Bring Me The Horizon
Amo


1.0
awful

Review

by Pagepage251 USER (12 Reviews)
January 29th, 2019 | 82 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It's official. As it stands, this band's best quality its name.

I don’t dislike Bring Me The Horizon. I don’t necessarily enjoy their music, but it’s always seemed to have a purpose. It had a reason to exist. When I go back and listen to albums like “That’s The Spirit” or “Count Your Blessings”, I can see the niche that’s being filled, and I can easily identify the redeeming qualities that those albums have. There was a point to them. If nothing else, there was some legitimate effort that was put into these albums, regardless of how good they ended up being. Somebody cared when making these.

Which begs the question: Why❓Why did this album need to exist. What purpose does Amo serve❓Well, here’s the kicker. There isn’t. When I listen to this album, it truly perplexes me. I cannot understand why it had to exist, save for a purely monetary standpoint. I almost can’t even think of what to say about this album, because despite its 51 minute runtime, there’s literally nothing here.

For an album to be good, it first and foremost needs to have been made by people that wanted to make a good album. Technical prowess, or ability to pander to mainstream audiences mean absolutely nothing if nobody wanted to make something decent. That’s why albums like “Origin” by Imagine Dragons, or “Trench” by Twenty One Pilots are technically decent, but are still godawful. No one involved gave a ***, and it shows.

And that issue is multiplied to the nth degree with Amo. This album feels like it came off of an assembly line, and into your innocent, unsuspecting ears. Throughout the entirety of this LP, one theme permeates through, and that central idea is “*** you.” And when I say that, I don’t mean “*** you” in the way that bands like Nirvana, RAGTM, or Cross Dog say it. It’s more to the tune of “We didn’t care about making this album, but we’re gonna get your money anyways.”


And that truly is how it feels. There is not a single aspect of this album that stands out in any way. There’s no redeeming qualities, and absolutely nothing about it that’s bad enough to make it memorable. It’s the musical equivalent of Justice League, or Walmart. No love went into this heaping pile of dog ***. This is not an album. This is a product at best, and a tax evasion scheme at worse. Don’t listen to this album if you’re a fan of BMTH. Don’t listen to this album ironically. Just don’t.



Recent reviews by this author
Zebrahead Waste Of MFZBAerosmith Just Push Play
Zoo Trippin' Kids These DaysBlack Tide Light From Above
Wolfmother Cosmic EggNickelback All the Right Reasons
user ratings (484)
Chart.
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Pagepage251
January 29th 2019


51 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

all i feel is an awkward mix of hatred and indifference, and I didn't even know that this was an emotion i was capable of.

AgentDeathbat
January 29th 2019


9596 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Can you go one review without setting off the Sputnik swear alarm or becoming overly ranty for the sake of it? Jesus Christ.

Digging: Attalus - Into the Sea

Pagepage251
January 29th 2019


51 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

heck

Lucman
January 29th 2019


2104 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

This is getting out of hand now....

Digging: Dirge (FR) - Elysian Magnetic Fields

AgentDeathbat
January 29th 2019


9596 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

and I heard word that another 2 review is coming for this. Holy fucking Christ.

sixdegrees
January 29th 2019


5685 Comments


can I get a second opinion

Digging: Cock and Ball Torture - Sadochismo

Lucman
January 29th 2019


2104 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Geez, why bother? It already has three pages worth of the exact same thing. And honestly even I think the unbridled hate is not justified.

AgentDeathbat
January 29th 2019


9596 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@Luc: FOR REAL. William and Nocte had the only good negative reviews for this album, all the rest have been garbage.

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2019


56405 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Think you might be a bit





B I A S E D there bud

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 29th 2019


15043 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

How many angry BMTH fans have still not written their review. Please, raise your hand.

Digging: Elizabeth Colour Wheel - Nocebo

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
January 29th 2019


9384 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Can’t tell if this is pure satire or a terribly written review.



I haven’t negged because I barely vote, but did this even go through a Word doc (or similar)?

GhostB1rd
January 29th 2019


2655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"As it stands, this band's best quality its name."

Storm In A Teacup
January 29th 2019


26339 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

whoever write this review all i can say is this type of thinking could do us in

AgentDeathbat
January 29th 2019


9596 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice chevelle reference m/

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
January 29th 2019


14655 Comments


Why❓

PyramidNoise
January 29th 2019


261 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This wasn't a review. This was just complaining.

Digging: Venom Prison - Samsara

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 29th 2019


15043 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

No shit brother.

MyTasteSucks
January 29th 2019


9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Damn this album has sparked some terrible reviews

kalkwiese
January 29th 2019


2703 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Exactly. Your taste sucks btw

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
January 29th 2019


12997 Comments


Awful album, even more awful review.
"I cannot understand why it had to exist"
In that case, you shouldn't be writing about it; this isn't an opinion that's going to better inform anyone

Digging: BUCK-TICK - Atom Miraiha No.9



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy