Crumb
Jinx


4.0
excellent

Review

by Trifolium USER (13 Reviews)
October 28th, 2019 | 40 replies


Release Date: 06/14/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Wonderfully colourful nuggets of psychedelic indie pop.

I vividly remember watching Jurassic Park as a child. It was way too scary for me, yet I always wanted to see it. Those magical moments when the different kinds of dinosaurs were introduced, John Williams going crazy, poison being shot in eyes in the pouring rain, and the raptors. Oh, the raptors. They made me flee into the kitchen and put my fingers in my ears. But what has everybody’s favourite 90s dino flick to do with the debut full-length by Crumb, Brooklyn’s very own psychedelic indie trio? I have no clue.

This ties in beautifully with Jinx’s cover art. We’re looking at amber here, after all, poor entombed insects and all. The connection to the music inside isn’t easily found. Maybe it’s the similarities between a block of amber and a kaleidoscope, which produces all these weird, spacey, psychedelic colours and patterns. Jinx’s 11 short tracks are kaleidoscopic in a way. They provide many different fragments of colourful indie-pscych-pop which exist just long enough for the listener to notice them, before they take a left turn and morph into something else altogether. Part III’s shocking midway transformation for instance shifts the whole song from slightly anxious organ pop into something very sunny and relaxing.

The atmosphere here is laid back but with a twist of lemon. Lila Ramani’s vocals are on the good side of half-hearted, lazy boredom, with the lalala-lalala’s of Fall Down putting a smile on my face every time. She particularly shines on Ghostride, with a gorgeous vocal melody which is nicely set off by the precise drumming. The rhythm section here is tight and they are put very high in the mix, occasionally reminding me of krautrock. Nina’s pulsing beat really showcases these aspects, with its short outro being an album highlight. The album is very synth heavy, with artificial xylophone, harp, and horns thrown in the mix for good measure. Topping this all off are calm psychadelic guitar riffs, such as in M.R., which would be at home in every beach club.

Jinx is over before you know it, being only one second over half an hour long, with the average track clocking in at two and a half minutes. This keeps the music from getting stale, but sometimes makes me wish for them to take the often fresh and interesting ideas a step further instead of cutting them short every time. A great example is And It Never Ends, which ends way earlier than you want it to. A nice joke from the band, but its lazy chorus, harsh yet rainbow coloured synth drone and warm bass just beg for more exposure.

In the end it could also just be the title track’s ‘’We all get lost but we all come back’’ that warrants the Jurassic Park intro. Who knows. This is a lovely album either way.



Recent reviews by this author
RX-101 SerenityUlver Teachings In Silence
Stereolab Mars Audiac QuintetIndigo Jam Unit Pirates
Underworld DRIFT Series 1 Sampler EditionPole 1
user ratings (46)
3.7
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trifolium
October 28th 2019


19320 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This needed a review, love it a loooottttt.



https://crumbtheband.bandcamp.com/album/jinx

Conmaniac
October 28th 2019


25828 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yo I love you for this review thank you thank you ahhh

budgie
October 28th 2019


22465 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

almost done with it,

it's pretty sweet

Trifolium
October 28th 2019


19320 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks con, album deserved it so hard, been spinning it a lot lately.



Yippeee budgie, I hoped you would like it!



Check it skele, it's nice!

Conmaniac
October 28th 2019


25828 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Seeing these guys within a month ahhhh in love

Trifolium
October 28th 2019


19320 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh awesome! I imagine they'll jam some during shows, which is exactly what could make this even cooler.



Conmaniac
October 28th 2019


25828 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Excited to see their stage design and lights they use honestly....

Trifolium
October 29th 2019


19320 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha, oddly specific! I guess that could be really cool and spacy with them.

Conmaniac
October 29th 2019


25828 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It would be oddly specific but have you seen their music videos? Esp Locket...

butt.
October 29th 2019


8016 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

huh didn't realize this was never reviewed

yeah it's pretty nice

Digging: Acid Witch - Evil Sound Screamers

Trifolium
October 29th 2019


19320 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Going to watch that con!

It was time butt, this was too nice not to have one.

Conmaniac
October 29th 2019


25828 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wtf how have u listened to this band and not tripped out to their video locket

Trifolium
October 29th 2019


19320 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Don't know! I've checked them on bandcamp and bought the cd, never thought they would have vids already. Stoked to see Locket!

Conmaniac
October 29th 2019


25828 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Locket is what got them famous. Def has over a million views on YouTube so please do

Trifolium
October 29th 2019


19320 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cool!! I must confess I haven't checked their EPs yet, looking forward to it! They're going on the list.

Conmaniac
October 29th 2019


25828 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Woah now ok ...

Ok just catch up

Locket is my go to video when I'm tripping honestly and you'll see why

Trifolium
October 30th 2019


19320 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dude that vid (and track!) is amaaazing. Absolutely cool.

Conmaniac
October 30th 2019


25828 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There u go man! Glad u dug it, p impossible not to imo

Trifolium
October 31st 2019


19320 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That visual style is incredible. Track is awesome too.

Conmaniac
October 31st 2019


25828 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Now you might understand a bit more why I'm so hyped for their stage design and lights hehe



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy