Solitude Aeturnus
Beyond the Crimson Horizon


4.5
superb

Review

by SitarHero CONTRIBUTOR (57 Reviews)
April 25th, 2019 | 56 replies


Release Date: 1992 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A near classic of progressive-minded, thrash-influenced doom metal

One of the most striking things about Solitude Aeternus’ sophomore effort is how not doomy it often sounds. The band have been frequently compared to Candlemass because of the power metal elements in their sound, particularly frontman Robert Lowe’s keening wail, which evokes classic metal frontmen much the same way Messiah Marcolin’s operatic flair sometimes did, but the comparison stops there. While Marcolin only sometimes took the stairs to the Halford-esque floors of his voice, Lowe—who would, incidentally, later front Candlemass from 2007 to 2012—basically lives in the penthouse of his own. Truth be told, this does wear a little thin after a while. Lowe certainly hits all his notes with conviction and power, but there’s simply not a lot of variation to them.

At the helm of a lesser band Lowe’s lack of variation would have been a serious drawback. However, the band around Lowe kicks up a ruckus that’s almost shockingly technically adept, and they offset any lack of variety in the vocal department by delivering plenty of their own. Every song on Beyond the Crimson Horizon takes turns pummelling you like a prizefighter, with its ponderously heavy doom sections, and slicing and slashing with ninja-like agility and speed during razor sharp thrashy sections that are replete with flashy shredding guitar solos and some well-placed neck-snapping time signature changes to boot. Then, just when you think the band have run out of surprises, they’ll throw out a delicate clean interlude to soothe the cuts and bruises. Mundane Black Sabbath worship this is not; Solitude Aeturnus have enough technical skill and creativity to evoke classic Metallica or Megadeth with their progressive edges very much intact.

When Solitude Aeturnus really hit their stride they delivers some smashing and complex arrangements buoyed by the sizzling fretwork of guitarists Edgar Rivera and John Perez and the battering grooves of drummer John Covington, and without even a hint of the self-indulgence that sometimes plagues both doom metal and progressive metal. “It Came Upon One Night” is particularly good at highlighting just how well the band seamlessly weave together their ominous half-time crawls with frenetic double-time freakouts, but it’s certainly not unique in this regard. It’s a little bit of a shame that Lowe isn’t quite able to consistently enhance the sterling music on display, but he also doesn’t get in its way, which is just as well. Even without a stellar vocal performance Beyond the Crimson Horizon is a near classic of progressive minded, thrash-influenced doom metal.



Recent reviews by this author
The Wildhearts Renaissance MenPeriphery Periphery IV: Hail Stan
Devin Townsend EmpathHarrison Lipton Loveliness
Hey Charlie Young and LonesomeFour Seconds Ago The Vacancy
user ratings (112)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
April 25th 2019


9443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is my review for Johnny's review game. Thanks to Egarran for the excellent nomination. This was a fun listen/write and it made me a fan of the band. m/

TheNotrap
April 25th 2019


10658 Comments


Nice review as always SH

Their debut is quite solid. I honestly don’t remember if I heard this one

Digging: Deathspell Omega - Si Monvmentvm Reqvires Circvmspice

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
April 25th 2019


9443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man! :]



I'd never listened to the band before this but I did end up checking out the debut and I quite prefer this one. The song arrangements are more concise and the production is better.

Egarran
April 25th 2019


10090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That is a great review. I especially liked "ominous half-time crawls with frenetic double-time freakouts", fuck yes I didn't know there were words for those things.

That groove in Plague of Procreation makes me drool every time.



As for Lowe, I started with Darkest Hour and although I loved the music instantly, it took me some time to get used to his power vocals.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
April 25th 2019


9443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha! Yeah there are some monstrous grooves on this thing. Which makes sense, because if you average out their doomy tendencies with their thrashy tendencies they're basically a groove metal band. xD

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 25th 2019


14176 Comments


Niiiiice glad you dug your random album so much!! This sounds really cool, haven't felt remotely doom-inclined for literal years but am tempted to check...

Digging: Otoboke Beaver - Itekoma Hits

Casavir
April 25th 2019


3452 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks for reviewing something that's actually good.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
April 25th 2019


9443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lol! I had a feeling you'd chime in Cas, considering your love for subpar vocals. xD

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
April 25th 2019


9443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Johnny, I'm not normally doom inclined either, but this was pretty fresh!

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
April 25th 2019


8322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album stream:

http://musicmp3.ru/artist_solitude-aeturnus__album_beyond-the-crimson-horizon.html



Great review for an album that desperately needed one.



Power/doom metal is slowly coming back.

Digging: Minuit Machine - Infrarouge

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
April 25th 2019


9443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That would be a refreshing change. Seems to me that here in the US doom metal is shorthand for metal played by people too lazy to learn how to properly play their instruments or sing.

rockandmetaljunkie
April 25th 2019


7867 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, most bands prefer the stoner/doom sound nowadays which is certainly far easier to play. And they don't even try to evolve and take that sound to the next level.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
April 25th 2019


11672 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

At last! The review game always includes some great choices.

Digging: Arch/Matheos - Winter Ethereal

SlicePaperMoog
April 25th 2019


1263 Comments


"Seems to me that here in the US doom metal is shorthand for metal played by people too lazy to learn how to properly play their instruments or sing."

Well Type O Negative and Danzig are American so no.

TheNotrap
April 25th 2019


10658 Comments


Sorcerer did a fine job of raising the genre to another level Rock

rockandmetaljunkie
April 25th 2019


7867 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also, Lowe's vox here is almost perfect. He never sounded that good ever again.

rockandmetaljunkie
April 25th 2019


7867 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sorcerer is an old band who just so happened to emerge in this day and age. I'm talking about bands who formed the last decade. Crypt Sermon is an example but they belong in the minority.

rockandmetaljunkie
April 25th 2019


7867 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sitar, check their next album if you haven't. Their most unique and personal endeavour. Has influences ranging from black sabbath to alice in chains. Great album.

TheNotrap
April 25th 2019


10658 Comments


I understood your point, my comment focused only on the "next level" within the genre

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
April 25th 2019


9443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Also, Lowe's vox here is almost perfect. He never sounded that good ever again."

Lowe certainly has a great voice, but he doesn't use it well enough, IMO. He sounds great when he switches up the high pitch wailing with some lower pitched crooning during the clean sections of Seeds of the Desolate and Beneath the Fading Sun as well as the snarl he has during "It Came Upon One Night". That sort of thing doesn't happen nearly often enough though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy