LANDMVRKS
Lost In The Waves


2.0
poor

Review

by Brendan Schroer CONTRIBUTOR (152 Reviews)
March 26th, 2021 | 41 replies


Release Date: 03/19/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Lost in the sound of misdirection.

Amid the stale grooves and cliched clean vocals of Lost in the Waves lies a constant phrase at the back of the mind: “Wait, where have I heard this before”? And you’d be correct for asking that question if you’re familiar with any sort of metalcore, as LANDMVRKS’ latest record is just a giant recycled hodgepodge of all the 21st century -core tropes you can imagine. The group’s music is far removed from the manic energy and engaging songwriting of their debut album Hollow at this point, instead opting for generic riffs and overly polished clean singing. I’m not against a band trying to expand their sound and explore different styles, but there’s also a difference between genuinely trying to experiment and just being trendy; Lost in the Waves definitely falls in the latter category. Hell, that became clear the moment “Visage” started and frontman Florent Salfati began lifelessly rapping over the most sterile hip-hop beat imaginable. Then it became even more clear with the sugary “woah-oh-oh!” vocal harmonies that kicked off the following track “Tired of It All". Simply put, this album has none of the edge you’d want from a metalcore record; and sadly, nothing that replaces the aggression is all that good either. “Say No Word” is one of the only songs that actually promises at what the project could have been, alternating between blastbeat-driven chugs and heavy grooves while having much better screaming and rapping than the other tracks. But again, it’s only a small glimmer of hope as the next track “Always” returns to the same vaguely poppy choruses and limp verses as before. It almost becomes tragic when you have a solid song that gets undercut by the band’s own songwriting choices, especially in the case of “Overrated". The first 30 seconds are so intense and belligerent, only to be completely fucking ruined by a really grating attempt to sound anthemic in the chorus. This album could seriously do without all the “woah-oh” backing vocals.

It really is a tragedy, too, because there’s clearly a lot of talent here. The same band who released Hollow is still in this record; they’re just buried under so many bad songwriting decisions and glossy production values that it’s often hard to tell. But it’s worth noting that Salfati is a really talented and versatile vocalist, and his screams and gutturals are the clear highlight of Lost in the Waves. He absolutely tears it up in the aforementioned “Say No Word” switching from rapid-fire rapping to throat-shredding screams at the drop of a hat; meanwhile, his clean vocals are best-displayed on the somber closing ballad “Paralyzed", which features some pretty stunning belting near the end. The musicians are also very proficient, which is a trait they definitely carried over from the previous two albums. I’ve never had any complaints about the technical skills of the members, no matter the quality of the group’s songwriting. So in the end, the real core issue of Lost in the Waves is that LANDMVRKS just seem lost. They can’t pick a direction, and it’s as if they saw what every big metalcore band is currently doing and decided to imitate all of them at the same time. As a result, they don’t have their own identity anymore and seem content just treading water... what a shame.



Recent reviews by this author
Adrian Younge The American NegroNick Drake Bryter Layter
Demi Lovato Dancing with the Devil... the Art of Starting OverAriana Grande Sweetener
Gojira From Mars to SiriusMare Cognitum Solar Paroxysm
user ratings (50)
2.8
good


Comments:Add a Comment 
DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2021


8688 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Bit of a shorter one this time around, as I didn't really have much to say about such a flavorless album. I'll go back to more longform writing soon; my headspace has been a little cloudy after taking the 2nd Covid shot. I think the side effects are starting to subside a bit though :]

SteakByrnes
March 26th 2021


23218 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

This album annoys me, they had such a strong debut and have just gotten worse and worse. The cleans here are atrocious, the rapping sucks, and the only good song is right at the very start

Digging: Hail the Sun - New Age Filth

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2021


8688 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Absolutely man. It’s so sad to see their quality deteriorate with every album 😞

Get Low
March 26th 2021


9820 Comments


Thanks for reviewing. I've been enjoying the shit out of this album for the past week. The t/t goes absolutely ham.

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2021


7531 Comments


“Wait, where have I heard this before”?

spot on bro

Digging: Andy Stott - Never the Right Time

SteakByrnes
March 26th 2021


23218 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

"It almost becomes tragic when you have a solid song that gets undercut by the band’s own songwriting choices, especially in the case of “Overrated". The first 30 seconds are so intense and belligerent, only to be completely fucking ruined by a really grating attempt to sound anthemic in the chorus."



I had this exact reaction when I heard Overrated lmao, it started out so good and then immediately shit the bed as soon as he started singing

Get Low
March 26th 2021


9820 Comments


I like his singing rip

Groundking
March 26th 2021


1595 Comments


I listened to one of the singles, instantly filed under don't even bother.

Digging: Dvne - Etemen nka

bigweinerdon
March 26th 2021


1314 Comments


I liked the first song and then it got so bad

nash1311
March 26th 2021


2286 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Give me the tropes; I love metalcore too much.



Thought this was super fun and could see a lot of it ripping live. Sounds very The Plot in You/Thousand Below/Warriors-esque at different moments throughout. Also, if anything I thought the vocalist drove the shit out of this thing. So much energy.



I completely agree there is nothing new here, but the great tracks are worth the price of admission to me. Visage sounds exactly like something bmth would try. And even though I wouldn't call it good, it broke up the album for me no different than a throw-away interlude would.



I found for every misstep, every track had at least some segment that was redeeming. 'Always' and 'Paralyzed' were the main tracks that I found bland.

Digging: Niechec - Live at Jazz Club Hipnoza

YoYoMancuso
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2021


13792 Comments


i know nothing about this band but great review!

Digging: My Bloody Valentine - m b v

Tundra
March 26th 2021


5898 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

modern genericore at its finest

nash1311
March 26th 2021


2286 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is probs like a 3.2 for me, but I'm giving it a 3.5 cause the ones I enjoy are real fun

Get Low
March 26th 2021


9820 Comments


If I hadn't hyped up this album in the Erra thread on the night when their self-titled dropped, this album would have like, 6 votes and a 3.7 avg.

SteakByrnes
March 26th 2021


23218 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Hollow is so much better than this it's crazy

Get Low
March 26th 2021


9820 Comments


Yeah, oddly enough this band's first two albums didn't appeal to me. But now that my dude is singing (albeit I seem to be in the minority by actually liking his voice) and the songwriting is a bit more accessible, I'm into it. I can totally see why peeps aren't digging this though.

dachstheangry
March 26th 2021


3 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

His vocals are so goddamn bad...

Dedicated1
March 27th 2021


164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Never listened to this band before this.



Fun album is fun.

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
March 27th 2021


8688 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks YoYo!



And that’s fine Get Low, feel free to keep enjoying it :] but idk, to me this just sounds so sterile and derivative compared to the band’s early stuff

maximomckinnon
March 28th 2021


74 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

agreed on pretty much everything, though I wouldn’t say the clean vocals are ‘overly polished’, if anything they’re pretty fucking bad lol. mega rough.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy