dying in designer
Nobody's Happy.


1.5
very poor

Review

by JesperL USER (16 Reviews)
August 17th, 2019 | 40 replies


Release Date: 08/16/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Yeah, I wonder why

I have always sucked at drawing. No matter how much time I spend on a drawing of anything realistic, it’ll turn out looking like absolute garbage. When I got forced into taking drawing classes in high school, I fought my way through by solely handing in ‘abstract’ works of art, since I was self aware of the fact that I couldn’t picture a realistic goat to save my life. Now, take this story, and imagine rapper Dying in Designer is me, and his music the realistic goat that would have turned out looking like a genetically modified cross between a demon and a platypus. It’s not pretty.

This beautiful analogy shows the main problem with Dying in Designer, real name Bobby O’Brien; a severe lack of self awareness. The Hopeless Record artist’s debut album Nobody’s Happy kicks off with the single ‘Pull It’, immediately showcasing the fact that O’Brien… can’t rap. Sure, he can semi-melodically say some nonsense over a decent beat the same way I have the ability to trace a line over a piece of paper, but that does not mean his vocals are pleasant to listen to in any way. To make matters worse, the lyrical content throughout the record is absolutely dreadful. O’Brien managed to fit the word ‘***’ into the aforementioned single a grand total of 25 times, with the delightful chorus telling us that: “Trash my room, I don’t give a *** / Crash my car, I don’t give a *** / *** your friends, I don’t give a *** / *** it all, I don’t give a ***”. It’s almost like he doesn’t give a ***!

Dying in Designer is obviously tapping into the post-Lil Peep wave of emo rappers, with songs like ‘Lately’, ‘Devil’s Callin’ and ‘PTSD’ (each of which released as a single prior to the album) featuring guitar lines reminiscent of artists such as nothing,nowhere. However, as opposed to that particular artist, it’s almost like O’Brien, in his own words, doesn’t give a ***. Every bit of live instrumentation feels tacked on, as if one of the many producers that worked on the album threw a royalty free sample into the mix because like, you know, it sounds kinda cool I guess. This sums up all instrumentation on Nobody’s Happy. Some beats are decent, but absolutely ruined by O’Brien’s obnoxious vocals. Some guitars sound somewhat pretty, but end up feeling absolutely forced and unnecessary, and, shocker, ruined by O’Brien’s vocals.

As awful as the music on Dying in Designer’s debut album might be, the lyrical content is dreadful to a whole new extent. Besides having the ability to say the word ‘***’ a lot, the wordsmith has some more tricks up his sleeve. He spends the majority of the record murmering on about how he wants to die, which obviously is not a good thing; no one should feel like that. However, the words surrounding every ‘I want to die’ are insanely shallow. On ‘Hopeless Romantic’, O’Brien wants to bleed out because a girl tested his patience. On ‘Highs’, O’Brien feels like dying because… well, who knows. On the track, he wonders “why’d you make that choice / that put us in this ***ing place?” without ever explaining what this choice entailed or in what place they ended up, making for some intensely vapid lyrical content. The only song on Nobody’s Happy that’s worth something is penultimate track ‘Worth’, primarily due to O’Brien finally opening up some more: “she had me a pill, she told me take it / just focus on the sex, forget about your ex”. On top of this, the instrumentation actually packs a surprising punch.

However, one decent song does not come close to making up for an absolutely awful record. If Dying in Designer has musical talent, it’s nowhere to be found on this album. The rapper is in desperate need of some self awareness, and if he finds it, perhaps his next record will be a solid abstract ambient project. Until then, and it’s a cheap shot; Nobody’s Happy.



Recent reviews by this author
Have Mercy The Love LifeFree Throw What's Past Is Prologue
Basement Beside MyselfDeaf Havana Rituals
Tancred NightstandCHVRCHES Love Is Dead
user ratings (25)
1.2
awful

Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
August 17th 2019


447 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

this is not good

nightbringer
August 17th 2019


613 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Yeah I listened to the first track on this and promptly turned it off.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 17th 2019


10117 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

This review is good, gave me a good chuckle sometimes too.



This album will probably bring the opposite effect. Off it goes into the 'avoid' pile.

Digging: WRVTH - No Rising Sun

WatchItExplode
August 17th 2019


7098 Comments


I knew from the artist name and album cover this would suck but wow is this one petulant little manchild.

JesperL
August 18th 2019


447 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

thanks mars!



and yeah don't listen to this unless you hate yourself

oltnabrick
August 19th 2019


37387 Comments


lil peep wannabe

Digging: Leviathan - Verrter

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 19th 2019


32091 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Great review. Love how you tore this to shreds (I did listen - it's awful) with a slightly humorous edge. Always makes reading about a bad album more entertaining when the writer can somewhat professionally make light of the piece's shortcomings.

Digging: Lana Del Rey - Norman Fucking Rockwell

hobblepot
August 19th 2019


2327 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

this new dying in designer album? not good.



awesome review, some of these tracks are guilty pleasures of mine, but on the whole this album is fucking garbage

Digging: Starset - Divisions

nightbringer
August 19th 2019


613 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Three blue albums on the front page at the moment. (More important to discuss than this album).

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2019


10117 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

"and yeah don't listen to this unless you hate yourself"



Crap, have to check it now.

JesperL
August 19th 2019


447 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

thanks so much sowing and sweeney, that's really lovely to hear!!



lol mars

TheGreatQ
August 19th 2019


2860 Comments


I actually like “Promises (Green Eyes)” but I don’t think I’m going to suffer through listening to anything else on here since every other single was trash.

Digging: Slothrust - Of Course You Do

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2019


10117 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

So uhm, "PTSD" for worst song of the year yeah?

BAT
August 19th 2019


726 Comments


checked out some video idk, this guys just basic bad, he also looks like late 30s but shaven

Asdfp277
August 19th 2019


21354 Comments


"he also looks like late 30s but shaven"

that's part of this genre's aesthetic me thinks

Lord(e)Po)))ts
August 19th 2019


44806 Comments


New contender for worst album art of the year

Digging: ((( O ))) - ((( 1 )))

alamo
August 19th 2019


1743 Comments


"No matter how much time I spend on a drawing of anything realistic, it’ll turn out looking like absolute garbage."

why its so hard for people to understand that drawing is a knowledge like any other, no one learns by spending a lot of time by themselves. you'd only be applying the amount of knowledge you already have instead of trying to figure out how other people who draw solve stuff

like if you want to know how organs work you pick up a biology book because its something that people already know, you dont go opening people up

Digging: O Terno -

SlothcoreSam
August 20th 2019


900 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Biggest try hard of the year.

Biggest f-bomb dropper for no reason other to appear cool.

Worst album of the hear.

Yep, worst album art of the year.

So many awards.

Digging: Western Settings - Another Year

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 20th 2019


10117 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

"why its so hard for people to understand that drawing is a knowledge like any other, no one learns by spending a lot of time by themselves. you'd only be applying the amount of knowledge you already have instead of trying to figure out how other people who draw solve stuff"



I mean, he said he took classes. Probably tried to learn stuff. Not everyone can be a drawer, just a fact of life.



Asdfp277
August 20th 2019


21354 Comments


damb



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy