Lomelda
M For Empathy


4.0
excellent

Review

by Slex CONTRIBUTOR (45 Reviews)
March 7th, 2019 | 11 replies


Release Date: 03/01/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Magic

M For Empathy is a 16 minute epiphany, an emotional odyssey in short-form. Hannah Reed has whittled these songs down to their basest components, but they sound strikingly full; quietly ascendant piano shimmering just behind resplendent acoustic guitar, a synth here, some slide notes there. It would all seem off the cuff if the silence weren't so achingly human, if the lyrics weren't so open and revelatory. 'Bust' is all gorgeous counter-melodies as Reed intones 'I thought of so many things to say to you', dewy piano plinks joining as she laments repeatedly 'But what were they?' The song momentarily flattens until Reed, now with that probing piano in the foreground, adds the transformative 'to you?, ending immediately afterwards. It's these small gestures combined with these far-reaching revelations that give such a brief project its potent staying power. Reed sums it up so perfectly herself, stating 'Much of it came to me, or out of me, out of a deepening silence. It let me voice again. It also let me not, only singing as much as I wanted, which is important too.' Despite its brevity, it is anything but abrupt, fully formed and filled with enough nuance and growth to support an album triple its length. Nothing lost, not a second wasted, the silence speaking volumes.



Recent reviews by this author
Lana Del Rey Norman Fucking RockwellYoung Thug So Much Fun
glass beach the first glass beach album.Chance the Rapper The Big Day
State Faults ClairvoyantPalehound Black Friday
user ratings (20)
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2019


7998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Short write-up for a short album

This deserves more attention

Digging: Blood Cultures - Oh Uncertainty! A Universe Despairs

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2019


3015 Comments


Ooo. Really nice write-up, dude. Ashamedly, listened to this a couple times, loved it, and probably wouldn't have returned if not for this review. I'll keep going, though, need it to dig its hooks or something.

Digging: Ruston Kelly - Dying Star

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2019


7998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's definitely very fleeting so I understand it not making a huge impact on some people but it just did the trick for me

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2019


10117 Comments


Very well done my man. Really captures the essence of this accriactely in such a small space. Great descriptions

Digging: WRVTH - No Rising Sun

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2019


7998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really appreciate that friend, thank ya



I gotta finish listening to yr dig, very interesting stuff from what I heard

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 7th 2019


32075 Comments


Good review for being so succinct. This is the last time I'll try to sell you on full-width question marks (?) over those clunky red ones, though.

Digging: Lana Del Rey - Norman Fucking Rockwell

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2019


7998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cool gracias fixed

HypedMerchant
March 8th 2019


528 Comments


I lived like ten minutes away from Silsbee for 8 years until about a month ago, not a fan of this though

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
March 9th 2019


16740 Comments


ooooh looks nice

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 9th 2019


7998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I think might be yr kind of thing, ya should give it a shot, not a big time investment lol

Cormano
March 24th 2019


1557 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

why did she decide to go all frankie cosmos on us

i really dig like half of this but then the other does little to nothing for me



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy