END (NJ)
Splinters From An Ever-Changing Face


4.5
superb

Review

by Ben CONTRIBUTOR (24 Reviews)
June 5th, 2020 | 395 replies


Release Date: 06/05/2020 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Your. Fucking. END.

Listening to Splinters From An Ever Changing Face will make you feel like the poor, mangled sod depicted on its cover. Having succumbed to the album's terrifying allure and been pummelled into a puddle for my troubles, I honestly couldn’t be happier.

Heavy spelt with a capital F. and U.: the hardcore supergroup’s highly anticipated debut LP is everything that their crushing 2017 EP left fans craving, with just a little extra madness baked into each and every harrowing layer. We’re treated to the eclecticism of a Full of Hell, the aggression of a Nails and the creative vision of a Converge, all neatly crammed into 30 seamless minutes. Unsurprisingly, it’s fucking glorious. Frenetic, mathy riffage descends into blackened blast beats and barbaric growls in the blink of an eye, then back again, and then back again – and yet, despite each song’s apparent lack of orthodox structure, each sonic shift feels just right. The band’s disparate influences slot together as if it were easy, grinding the unsuspecting listener’s brain to mulch in the process. The resultant massacre is a dizzying celebration of everything the genre can, and should, be: relentless whilst never senseless; gloriously unforgiving, but never overwhelming; utterly breathless, yet immaculately paced. You’re left gasping for more rather than pleading for a breather, which, given just how filthy the mix is here, is nothing short of a miracle. Add Brendan’s exceptional lyricism to the equation (should you be willing to look up what he’s actually saying), and what you’re left with is the new, undisputed benchmark for hardcore in 2020.




Recent reviews by this author
Akimbo Forging Steel and Laying StoneRay Lynch Deep Breakfast
Car Seat Headrest Making a Door Less OpenAdmiral Angry A Fire To Burn Down The World
Mount Eerie Lost Wisdom, Pt. 2Horse Lords The Common Task
user ratings (345)
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Durrzo
June 5th 2020


2200 Comments


Lots of albums in the past 2 days, gonna try to get around to this today though.

bloodshy
June 5th 2020


1355 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i can see this on a lot of "end of" lists

Digging: Synovial - Songs of Silver

bludngorevidal
June 6th 2020


58 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"Heavy spelt with a capital F. and U" [2]









JayEnder
June 6th 2020


7637 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album obliterates faces.



Evening Arms, Every Empty Vein, and Sands of Sleep are the early highlights for me. Everything is just so filth.

Digging: Misery Signals - Ultraviolet

MotokoKusanagi
June 6th 2020


3215 Comments


ah shit this is out

Ignimbrite
June 6th 2020


6650 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I've barely heard anyone talking about how fucking hard Absence slaps. Like, it has passages of actual legit black metal and they're actually good, and that's before you even mention how fucking hard the breakdown/feature at the end is.



Great review, by the way. All killer, no filler (just like the album).

Ignimbrite
June 6th 2020


6650 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

And yeah speaking of Brendan's lyricism, I keep coming back to Absence:

"HELL IS A REFLECTION OF MYSELF / BRANDED IN THE SKIN OF THOSE I LOVE"

ugh so good

JayEnder
June 6th 2020


7637 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Absence is fucking harrowing. One of the best songs on here for sure.



Yeah, Brendan's lyricism is top tier. Poetic really.



"I've stained the sky in a blush of thin blood reminiscent of my insides/Pulling teeth, reflecting blinding light where the innocent reside/My cure could kill me if only I could die."

joshieboy
June 6th 2020


7541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Putney is a fucking god. Best producer in the scene. This sounds fucking huge and l got a mad headache after l had it up really loud.

Digging: Spiritbox - Spiritbox

MiloRuggles
Contributing Reviewer
June 6th 2020


717 Comments


Hype hype hype, great review

StickFeit
June 6th 2020


1109 Comments


Album is such a heavy beast

The Hesitation Wounds, Captive to My Curse and Evening Arms run is insane

bloodshy
June 6th 2020


1355 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

how is this #3 on the charts when practically no one has fived this?

JesperL
June 6th 2020


1113 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

already excited to see whatever poor creature will be on the cover for their next project

Digging: Catz 'n Dogz - Moments

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2020


3330 Comments


Very nice. Review, I mean, this doesn't seem like something I'd like.

bloodshy
June 6th 2020


1355 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Never know till you try. =)

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2020


3330 Comments


I tried it, and yes, very good. :3

AsleepInTheBack
Contributing Reviewer
June 6th 2020


6531 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Glad to see sput getting behind this one. It be pretty good.

tyman128
June 6th 2020


2157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album slaps hard

AxeToFall93
June 6th 2020


193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This absolutely slaps.

Lucman
June 6th 2020


4532 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

These ratings and You Fail Me rec has me intrigued. Been a long while since I've dug a metalcore/hardcore record.

Digging: Iona - Open Sky



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2020 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy