Bring Me The Horizon
Amo


2.0
poor

Review

by AriDoe USER (5 Reviews)
January 25th, 2019 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Bring Me The Horizon come full circle on 'Amo' embracing electropop but failing to do anything interesting or enjoyable with their new sound.

Bring Me The Horizon are not a band that are unfamiliar with drastic shifts to their sound. After all, 2015's 'That's The Spirit' effectively divided their fanbase in two with its shift from the band's earlier metalcore and deathcore outings to a more radio friendly, alternative rock style. 'Amo' continues this path towards radio appeal by embracing pop music fully, but much like it's predecessor, it sounds stale, dated, and insincere.

Whether it be the electropop of "Nihilist Blues," which sounds like it could have been produced by Avicci back in 2014, the Maroon 5 esque radio funk of "In The Dark," or "Medicine" which legitimately sounds like an edgier 1975 track, BMTH struggle to find any sense of identity in their new sound. Most of these songs just seemingly copy and paste from other successful pop rock acts instead of owning the style for themselves. Remember a couple years back when singer Oli Sykes had a minor feud with Coldplay frontman Chris Martin" Now BMTH are ripping Coldplay off with opening track "I Apologize if You Feel Something" being an almost blatant copy of Coldplay's Ghost Stories era style.

Speaking of Oli Sykes, his vocal performance on 'Amo' leaves a lot to be desired too. His singing is often drenched in reverb, outdated autotune, and other effects that are clearly there to disguise the fact that the man just can't sing very well. To be fair, he has suffered legitimate damage to his vocal chords in the past when he was still screaming and growling, but the vocals on 'Amo' sound like he's not even attempting to put in a decent performance, relying too much on studio effects to make himself sound passable as a pop singer. His lyrics aren't much better either, as he still relies on the same tired heartbroken lyrical tropes as he has for the last decade, with edgy usage of profanity thrown in likely to appeal to their primarily teenage fanbase.

'Amo' isn't totally without redeemable qualities, songs like lead single "Mantra" and "Wonderful Life" invoke the same feelings as the heavier cuts on their previous record. Most importantly, they actually sound like Bring Me The Horizon, not Bring Me The Horizon trying to imitate other artists. "Heavy Metal" also tries to sound like a throwback to their heavier days but utterly fails with its phoned in breakdown, cringe worthy lyrics, and unfitting feature from the supremely overqualified Rahzel.

'Amo' isn't a disappointing album because it's "soft" or "poppy," its a disappointing one because its lacks originality and depth. Plenty of formerly heavy bands have made pop albums while still retaining a sense of identity- just look at Ulver. To be fair, BMTH were never the most original band, and they never particularly excelled at the various styles of music they played, whether that style was sloppy deathcore ala 'Count Your Blessings' or the slick metalcore of 'There Is a Hell...' but those records at least had genuine heart, and the latter even demonstrated that the band can actually be somewhat creative and forward thinking. 'Amo' doesn't have heart, its not creative or fresh sounding in any way, it's just a lazy attempt at capturing more commercial appeal from a band who may be destined for even more massive popularity, but who's artistic peaks are well behind them.


user ratings (484)
Chart.
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
AriDoe
January 24th 2019


192 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The other negative review is really bad, so I thought I'd actually explain why this album isn't good

AgentDeathbat
January 24th 2019


9596 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll be honest: it genuinely seems like you put this together in 15 minutes and didn't care to expound on your opinion here. Not as good as your previous reviews, sorry. It's better than that horrendous 1 review, but that's comparing turds.

Digging: Attalus - Into the Sea

Inx5
January 25th 2019


32 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

@AgentDeathbat That 1/5 "review" doesn't even qualify as a review. It's just a bunch of sentences, whining about the album just to get some attention, because it's common and even popular to hate on bands or artists that have gone softer.

PS, I'm not defending this album.

AgentDeathbat
January 25th 2019


9596 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Makes sense @Inx5

artiswar
January 25th 2019


6865 Comments


Is this album titled after what it's providing critics?

AgentDeathbat
January 25th 2019


9596 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

artiswar DEMOLISHES BMTH with FACTS and LOGIC and SHITTY PUNS oooooohhhhh

artiswar
January 25th 2019


6865 Comments


come on that pun was at least 6/10

AgentDeathbat
January 25th 2019


9596 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's like the laziest shit you could've came up with, lmao

AgentDeathbat
January 25th 2019


9596 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

also, I gotta love the fact that the author of this review legitimately thinks I negged this out of disagreement, AND took back her pos for mine over me not liking her review. Like jesus christ how petty can you get

EDIT: 6000th comment wasted. FML.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
January 25th 2019


3920 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Review ist Gut. Album is entirely forgettable.



Edit: And that depthless guitar tone, yuck yuck yuck.



Edit2: Actually production on this is sterile af in general.

Digging: Stella Donnelly - Beware Of The Dogs

SowingSeason
Moderator
January 25th 2019


29876 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

but much like it's predecessor

*its



but who's artistic peaks

*whose



Otherwise decent review. Not a big fan of write-ups that claim a band "ripped off another band", because everything is derivative of something, but in this case I assume it's egregious enough to warrant the accusation.



ZombieToyDuck
January 25th 2019


7074 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

curious where you sit on this one sowing, you may really dig this

kalkwiese
January 25th 2019


2708 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sugar Honey Ice & Men

AriDoe
January 25th 2019


192 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

@sowing yeah I try to avoid accusing bands of ripping off other artists unless its /really/ blatant and obvious and I think it is here.

I swear I'll never get my "its" and my "whose" right

TheWonderSoFar
January 25th 2019


3707 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah idk the bands you’re saying they’re ripping off are huge stretches to call straight copies but you do you

Digging: Van Halen - Women and Children First

AgentDeathbat
January 25th 2019


9596 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@Wonder: Holy shit, I did not expect that rating coming.

TheWonderSoFar
January 25th 2019


3707 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Honestly the edm and pop stuff here is mostly ace. Only low points for me are Heavy Metal and Wonderful Life. All of the singles grew on me (even Wonderful Life a little bit). That and I love when bands experiment and change-up their sound and still nail it so they get instant kudos for that.

AgentDeathbat
January 25th 2019


9596 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@Wonder: Yeah, I'm surprised they grew so quick too, but tbh the songs felt out of place as singles. they work better as a cohesive unit so it makes sense.

AriDoe
January 25th 2019


192 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The album just doesnt have any identity of its own *shrugs*

AriDoe
January 25th 2019


192 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

When i listen to an album like The Spark i can hear it and immediately say "yeah thats Enter Shikari," even if its a pop album. This legitimately sounds like im listening a band trying to copy top 40 pop acts. Besides when Medicine dropped the entire press was making Imagine Dragons comparisons, so its not exactly a huge jump.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy