Chance the Rapper
The Big Day


2.0
poor

Review

by Slex CONTRIBUTOR (44 Reviews)
July 27th, 2019 | 141 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Looking back like a pillar of salt

When Chancellor Bennett first burst onto the scene, his come up was refreshingly charming-a hyperactive and omnivorous talent that contrasted the dire circumstances his beloved home state found itself mired in. When he expanded his range on the minor classic Acid Rap, adding emotional grit and contextual heft to his sticky lyrical acrobatics and galvanizing ad-libs, a new star had officially been coronated. Never mind that his appearance on Kanye’s ‘Ultralight Beam’ was endlessly labeled as his coming out party; to his already massive fan base, it was not an unveiling but an affirmation. That all seems like an eternity ago now, not least because the radical failings of The Big Day are so numerous but also far-reaching. There was a laundry list of red flags before one could even hear the album: a string of limp and uninspired singles; multiple instances of Chance irrationally lashing out at fans on social media; and the worst album rollout I’ve ever seen, which has been very quickly swept under the rug but involved the artist advertising an “album listening party” hosted and sponsored by Spotify in which he unceremoniously announced the album wasn’t coming out yet and only played one new song. These circumstances may not seem entirely important when it comes to the actual album we’ve been presented here, but Chance The Rapper has always marketed himself as a benevolent presence whose giddy personality was every bit as important as the music he makes, so be assured it’s criticism on the artist’s own terms.

This slowly derailing train has reached its end with the release of The Big Day. A grab bag clump of poor radio rap hooks, beige and alarmingly low energy production, and a truly baffling feature list that is glaringly absent of Chicago artists, another vital factor Chance has repeatedly hinged his entire career on, it’s a project dead on arrival. With a cynically Drakeonian runtime and not a whiff of cohesion, Chance presents 22 tracks of wildly clashing styles that go in one ear and out the other. I’d be willing to bet a limb that a significant number of these songs have the exact same beat of oscillating 808’s and hi-hats slightly re-worked. The times when The Rapper part of this whole bargain makes itself known are confounding in their rarity, as Chance mumbles his way through uninspired and corny lines. The guy ends his long-awaited debut on a grating verse from the queen of pop rap herself, Nikki Minaj, who mostly delivers lyrically but fails abysmally with her obnoxiously erratic flow. Remember when it was Chance The Rapper’s moment, and nobody else could speak" That ship has long sunk now, and just as well: the bloated, arrogant and lifeless The Big Day presents an artist with nothing to say.



Recent reviews by this author
Young Thug So Much Funglass beach the first glass beach album.
State Faults ClairvoyantPalehound Black Friday
Jambinai ONDAGlassing Spotted Horse
user ratings (166)
Chart.
1.8
poor
other reviews of this album
Rowan5215 STAFF (2.4)
"you can fall much faster than you think you can"...

BlushfulHippocrene STAFF (4)
...

related reviews

Coloring Book

Acid Rap

Comments:Add a Comment 
Slex
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2019


7866 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

This hurt to write

Kept it short because unlike this album, I respect your time

Digging: We Are Only Human Once - The Prettiest Boys in Town

SowingSeason
Moderator
July 27th 2019


31928 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Great review, this was my first and possibly last CtR experience.

Digging: Off With Their Heads - Be Good

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2019


7866 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

That’s so sad because it’s going to be like that for a lot of people now and his older work is so so inspired

luci
July 27th 2019


11499 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

nice writeup, this doesn't deserve a longer word count. worst album I've heard this year, want to erase from memory

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2019


7866 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

I’d say it’s one of the worst mainstream rap albums I’ve heard this decade honestly, though his prior work goes a long way towards me making that statement

Gyromania
July 27th 2019


28202 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

sowing: definitely check out acid rap before you throw in the towel. still an amazing record, despite how dogshit this is.



great review, alex.

luci
July 27th 2019


11499 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

you didn't mention coloring book at all, which is a bit surprising since it fits on the timeline of his descent. this is like an even cornier version of that record, with the jesus worship replaced with hokey marriage bars

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2019


7866 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Coloring Book has grown on me A LOT, I think it’s really good

Also thx Gyro < 3

Gyromania
July 27th 2019


28202 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

yeah i really dislike the jesus worship on colouring book but i still think it's between the 3.5-4 range. definitely some very strong cuts overall. i really didn't expect to dislike this as much as i do

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2019


7866 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

I had a bad feeling going into this but it’s still much much worse than I could have anticipated

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2019


9930 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Short and concise, nicely written my man. I have zero intention to listen to this unless morbid curiosity beckons.

Digging: Sparrows - Failed Gods

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2019


7866 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Mars just listen to “Hot Shower”



(Which is GARBAGE but has actually grown on me in a this-is-so-bad-it’s-entertaining sort of way)

hesperus
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2019


1116 Comments


“Drakeonian”
nice

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2019


7866 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Proud of that one lol

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2019


16639 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Man I was afraid this was gonna be a Sputnik-only hatred but it seems like everyone is disappointed in this

luci
July 27th 2019


11499 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

1.91 avg on rym with 800 ratings

have a feeling critics will praise this and it will come across as nonsensical to everyone

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2019


16639 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"so be assured it’s criticism on the artist’s own terms"

o u c h

luci
July 27th 2019


11499 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

"I don't want nobody to be at my wedding, that won't be there for my marriage"

lamest rap lyric ever

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
July 27th 2019


56891 Comments


the big gay

Drifter
July 27th 2019


16002 Comments


Sowing listen to Acid Rap. That album is amazing.

Also this is a great review slex (:



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy