Mass of the Fermenting Dregs
Mass of the Fermenting Dregs


4.0
excellent

Review

by TheSupernatural USER (17 Reviews)
May 10th, 2019 | 13 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I don't know what it means, but let's celebrate!

I’ll get the obvious out of the way: Mass of the Fermenting Dregs is a Japanese band and their lyrics are all in Japanese. As someone who doesn’t understand Japanese, I have little concept of what the album intends to say or represent. However, since I’m someone who doesn’t normally listen for lyrics, this isn’t a drawback for me. There is plenty to get excited about with this self-titled EP as far as the music goes.

The album opens up with a danceable drum beat and bass rhythm, brings in some sweet (if not melancholic) melodies, and goes full-throttle in the chorus with distorted guitars. It’s not a groundbreaking statement, but it sets the stage for what listeners can expect throughout the EP. It’s going to be fast, fun, and full of passion. The highlights of the first half of the album come with some delightfully textured guitar and bass tones, reminiscent of 90s shoegaze. When the effects get dialed up, Mass of the Fermenting Dregs love to break out from the regular structure of the song and play without inhibition.

Without understanding a word of this, the personality of the band still feels palpable. The music is a celebration, even in its weighty moments like the moody instrumental “Endroll.” At nearly 10 minutes, the track reigns in its brooding and temperamental introduction by building it to a melodic climax, carried by a wordless soaring vocal melody. It might just be a jam track, but the entire piece is crafted to perfection. On a personal level, it mixes so many elements of my favorite Thrice outros that I can’t help but smile.

For a band from an entirely different culture and part of the world, Mass of the Fermenting Dregs don’t really sound foreign to my ears. Outside of the language, there’s virtually nothing on this EP that would be out of place on an American or British alternative rock album. Throughout its length, they demonstrate a reverence for the musical styles they utilize. The thick, dense guitar tones and frantic, chaotic rhythms are what make this work memorable, and they appear to be the focus of the band. No matter what the lyrics are, the music translates as a celebration of passion.



Recent reviews by this author
FEVER 333 Strength In Numb333rsThrice Palms
Glassjaw Material ControlParabelle The Kill Plan
The Sidekicks Runners in the Nerved WorldIn This Moment Black Widow
user ratings (107)
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSupernatural
May 10th 2019


2038 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So here's my review for this year's Review a Random Album game. I wasn't quite sure how to approach the review because I don't have any strong feelings about what I heard, other than really enjoying it. But sometimes I think that's enough.

Tyler.
May 10th 2019


17517 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this has a thread finally nice

anarchistfish
May 10th 2019


27876 Comments


Dis good

Digging: Knocked Loose - A Different Shade of Blue

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
May 10th 2019


17254 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yesssssss nice write-up (pos'd even though you didn't mention the GOAT track in the second half ;]). Never thought about Thrice outros in Endroll but can kinda hear that now

Digging: Yeule - Serotonin II

50iL
May 10th 2019


5268 Comments


Nice rev, although I would've liked you to talk about the music itself more. Like, I have very bare ideas of what this is just from the review.

Digging: Eddie Palmieri - Unfinished Masterpiece

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
May 10th 2019


17254 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Easy way to fix that ;]

If this and World is Yours had been released as an LP with rearranged sequencing, it would have been an aoty contender in whichever year

brainmelter
May 10th 2019


6694 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

crazy this didn’t have a review till now

Digging: Evigt Morker - 1

FadedSun
May 10th 2019


2128 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Need to revisit this album. I always liked it, but after repeated listens I felt it always sounded a bit..muddy? Maybe it was the quality of the download I had at the time.

TheSupernatural
May 10th 2019


2038 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I had to hear it on Youtube and it did sound a bit muddy but I think I'm okay with that.



>Nice rev, although I would've liked you to talk about the music itself more. Like, I have very bare ideas of what this is just from the review.



Do you just mean the genre or how the band approaches the genre? I feel like the former isn't really necessary in most review, but I tried to approach the latter by describing it rather than just listing genres that it kinda sounds like. But it's tough with this, because it's clearly heavily influenced by specific genres like post-hardcore and shoegaze. I get more into specifics in the music in my other reviews and I was trying to avoid it for this since I felt like I more summarizing what I heard rather than expressing a strong opinion on it.



I appreciate the critique though. I've written 17 of these reviews now and I can honestly say I only like 3 of them.

Archelirion
May 11th 2019


5901 Comments


this has a thread finally nice [2]

nice writeup man. It's a pain trying to think about how to write about something when you know you like it but there's not a lot else to latch on to, I feel that. Props that you managed to get something out which does do a good job of evaluating an experience :]

Flugmorph
May 11th 2019


21968 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

v nice

TheSpaceMan
May 12th 2019


12386 Comments


woooo a rev for this

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
October 16th 2019


17254 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album always sounds so fresh and exciting



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy