Earl Sweatshirt
Some Rap Songs


2.0
poor

Review

by Nolan D. USER (6 Reviews)
November 16th, 2020 | 68 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A Handful of Hip-Hop Compositions

Some Rap Songs is a mess. It's an album that I really wanted to see the value in, but it just is not there. Part of me can even see the intention, the emotion that he was trying to convey, but as a musical package it does not work at all, and part of me even thinks Earl knew! "I'm going to make the weirdest, most unlistenable project I can think of, and people will still eat it up, due to it's intrinsic weirdness." Just look at that troll-ass album art, he is laughing at you.

Whenever anyone says anything positive about the album, its always vague descriptors. "Experimental" "Raw" "Dark" "Brooding" or the absolute worst "Relatable" (eyes roll into the back of my head). Well let's talk about the actual sounds we are hearing for once, shall we?

The vocals on Earl albums have historically been the most important factor. Listen to Doris. His voice is always the most prominent factor in the mix, as it should be. Now listen to SRS. His vocals are ALWAYS muffled, covered, unannunciated. On any other album in existence that would be considered a negative. But for some reason, people say his vocals that you can't even make out half the time have a charm to them, only on this record? Give me a break. It's bad sound design. It's hard to say his lyrics are a strong suit when the only way to make out what he's saying is to look up the songs on Rap Genius.

And how about the production? It sounds to me like "Throw *** at a wall, and leave it all there, regardless of whether it sticks or not." Half the beats on the album literally sound like broken records, repeating, repeating repeating until you go f*cking CRAZY. The use of samples on SRS is so off-putting. The songs somehow sound too short and too long at the same time. They always leave me thinking, "Where's the meat to the bones? Why should I give a spit about that whirlwind of random sound and inaudible mutterings that just passed my eardrums?" And then at the same time I'm praising God that the tortuous, repetitive beat is finally fading out, even if it was a minute long track.



Recent reviews by this author
Lord Huron Long LostThe Beatles Abbey Road
Cymbals Eat Guitars LOSEJanelle Monae Dirty Computer
Bruno Mars 24K Magic
user ratings (627)
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Rowan5215 STAFF (4.2)
"make it brief son, half short and twice strong"...

CanadianSpud (3.5)
A simpler yet more experimental Earl doesn't quite hit a home-run like some of his previous albums b...



Comments:Add a Comment 
nol
November 16th 2020


9638 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

raw thoughts.



review might be half-baked, but, hey, so is this album

Digging: Silk Sonic - An Evening with Silk Sonic

nol
November 16th 2020


9638 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

ok I'm done moving on

nol
November 16th 2020


9638 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

it's as "it" as this album

nol
November 16th 2020


9638 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

this was originally a random comment, but I thought fuck it, let's piss some people off.



An album this messy doesn't deserve a review with structure, prose, romantic language, all the bells and whistles that define professional writing. Nah, this album deserves a throwaway comment as a review.

Drifter
November 16th 2020


18327 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Them spaces doe

nol
November 16th 2020


9638 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

G A P S

nol
November 16th 2020


9638 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Now with less Gaps!

Drifter
November 16th 2020


18327 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I posd. I don’t understand the appeal of this album. I hate it 🙃

widowslaugh123
November 16th 2020


3136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Best album of 2018

Drifter
November 16th 2020


18327 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I think the best rap album of 2018 was Daz Dillinger’s Dazamataz. Double album of classic g funk

Fort23
November 16th 2020


3770 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lol I love the beats on this album, I like the way you write when you trashed them tho lol

Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2020


15815 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm not a rap guy at all, but this absolutely slaps. It feels like a great mix of modern rap and old school NWA style stuff.

Digging: Ludus - The Seduction

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2020


22105 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love this album but certainly wouldn't begrudge anyone who doesn't dig it lol, no denying its rough edges

normaloctagon
November 16th 2020


7056 Comments


lol nice, pos'd. haven't stayed current with Earl's music, I'll have to check to form my own opinion but I dug the personal nature of the review. speak ur truth baby

Drifter
November 16th 2020


18327 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

😐😐

nol
November 16th 2020


9638 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"I'm not a rap guy at all, but this absolutely slaps."



If this sentence isn't emblematic of this album's fanbase, idk what is.

Ryus
November 16th 2020


26431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

idk. i feel like most surface-level hip hop fans dont like this. def true in terms of people i know irl

Digging: Rx Papi and Gud - Foreign Exchange

nol
November 16th 2020


9638 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Oh, and another thing nobody seems to mention. I think there is a massive quality difference between his bars on Doris and IDLS (and a ton of great features), and his bars here. I used to think he had a knack for the poetic, while still embracing his condescending and cold nature. "Nightmares got more vivid when I stopped smoking pot..." "You'll be the MOUSE that the FALCON snatched up!" "Purchasin' shitty grams with half the hand of cash you handed."



Now everything feels weightless, no longer cutthroat. I get that he's in a different emotional state, so he's coming from a different perspective with his recent lyrics, but I used to think he had the potential to be one of the best lyricists in the game, and now I just see him as coasting, using too many filler words and phrases (he uses "nigga" and the same way I use "um" when I talk). When the best lyrics people can come up with is "I been making waves, you been surfin' in em" which sounds like my talentless buddy Caleb free-styling, yeah the lyrics have taken a significant drop.

nol
November 16th 2020


9638 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Surface level fans of anything won't like this either. I somehow still have a few songs from this saved to my work playlist, and I won't get 30 seconds into a song before someone says "WTF is this shit."



The only people who like this are I N T E L L E C T U A L S

HalfManHalfAmazing
November 17th 2020


2782 Comments


Earl done fall off bro. And he don't care either.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy