Coheed and Cambria
Vaxis - Act I: The Unheavenly Creatures


4.0
excellent

Review

by Xenophanes STAFF
October 11th, 2018 | 24 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Welcome Home

Full disclosure: I feel that Coheed and Cambria have released three stone cold classic albums (and an equal number of terrible ones) but I couldn’t tell you one thing about The Amory Wars. I’d like to think Claudio is literally singing about mayonnaise, but know I it’s clearly something space-related. That being said, Coheed and Cambria are clearly at their best when diving head-first into their disjointed mythos, with a series of prequels and non-canon records yielding a decade of false starts and dead-ends. Unheavenly Creatures (if the physical packaging doesn’t use that absurd full title then I’m not going to either) is a continuation of the story which started with Second Stage Turbine Blade and, musically, it feels just like it, too. After 10 years, Unheavenly Creatures brings Coheed back home.

Being the truest Coheed album in quite some time Unheavenly Creatures is billowing with content. At 80-minutes it’s too long, too unwieldy, and too indulgent, but it’s Claudio operating at peak cheese—seven-minute power-romps sweep wildy, build higher and higher, and end with boisterous one liners that would make your eyes roll were it written by anyone else. Hell, there’s an entire song built upon rhyming “boy” with “toy” as well as one titled “Love Protocol.” Said with enough conviction and backed with a catchy hook, even lines like “The soundtrack placed over this heart/ It shares no rhythm of mine” can be anthemic and sincere. Some of its triumphs have been done better in other albums, with “The Dark Sentencer” failing to match its progenitors “Welcome Home” and “No World for Tomorrow.” Soulful ballads have been excised, multi-part suites are gone, and the band is on 10 the entire time. But when lofty chorus kicks in at the end of “Black Sunday” it doesn’t really matter. When the multi-layered vocals in “Night-Time Walkers” start waxing camp, it doesn’t really matter. And when “The Gutter” really kicks in gear with a rollicking Brian May-style guitar solo, it doesn’t matter. Coheed’s latest disappoints in all the expected ways, but it kicks ass just as you’d expect, and in every way that matters.



Recent reviews by this author
Chapel of Disease ...and as We Have Seen the Storm, We Have EmbracedSigh Heir to Despair
URSA Abyss Between the StarsCult Leader A Patient Man
Daughters You Won't Get What You WantSUMAC Love In Shadow
user ratings (239)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Thompson D. Gerhart STAFF (4)
A fluid collection of top-notch signature singles that espouses self-influence without self-indulgen...

Rowan5215 STAFF (4)
ok this is epic...

btpw (3.5)
Not what I hoped it would be, but still another strong effort in an impressive back catalog....

Balto (4.5)
"Welcome Home."...


Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Moderator
October 11th 2018


28692 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can't say for certain why this isn't showing up under staff reviews. I tried forcing a refresh of the site content but no luck. Maybe the site is onto our bullshit.

Digging: Madeline Kenney - Perfect Shapes

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2018


344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

but I couldn’t tell you one thing about The Amory Wars




you know enough to know that its Amory instead of Armory, so i'd say you have a leg up on most

Snake.
October 11th 2018


21106 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

do people actually call it the armory wars lmfao

Digging: Space Camp - Inevitable Demise

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2018


344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i can't tell you how many times i've seen that online

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
October 12th 2018


9122 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can't say for certain why this isn't showing up under staff reviews.




You guys hit the limit haha

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2018


40850 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

we're here



to catch



THE BOMB



bumped because this album is superb in the car

Digging: Earl Sweatshirt - Some Rap Songs

AtomicWaste
Moderator
October 12th 2018


2785 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Age of Adz pt. dos HERE WE COME

WatchItExplode
October 12th 2018


6105 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've never actually met someone who tries to follow Claudio's stories or buys the comics etc. It has never hampered my enjoyment of their stellar earlier albums.





Digging: The Glands - The Glands

AtomicWaste
Moderator
October 12th 2018


2785 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I have the SSTB trade that covers that whole story arc in the comic. It does help to read/see some things, but the enjoyment of the music is mostly independent of the comics for me. And most of the time the comics just add a story you never would've thought of listening to the music anyway. For example, somehow 33 is about Josephine's boyfriend, Patrick, driving for his life to get away from monsters. "33" is his license plate number. Go figure.

Kalopsia
October 15th 2018


2957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"I've never actually met someone who tries to follow Claudio's stories or buys the comics etc. It has never hampered my enjoyment of their stellar earlier albums. "



^yep, I love the shit out of Coheed but dgaf about following the story beyond what I can glean from the lyrics themselves or doing any homework

Storm In A Teacup
October 16th 2018


24769 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"I’d like to think Claudio is literally singing about mayonnaise"



it's a great feeling

jmh886
October 16th 2018


2174 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

man this kinda drags doesn't it?

SandorClegane
October 17th 2018


206 Comments


Claudio's vocal tone and inflection severely impede me from taking 90% of their material seriously. It's been 10 years and I cannot get over it.

SmurkinGherkin
October 17th 2018


1838 Comments


Is this a good place to start with these guys?

Kalopsia
October 17th 2018


2957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Is this a good place to start with these guys?"



god no.

start with their first 3 albums, then go from there.

Dettlaff
October 22nd 2018


193 Comments


Start with their first 3 and then stop.

Confessed2005
October 23rd 2018


4518 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album takes a lot of digesting but it is definitely their best since Good Apollo I'm Burning Star IV.

Dettlaff
October 23rd 2018


193 Comments


That isn't saying much.

Kalopsia
October 24th 2018


2957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

and also isn't true.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2018


23920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I really dig a couple tracks but it's just too long for its own good imo

Digging: Pistol Annies - Interstate Gospel



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy