Hellripper
The Affair of the Poisons


4.0
excellent

Review

by Panzerchrist USER (5 Reviews)
October 15th, 2020 | 17 replies


Release Date: 10/09/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: On ‘The Affair Of The Poisons’ the band accidentally conjure the concept of a terrible beast; black fur in black night, blistering forward and only discernible by the crimson red of its wild eyes.

Metallica is tired. Its compositions feel like placeholders, its members look like AARP members and its general production standards feel like Fisher Price children's toys.

Hellripper, its agonized, bastard offspring, however, is not. The final product of riff revivalist James McBain, the band have made a nasty habit of combining that aforementioned band’s early penchant for fast, sharp and driving thrash-craft with pungent, purulent and powerful black metal, and, on the band’s second full length (but fifth overall), that dose of new blood proves potentially fatal.

The band’s 2017 effort, 'Coagulating Darkness', proved to be an especially effective proof of concept for the band moving forward. It had an absolutely intentionally chaotic mix, a consistently good set of blackened thrash assets, and a particularly impassioned vocal performance. TAOTP follows that formula while subtly mixing in its own particular ingredients.

The thrash feels more forward facing than ever, with the snarls and very seldom tremolo riffs adding most of the black metal insidiousness. The lyrics certainly lend an additional air of acridity, but TAOTP definitely feels less like the balancing act that was their ‘Black Arts And Alchemy’ EP, which released just a year ago. This marginal shift in power ends up giving the LP its own particular stamp in the Hellripper back-catalog, and staving off the monotony that most of the current lot of blackened thrash acts tend to very rapidly plunge into.

It certainly helps that the minute to minute songwriting is especially strong. McBain has always excelled at expunging any and all filler bits, but TAOTP feels especially vital in all aspects; individual passages are predisposed to peak, which make the actual takeoffs feel absolutely Olympian by comparison. "Vampire’s Grave"’s double bass-led pre-chorus feels almost electrically charged as its driving guitar parts make the preceding chorus feel like the best part of any Tony Hawk video game combo. "Hexennacht"’s instrumental dropouts during the verse-to-chorus transition make it an especially riotous standout as well, emphasizing what has always been the band’s primary power source; headbangable riffs that command the windows on your car to roll down and your immediate elder to be perturbed.

As far as criticism in a form of writing built on criticism, my actual complaints feel relatively opinion-based and minor. Production on the record can feel occasionally dismissive, reducing the heft of particular pieces and obscuring the intentions behind them. The 3:06 mark on the T/T gives the impression of an especially blasphemous Deceased riff, but its accompanying mix feels rather flat and mitigated. Likewise “Hanging Tree”, the album’s ballistic and integral closer, has an atmospheric outro that seems oddly un-atmospheric. Its compositional intentions are compelling as always, but something in its mixing particulars feels aloof, to be sure.

Other than those nitpicks, I do miss the larger than life solos that accompanied most of the cuts off the previous LP (though the T/T and Savage Blasphemy do bring the goods). Their exclusion can feel like a one-up on predictability that has certainly done the album more good than harm, but personally they almost always drove the value up on every song they were placed previously.

Hellripper feels energized, however. Despite any minor slights, McBain has realized a series of excellent black thrash blasters that continue to improve with every consequential listen. At 30 minutes and 8 tracks, it’s especially easy to recommend for speeding, passive aggressive noise retaliations and general good times. While its forebears might have finally succumbed to the deep black elixir of the void, Hellripper seems even more potent as a product of it. On ‘The Affair Of The Poisons’ the band accidentally conjure the concept of a terrible beast; black fur in black night, blistering forward and only discernible by the crimson red of its wild eyes.

Recommended tracks: “Vampire’s Grave”, “Savage Blasphemy”, “Hexennacht”, “The Hanging Tree”


user ratings (30)
3.8
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
Panzerchrist
October 15th 2020


510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album can be streamed here: https://hellripper.bandcamp.com/album/the-affair-of-the-poisons

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2020


15128 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Cool jam, as expected, but honestly this formula doesn't grab me like it used to, at least for now.

Digging: Undeath - Lesions of a Different Kind

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2020


21930 Comments


Oh nice, I actually poked notrap to review this haha

Only heard a few tracks but seems solid, will get on it soon, nice review!

Digging: Crippled Black Phoenix - Ellengaest

Panzerchrist
October 16th 2020


510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't write very consistently anymore but I told James I'd review it so I fucking reviewed it, lol.

I'd definitely check it out though. I was a little disappointed in the new Midnight but this definitely scratched that blackened thrash itch something fierce

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
October 16th 2020


21930 Comments


Your ever heard Devil Master, Panzer?

Panzerchrist
October 16th 2020


510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I literally downloaded the debut on the strength of the title alone, lol.



I really like the compositions on that album but something about the production really turns me off. You think I should give it another go?

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
October 16th 2020


21930 Comments


I love that band man. Try an EP they released the year before, the production is way more crusty so maybe you like it better.

combustion07
October 16th 2020


7031 Comments


Checked a few tracks from this the other day at random and was liking what I heard. Quite different than what I was expecting tbh. Good review. Will jam the whole thing soon

south_of_heaven 11
October 16th 2020


5562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fuck yeah Hellripper rips

combustion07
October 16th 2020


7031 Comments


Damn South I had no idea you were still active on here

Essence
October 18th 2020


6417 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

extremely solid album, big step up from last

Panzerchrist
October 18th 2020


510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Honestly I think I prefer the sheer animosity of the first one but this one is still really solid.

Essence
October 18th 2020


6417 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i think the leads and melodies are better and the overall musicianship is tighter on this one



TheSonomaDude
October 18th 2020


7137 Comments


the music is fine but i love the old school production it has. so refreshing to hear extreme metal that isn't assified with rick rubin or core maxed-out loudness shit.

Anthracks
October 18th 2020


6616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wouldn’t go so far as to say it’s a stumble, but it’s definitely got way less punch than the other stuff. Also, apart from a few riffs I wouldn’t consider this one thrash. Definitely more of a traditional speed metal / black n roll hybrid this time around. The aggression has been toned down significantly

Digging: Arsebreed - Butoh

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
October 18th 2020


21930 Comments


It's just good good fun

Panzerchrist
October 18th 2020


510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wholesome satanic blackened thrash



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy