Eternal Storm
Come the Tide


4.5
superb

Review

by Crowe USER (6 Reviews)
August 26th, 2019 | 10 replies


Release Date: 08/23/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: So let it come

Since Winter’s Gate and Vessels in 2016, Insomnium and Be’lakor, respectively, have taken the throne of being the pinnacle, top-tier craftsmen of melodic death metal, and rightfully so. In fact, many fans of the bands would argue that they already garnered this very throne on their prior releases, and there are numerous reasons why these fans wouldn’t be incorrect in their assertions. Both bands have never released a “bad” album, per se, and with each subsequent release, these somber, melody-dripping riff machines have amassed countless positive reviews and have only escalated the number of their fanbase that just gets bigger and bigger with each passing day. These two juggernauts are the bands that new bands in the tired sub-genre look up to and, inevitably, try to emulate. Wolfheart, Countless Skies (named after a fucking Be’lakor song), Okera, and Cantabile Wind are some of the more obvious examples; all competent bands with good albums, admittedly, but all clearly chasing the success of their inspirations.

So, sure, on paper we can add Eternal Storm to the bunch. But instead of just writing them off as being mere competent copies, let’s put them in a different group, a group we can label as “potential realized”. Eternal Storm move at a slow-ish to mid-tempo speed (think Enshine’s work or In Vain’s more somber moments on Aenigma), but there are points when they do pick up the speed and start wielding seminal Insomnium-like guitar leads. Through it all, however, they keep their dark atmosphere at the forefront, and if the band's song path happens to drop in tempo, the progression feels natural and well earned. Vocalist/bassist Daniel Jimeno (Kheryon) has a sizable, inspiring snarl and growl, and the band receives aid from a number of vocalists from Ben C. Read (ex-Ulcerate) to Christopher Baque-Wildman (Dejadeath) on a couple of tracks. If you are a fan of the bands I mentioned, I highly encourage you to give these Spaniards a shot. Come The Tide is melodic death metal’s most promising debut album in a very long time.



Recent reviews by this author
Fleshgod Apocalypse AgonyEvery Avenue Bad Habits
World Under Blood TacticalSpy Catcher Honesty
The Dangerous Summer War Paint
user ratings (25)
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Observer
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2019


7035 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

I tried to post this as a soundoff but the site said I needed to write a review lol. So I decided to throw it down under an old alt of mine. Anyway, I highly recommend this for melodeath-insomnium fans.

Digging: Reuben - In Nothing We Trust

Metalicsound
August 27th 2019


6 Comments


Wow wow wow... Wolfheart delivered some of the best albums in melodic death metal, Shadow World is probably my fav. They are not a little band trying to copy Insomnium, they are the child of Before the Dawn, older than Be'lakor and probably old as Insomnium.
That sounds stupid to me to put them under Insomnium or Be'lakor.

Observer
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2019


7035 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

I respect your opinion, but I've never cared much for Wolfheart. While yes, they're an offshoot of Before the Dawn who are much older, that project was more goth melodeath whereas Wolfheart started pushing out albums in 2013 with a definite influence from the bands I mentioned.

NoHellsNoHeavens
August 27th 2019


91 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Its alright, but its not no 4.5.

Digging: Shabti - Trembling and Shorn

Observer
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2019


7035 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

idk man, this one carries sizable growth potential. I prob need to write an actual review.



MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2019


10117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'd like to read more about this, yeah. I don't get the sense this does anything different compared to the other acts you described outside of them I guess doing it better.



Name-dropping In Vain has me hooked, however.

Digging: WRVTH - No Rising Sun

Observer
Staff Reviewer
August 29th 2019


7035 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Oh i agree man, my little blob is little more than sound off-summary. And you might dig, but just keep in mind its definitely a somber affair. The band does pick it up on songs, but it's mainly a downward looking romp in feeling.



May write one out after i do Disillusion, but i certainly encourage anyone else to write if they want. Album has gotten a good reception so far, more coverage cant hurt. Opening two part song is definitely killer. What cleans they use are very, very well done (and placed).

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 29th 2019


10117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I certainly don't mind traversing through emotional depths so long as it's a compelling journey.

Observer
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2019


7035 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Seems you gave it a spin, glad it has your approval sir.

frozencarl
September 4th 2019


736 Comments


this is dope



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy