Serpent Of Gnosis
As I Drink from the Infinite Well of Inebriation


4.0
excellent

Review

by Hawks USER (117 Reviews)
July 29th, 2019 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Skull fracturing deathgrind that will knock you into oblivion.

Serpent of Gnosis is a brand new band featuring members of Job for a Cowboy and The Black Dahlia Murder. Sometimes supergroups don’t go as planned. You expect something groundbreaking and just end up being disappointed in the end. That’s not the case with Serpent of Gnosis by any stretch of the imagination. Prepare to have your ears bleed in the most positive way possible my friends.

At it’s core, there’s not really any unique qualities to their debut album. What can be said is that it’s one of the most solid deathgrind albums that I’ve heard in recent memory. As with most grind albums, it doesn’t have much time to get the point across, but then again it doesn’t need much time at all. This album is 22 minutes of a brain bashing combination of technical riffs and blasts that will make you wonder what the hell just happened. Lightning fast is the best way to describe it without ever sounding redundant or stagnant in the slightest. Vocals are a combination of demonic death growls and ear piercing shrieks from JFAC vocalist Jonny Davy in one of his strongest performances to date.

Like I said, there’s not too much to be said about a 22 minute deathgrind album other than the fact that it will leave you feeling like you need reconstructive surgery. It’s short, it’s sweet and it will slaughter your soul. This is a supergroup that works and will be a force to be reckoned with in the future.



Recent reviews by this author
Akasha Canticles of the Sepulchral DeityCradle of Filth Thornography
Janusz Jurga HypnowaldAngelMaker AngelMaker
Misthyrming AlgleymiSterbend Dwelling Lifeless
user ratings (28)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
July 29th 2019


73061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Short review for a short, awesome album. m/

Digging: Dead Can Dance - The Serpent's Egg

MotokoKusanagi
July 29th 2019


1998 Comments


short and sweet review, glad to see Jonny Davy is back in action. i liked his side project Fleshwrought. bree bree bitches

Hawks
July 29th 2019


73061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Editing some grammatical errors now. Thanks bro!

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2019


9832 Comments


I like being beat up on occasion, is this the album for me?

Digging: The Offering - Home

Hawks
July 29th 2019


73061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

For sure bro. m/

cvlts
July 29th 2019


9610 Comments


Couple things about this album:

1. The layering done to Davy's vocals in this is straight dog shit.
2. "As I Drink from the Infinite Well of Inebriation" literally translates to "Getting Drunk At A Weddings Open Bar"

Digging: Seizures - Reverie of the Revolving Diamond

Hawks
July 29th 2019


73061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Vox rule my man.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2019


15511 Comments


succinct and sweet review, man

Digging: Slipknot - We Are Not Your Kind

Hawks
July 30th 2019


73061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks bro!

BigPleb
July 30th 2019


59554 Comments


Nice work Hawks, pos.

Davy's vox here are disgusting, love it.

Hawks
July 30th 2019


73061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yessss they’re so good.



Fuckin troll neg strikes again after Sowing just removed it. -_-

TheNotrap
July 30th 2019


11604 Comments


Guess I need to jam this skull fracturing deathgrind ;)

Have a pos bro

Digging: Humanity's Last Breath - Abyssal

Hawks
July 30th 2019


73061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You’ll love this bro.

TheNotrap
July 30th 2019


11604 Comments


Sounds massive

Hawks
July 30th 2019


73061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Its short but very sweet. m/

peekatoad
August 1st 2019


14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent album. Hoping JFAC releases something new soon



Edit: Review fits the length of the album as well; excellent

Hawks
August 1st 2019


73061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed!

Confessed2005
August 2nd 2019


4977 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like this album a lot. Good review bro.

Digging: Shinda Saibo No Katamari - Saibogu



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy