ESPRIT
virtua.zip


2.5
average

Review

by rellik009 USER (6 Reviews)
November 20th, 2020 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: ESPRIT, I know what you're showing me is cool, but you don't have to show it to me for the 156th time!

Okay, so, vaporwave. I love(d) it. If I feel like dreaming to an uninterrupted flow of moody, psychedelic, corny music, I'll gladly put on some vaporwave. Or at least, I'll put on the 44:44 minutes t e l e p a t h album or Celebrating Digital Artefacts by Dante Mars Ajeto!. When I first got into vaporwave, I was obviously the brainless fanatic who didn't step back for a minute, and who just consumed it constantly, although I did vibe with some artists better than others. One of these artists was ESPRIT, and specifically this album, virtua.zip. Now, I used to think this release was ***en epic and an absolute masterpiece. But does it stand the test of time?

This album is admittedly pretty unique. “virtua.zip” blends seapunk and vaporwave, as well as adding a lot of original compositions alongside the samples. The tracks are essentially simple, improvised ideas extended and repeated for around 1-2 minutes, keeping you in a sea of vibez all the way through (hopefully), with all sorts of pads and effects (did I mention the production was grandiose?). Usually I dislike it a whole lot when I can recognize the sample; however, ESPRIT is able to utilize his samples in a manner that’s natural and authentic. This can be seen on ‘Iwillbe.wav’, which features MegaMan samples combined with tropical-sounding synths/melodic percussion. Another quality this album has is that it consistently delivers drowsy, sugary, but also soothing and infectious atmospheres to trap you in a constant repeat cycle. ‘Slowjet.wav’ and ‘Peter.wav’ are possibly the best examples of this, the former featuring a smooth-but-punchy bass line, and the latter a simple but cool beat grooving under straightforward synths plus a catchy vocal hook.

But with all this delivery comes a major problem. All of the base ideas are excellent, but the tracks follow the same exact formula a la 18 Carat Affair where the idea is superb, but only developed in a simplistic fashion, if at all. The craft of this album is (un)intentionally minimal, but at times (and depending on your mood) it can feel so, so, SO horribly poor(this is especially true for the original composition); and I can say without hyperbole that all the tracks suffer from this. There are more nuances in “virtua.zip” than in 18 Carat Affair’s albums, as a whole, but honestly, that’s not saying much. In turn, it causes the ‘WOW effect’ to slowly fade away when you realize how empty of complexity and overbearingly repetitive this album is. It’s a shame, because when I see ESPRIT’s liveshows, they are far more creative compared to his studio outings. But hey, this was a stepping stone for vaporwave, and it has become part of the Vaporwave Essentials Guide: Nu Edition, so I guess it's still alright after all.



Recent reviews by this author
Telepath 一緒に別の夜Perturbator New Model
Meshuggah NothingPrimus Antipop
Meshuggah The Violent Sleep of Reason
user ratings (19)
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
rellik009
November 20th 2020


1218 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I submitted CRINGE



But you can read it at your leisure



tell me what you think of it! Especially if you neg

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
November 20th 2020


5876 Comments


sounds cool, pos'd

you got a thingy at the beginning of para 3: "a la", sput doesn't like french 🥐🥖🐸

Digging: Big Black - Atomizer

rellik009
November 20th 2020


1218 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

indeed, you are right. we must revolt against this discrimination!



I changed it

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
November 20th 2020


5876 Comments


une review en français comme ça ils captent r

normaloctagon
November 20th 2020


2133 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ya bb! pos'd. it's been too long since I listened to some vaporwave, but maybe this isn't the right one to dip back into the genre with ;) keep the revs flowin!

Digging: King Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard - Float Along. Fill Your Lungs

Bedex
November 20th 2020


2488 Comments


rellik rev rellik rev

Digging: Goodfight - Florida Room

rellik009
November 20th 2020


1218 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"une review en francais comme ca ils captent r"



haha ouais faudrait qu'on fasse ça lol RÉVOLUTION. ah et au fait merci pour le pos'!



"ya bb! pos'd. it's been too long since I listened to some vaporwave, but maybe this isn't the right one to dip back into the genre with ;) keep the revs flowin!"



thx bro! honestly I'd recommend to give this album a try even though I didn't praise it. it deserves a listen for sure

normaloctagon
November 20th 2020


2133 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

then I shall! wait a sec, do you actually speak french rellik?!

rellik009
November 20th 2020


1218 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeah haha



"rellik rev rellik rev"



bedex joins the battle! thx bro and good to see you!

Bedex
November 20th 2020


2488 Comments


jamming Dante Mars Ajeto instead of this bcs it gave me dah vaporwave itch

rellik009
November 20th 2020


1218 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

aw hell yeah

normaloctagon
November 20th 2020


2133 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

checking this rn and then checking dante mars ajeto since prior to recently, had heard of neither. lookin' like a vaporwave morning, boys

rellik009
November 20th 2020


1218 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

aw hell yeah [2]



I made a vaporwave list if you want to check it out

luci, Grandpaseth3000, and MisterTornado are also pretty knowledgeable about vapurrwave

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
November 20th 2020


1928 Comments


le pos!
few pointy pointers:
- 'I was obviously the brainless fanatic who didn't step back for a minute, and who just consumed it constantly, although obviously' that's obviously 2x in one sentence, i'd change one to a 'naturally' or a 'clearly' or smth
- 'Every single track..' this feels like quite a long sentence, consider breaking up
- 'which namely features' i don't think 'namely' is the ideal word here, leaving it out would probs be better
- 'times (and..', 'poor (this..' (add spaces b4 brackets)
- 'fadeaway' = 'fade away'

Digging: Palm Reader - Sleepless

rellik009
November 20th 2020


1218 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

thx boi!



I'll edit it all quickly

rellik009
November 21st 2020


1218 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

possibly. I need to czech it

MiloRuggles
Contributing Reviewer
November 21st 2020


907 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice, post. Album is fun

rellik009
November 21st 2020


1218 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

album is fun that's true



it's less fun after a couple relistens tho

bloc
November 21st 2020


64229 Comments


Lotus Esprit is one of my favourite cars ever

Digging: DJ Sabrina the Teenage DJ - Makin' Magick

MotokoKusanagi
November 22nd 2020


3534 Comments


this is pretty nice tbh, i'm no vaporwave connoisseur though



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy