Ossuary
Supreme Degradation


4.0
excellent

Review

by ffs USER (37 Reviews)
September 9th, 2019 | 30 replies


Release Date: 05/15/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: the inevitable obsolescence of flesh

Can anything in the history of history claim the same breadth of spiritual significance as bones? Reverence of remains is a concept far elder than any language, religion or creed, and nothing of any of us remains longer than our bones. Anyone who remotely understands this morbid reverence ought to visit the Sedlec Ossuary in the Czech Republic. An otherwise unremarkable chapel, it rather arbitrarily became the resting place for an unusually high volume of dead because of the apocryphal claim that its grounds had been consecrated with soil taken from Golgotha itself. As time passed and its graveyards swelled further from plagues and famines and various other cool medieval adversities, the names of those resting there were forgotten and their masses of enduring bones were eventually... repurposed.

Presently, inside the subterranean chapel awaits a uniquely visceral spiritual experience. The excavated crypt features among other grim ornamentation an incredibly intricate chandelier crafted from at least one of every bone from the human body; bizarre, heraldic arrangements of humeri, femurs and tibiae; and tirelessly watching mounds of countless solemn skulls. Any feeble Christian imagery remaining in the place pales in overwhelming insignificance to the humbling presence of so many bones.

Fellow arbiters of interment, Ossuary, who are certainly not the first band to use the name but one who have proven themselves worthy of it, hold a similar grisly awe for all things skeletal and demonstrate this excellently with their supremely degraded second release. Eschewing some of the rawness that characterised their 2015 effort Cremation Ritual, while consolidating the bleak atmosphere that makes their song crafting so strong, these calcium enthusiasts have produced some of the grimmest death metal of the decade.

Nothing typifies Supreme Degradation’s revelry in the inevitable obsolescence of flesh like the alluring rasp of the vocal performance. Effectively placed against the instruments, the often layered lines harshly enunciate phlegm drenched evil to temper the guitar playing. Largely dominated by a spiny, mid paced riff repertoire with tremolos aplenty, Supreme Degradation showcases Ossuary’s confidence in their radiantly raw guitar tone with its dusting of melody to complete the atrophy. The considered pace lends itself well to the fracturing drums which are excellently produced, their echoing rumble vividly reverberating around a dismal crypt in the mind’s eye (ear?). Faster sections aren’t exactly rare either, manifested in withering grooves or opulent treble heavy lead sections that are penetrating enough to extract marrow.

Fortunately, the sobering finality of fate realised within the walls of Sedlec Ossuary does not yet apply to the band Ossuary. Just their second release, totalling just over 25 minutes, Supreme Degradation suggests there is a sense that this band's best material is yet to come. Fans of occult, subterranean death should get this, it’s good for the bones.



Recent reviews by this author
No Trend Too Many HumansBlood Spore Fungal Warfare Upon All Life
Crematory (SWE) DenialKingpin Skinny Pimp King Of Da Playaz Ball
Backyard Mortuary Lure of the OccultCatacomb (France) In the Maze of Kadath
user ratings (6)
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
ffs
September 9th 2019


5388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

https://ossuary-death.bandcamp.com/

oltnabrick
September 10th 2019


37381 Comments


kinda slaps tho

Digging: Leviathan - Verrter

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
September 10th 2019


10189 Comments


lotta slaps tho

ffs
September 10th 2019


5388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that's what i'm saying

ZippaThaRippa
September 10th 2019


10527 Comments


This is the stuff

MiloRuggles
September 10th 2019


128 Comments


Cool review mayn, gets be in the mood for some filthy death. Will check

ffs
September 11th 2019


5388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thank you my friend



i bet more people would listen to this if they knew the singer/guitarist was a girl!!

ffs
September 11th 2019


5388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

still bitter i owned you that one time

MiloRuggles
September 11th 2019


128 Comments


Ayo fuck that for criticism, the verbosity is actually a highlight in this review, which is a rare thing.

MiloRuggles
September 11th 2019


128 Comments


Also, if you hate KILL, you're pure pleb and can't be saved.

ffs
September 11th 2019


5388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haha this guy thinks i know/care who he is. nerd trap sprung bitch

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
September 11th 2019


16651 Comments


"i bet more people would listen to this if they knew the singer/guitarist was a girl!!"

You had my curiosity.gif

So is this better than Ossuarium? Nice review btw!

Digging: Kayo Dot - Blasphemy

Jacquibim
Staff Reviewer
September 11th 2019


3503 Comments


looks dirty

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
September 11th 2019


10189 Comments


Feels dirty

ffs
September 11th 2019


5388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lifeless is right breh its death metal

ffs
September 11th 2019


5388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

very funny how you gonna make a new alt to write out all that garbage and still pretend you dont have a grudge



also funny how you can use tryhard and thesaurus basher within the same breath of criticism. i tried hard to use a thesaurus dude???

MiloRuggles
September 11th 2019


128 Comments


Hahaha the man blew up. That's the stuff I was looking for. Quote me again, it gets me hard

ffs
September 11th 2019


5388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haha okay man "you are autistic" great criticism. your esteem of your own opinion is insanely delusional



also here's a cool fallacy: "bla bla bla polysyllabism with profundity". you mistakenly assume every review is trying to be profound

MiloRuggles
September 11th 2019


128 Comments


Do you write? Got a link? Who here meets your standards?

I'm not looking to nitpick or anything, just want to know what sort of writing ticks your boxes. That's not to say I'm not gonna continue laughing about your holy crusade to crack down on literally amateur-made content by a bunch of random people using pseudonyms, because that's definitely a funny thing to rage about

ffs
September 11th 2019


5388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this time you just said "meaning" instead of "profundity"



maybe im not trying to use a music to review for chance at intellectual auto fellatio as you seem to think it necessarily has to be and just want to pick some nice words to talk about some music that i like. im not getting paid here you know



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy