metal.

You can’t escape. You don’t even want to.

Nine-minute behemoths ‘Of This Ilk’ and ‘Vital’ end the record in a similar, marvelously exhausting manner. The closer shifts the foggy spotlight to the drums in its first half, where the instrument collides with dense layers of reverb at approximately one and a half beats per minute. The song progresses like a sonic deconstruction of Vital, slowly disintegrating into the ether before Big Brave lets out one final burst of energy; upping both the tempo and intensity one final time with a distant, equally meandering guitar solo closing the titanium curtains.

Clocking in at 38 minutes, Vital accomplishes everything it sets out to do. It’s neither unnecessarily long nor unsatisfactorily short: the wonderfully slow carnage is brilliantly wrapped in the record’s cold shell. Simultaneously, the replay button looms on the dim horizon as the album concludes. Big Brave’s total annihilation is simply too captivating.



Recent reviews by this author
Submotile Sonic Day CodasLeon Vynehall Rare, Forever
London Grammar Californian SoilPONY TV Baby
half/cut Salt an AtlasCitizen Life In Your Glass World
user ratings (45)
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
April 24th 2021


2966 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

tldr this is SO SO GOOD aaaaa

listen: https://bigbravesl.bandcamp.com/album/vital

Digging: Porter Robinson - Nurture

Pikazilla
April 24th 2021


16372 Comments


I am intrigued

normaloctagon
April 24th 2021


5683 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

HELL yeah jesp!! saw them play live a year or two ago and very much enjoyed. i've only heard feral verdure which is gr8 but best believe i'll be checkin this!

Azog
April 24th 2021


470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I fucking loved A Gaze Among Them, and I'm pretty sure I'm gonna spin the shit out of this one too. Stoked!



Also, the correct spelling is Big|Brave, or so it seems.

Digging: Altarage - Succumb

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
April 24th 2021


2966 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oo i'm jealous norma, seems like they'd be massive live!

and nice azog!! only heard a gaze like twice n loved it but i think this is even better

zaruyache
April 24th 2021


23895 Comments


very emma ruth rundle but more big guitars go BOM BOM BOM

YoYoMancuso
Contributing Reviewer
April 24th 2021


13973 Comments


sick review definitely interested in this!

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
April 24th 2021


2315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Very nice review, Jesper!



Gave this a first spin yesterday, really like the sound they're going for. My one initial gripe was the vocals seemed over-the-top in a few spots, but maybe they'll grow on me.

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
April 24th 2021


2966 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thx yoyo and sunny!

i rly love the vox bc they add such a unique colouring to the beautiful monotony of the music (and also bc i'll vibe with anything remotely resembling err lol) but i can see how they could be a bit much

Deez
April 24th 2021


7557 Comments


awwwwww hellll yeahhhhhh

Digging: Cyril Snear - Riot of Colour

Snake.
April 24th 2021


22897 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great band v excited

nightbringer
April 25th 2021


1945 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Don't know about this

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
April 25th 2021


2966 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

based on my professional calculations there's a chance this is a night-b 4

nightbringer
April 25th 2021


1945 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I like the vocals a lot but not sure the instrumentation is interesting enough.

Slex
April 25th 2021


11202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is something else yeah

Digging: Origami Angel - Gami Gang

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
April 25th 2021


2966 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

just like you uwu

Slex
April 25th 2021


11202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh dang < 3

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
April 26th 2021


24348 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Jamming asap

Digging: Bala - Maleza

Slex
April 26th 2021


11202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This gives me Oathbreaker vibes and I am sooooo here for it

kevbogz
April 26th 2021


3099 Comments


my mind's actually blown their last release has THREE ratings, what the fuck?

glad this gotta review yeeesh



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy