Mike Shinoda
Dropped Frames, Vol. 1


3.7
great

Review

by Rowan5215 STAFF
July 12th, 2020 | 24 replies


Release Date: 07/10/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I don't wanna know the end, all I want is a place to start

There was a time around Living Things where it seemed Mike Shinoda's work would keep going bigger and blander; his basic talent for beats and melodies was intact, but he surely had enough money to coast on minimum effort for the rest of his career. Instead, spurred by his muse, tragedy or both, his solo work started turning inward. Post Traumatic was an isolated piece of work, taking the modern pop techniques that smothered One More Light and refracting them to serve an album about the impossible process of starting to move on. Dropped Frames, Vol. 1 is not like that, but there's a feeling of looseness and freedom here that we haven't heard from Shinoda in years. Considering it's a fully mastered album of songs he made on Twitch streams with fans dropping suggestions – one song is a mashup of 'Mariachi hip-hop' and 'horror movie music', another only has the lyrics "booty down, booty up" – the clearing of his heavy chest on Post Traumatic seems to have something to do with that.

The only song with vocals is the banging Fort Minor-throwback "Open Door", complete with oddly inspirational battle raps and soaring female vocals in the chorus. It speaks to the quality of the beats that the gear switch Dropped Frames undertakes after that doesn't feel jarring. The mid-album peak comes with two-parter "Doodle Buzz" and "Channeling, Pt. 1", psychedelic drum-based tracks that sound like something Shinoda would have cooked up in the Reanimation era. Similarly, Meteora fans will be delighted with "Osiris", a flute-led beat with massive drums that recalls a mashup between "Nobody's Listening" and "Session". The rest of the album flits between Bollywood-inflected bangers ("Cupcake Cake"), trip-hoppy excursions indebted to J Dilla (the superbly named "Session McSessionface") and a tune made out of Gameboy samples that could slot into a sci-fi soundtrack ("Super Galaxtica") without lingering on any one sound long enough to get tiring.

Your enjoyment of this, naturally, will come down to which side of Shinoda's sound you prefer. This isn't the album to look to for throwback raps or Linkin Park-style rockers; you'd be better off looking to Grey Daze's Amends for the latter, although both styles feel out of step with our current cultural moment. Dropped Frames is a soundtrack for anxieties and jagged nerves, one which emphasises connectivity and collaboration in a way we rarely (if ever) see from an artist on Mike Shinoda's level. On Post Traumatic's most affecting moment, he denied the possibility of an end to grief, asking instead for "a place to start". Maybe that place is somewhere in Dropped Frames, making music for music's sake, more connected with his community than ever despite the physical distance between.




Recent reviews by this author
Hayley Williams Petals For ArmorBig Thief Demos Vol. 1 - Topanga Canyon, CA - Feb 2018
Enter Shikari Nothing Is True and Everything Is PossibleAndy Hull Born of You (Demos: 2008-2010)
Childish Gambino 03.15.20Empty Country Empty Country
user ratings (34)
2.9
good
other reviews of this album
Simon K. STAFF (3.7)
Opening new doors....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
July 12th 2020


43923 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

good album idk. his interviews on making this album are pretty cool, genuinely nice dude

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
July 12th 2020


16500 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

sweet rev, row. and yeah, dude is legit nice

Digging: Dawn Of Ashes - The Antinomian

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
July 12th 2020


11323 Comments


Nice little write-up, glad to see you back at it. Wasn't a fan of his first solo effort so I don't know if I'd be sold on this one, but appreciate the writing you did. Good stuff

Digging: TRVSS - New Distances

deathschool
July 13th 2020


25793 Comments


Good review. I don't think I'll be listening tho.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
July 13th 2020


43923 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

I personally think you will be listening to this

Lord(e)Po)))ts
July 13th 2020


57789 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

i'm gonna have to too but i'm going into this with a bad attitude and i just can't help it

Digging: HellHammer - Apocalyptic Raids

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
July 13th 2020


43923 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

- sputnikmusic motto, 2005 onwards

Lord(e)Po)))ts
July 13th 2020


57789 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

hmm perhaps a touch more concise



"I'm going into this, but I'm going into this with a bad attitude"



I like it

SteakByrnes
July 13th 2020


20033 Comments


nice review rowan, I doubt I'll ever listen to this but Mike always seemed like a nice dude

Album art slaps tho

Digging: Lost For Life - We All Share The Blame

MercySeat
July 13th 2020


274 Comments


Seeing the song titles for the first time made me more curious about this than anything else honestly

Digging: Blind Guardian - Imaginations from the Other Side

Beardog
July 13th 2020


3672 Comments


Surprised by the positive reviews

Feather
July 13th 2020


6005 Comments


meh

bloc
July 13th 2020


62182 Comments


Why'd you have to go and rate it the same as the other review

Digging: Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark - Dazzle Ships

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
July 14th 2020


43923 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

bloc I did it solely to annoy you specifically. cos you said Knife Prty was one of the worst Deftones songs. like c'mon you must have known there'd be consequences

bloc
July 14th 2020


62182 Comments


Not gonna lie, you did get to me this time. Well played.

TundraL5Z
July 15th 2020


4698 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

guess it IS his side project and can do anything he wants after all, complete curveball from what he has done before, dunno what to think about, guess it's fine as background music but I don't see much else of value beyond that

Digging: Haken - Virus

Pho3nix
July 15th 2020


894 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Wow what a positive surprise! I really enjoyed the instrumentals in this, it is what he was always good at.



I'd like to see a collab with Joe Hahn and him.

Digging: Alice in Chains - Alice in Chains

Lord(e)Po)))ts
July 16th 2020


57789 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

turns out my bad attitude was warranted as this made me cringe so hard and so long that my doctor thought i had parkinson's

TundraL5Z
July 16th 2020


4698 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Seems like chasing trends to me, yeah I dont think I'll listen to this ever again

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
July 17th 2020


43923 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

what trend is he chasing lol



lot of instrumental Twitch albums come out recently or



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2020 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy