Somn
The All-Devouring


3.5
great

Review

by Slex USER (31 Reviews)
February 5th, 2019 | 26 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A furious debut that displays purpose and promise in equal measure.

Somn isn't going to show you anything you haven't seen before, and that's okay. The band decidedly favors catharsis over construction, presenting a claustrophobic and furious debut of very solid black metal. It's strange; it's admittedly a little difficult to talk in-depth about these songs, but I get the feeling that that's by design, that the band's relatively no-frills and broad approach to the genre is in service of a pure minded emotional cleansing. The All-Devouring is one of the more aggressive and elemental releases I've heard in the genre lately, accumulating power through blunt force to become more than the sum of its parts.

Featuring some astounding drumming and relentless walls of roiling guitar combined with an unhinged vocal performance of visceral impact, this album's resting heart rate tends to be 'absolute bedlam'. The softer moments, while nothing special or innovative, are wholly necessary, acting as a merciful balm. Somn have crafted a promising and always engaging debut, and it's exciting to think of what the band can accomplish if they can broaden their horizons musically while still remaining so pure of purpose emotionally. In the meantime, what we have here is plenty potent itself.



Recent reviews by this author
La Dispute PanoramaGatsby's American Dream Gatsby's American Dream
Lomelda M For EmpathyThe National Trouble Will Find Me
Default Genders main pop girl 2019Black Thought Streams of Thought, Vol. 1
user ratings (21)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Slex
February 5th 2019


6201 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nothing too special but this is seriously solid and deserves a little bit more attention



Digging: Shin Guard - 2020

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2019


9384 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I gave this a spin for the first time today, finding it quite enjoyable

DarkNoctus
February 5th 2019


10735 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

yeah this is coo'

Digging: Mustan Kuun Lapset - Valo

Slex
February 5th 2019


6201 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah this rules, definitely leaves an impression

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2019


8229 Comments


Great album indeed and a good, emotionally rich start for these guys.

Review could've been more descriptive regarding the album.

DungeonBoy
February 5th 2019


5607 Comments


Nice to see a review for this, was digging what I heard

Here's the full album:

https://somnband.bandcamp.com/

Digging: Vehemence (FRA) - Par le sang versé

Slex
February 5th 2019


6201 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I'm still branching out into reviewing metal @Voivod, I'll probably revisit this review today or tomorrow and add in more description. Glad people are digging the album tho!

Evok
February 5th 2019


7671 Comments


Sounds like a party. Awesome review.

Digging: ETCH - Ups & Downs

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2019


8876 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Checked this out because Show Me a Dinosaur name-dropped them on their Facebook. Wasn't too impressed, just a nice dose of post-black metal. Not bad, but don't see myself returning to it.

Digging: Ni - Pantophobie

DungeonBoy
February 5th 2019


5607 Comments


Show Me a Dinosaur...

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2019


8876 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Very good post-black metal act, if you haven't heard of them. Worth a check if that fusion appeals to you!

brainmelter
February 5th 2019


6267 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is better than Show me a Dinosaur

Digging: Aethyrvorous - Demo

Slex
February 5th 2019


6201 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll have to check Show Me A Dinosaur

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2019


8876 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Their 2016 release was a favorite of mine. I def recommend it

zaruyache
February 5th 2019


20533 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

not quite the sunbather i'd hoped it woulda been but still quite solid post-black metal.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2019


15065 Comments


Nice short write up Fred (sorry, Slex ;))

How did this escape my grasp. Will check.

Digging: Deafkids - Metaprogramação

Slex
February 5th 2019


6201 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Appreciate it! I randomly found these guys on YouTube and my appetite for pretty much any kind of heavy music is obsessive right now so yuh

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2019


15065 Comments


If you wanna check more black metal from last month you could give Mo'ynoq a shot. They are pretty good.

Slex
February 5th 2019


6201 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Definitely will do, I'll shoutbox ya what I think

teamster
February 9th 2019


3886 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The new Anomalie EP is good too dudes ...

Digging: Vaura - Sables



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy