The Nietzsche
Finals.


4.5
superb

Review

by ScrantonStrangler USER (2 Reviews)
August 31st, 2018 | 53 replies


Release Date: 09/01/2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Living in a post-TDEP world

There was a certain vacuum created on December 29th, 2017, the last time The Dillinger Escape Plan went on stage. Since then many tried to fill this vacuum and many failed, but some succeeded. This is the story about the one that didn’t fail.

I was lucky enough to get this EP beforehand from the band’s singer Eugene, who was conducting a viral media campaign to generate some hype before the release. I’ve already listened to Finals. like couple dozen times and now I’m ready to review it, I didn’t want to just post it on my Facebook page and decided to come here, the place I’ve been lurking for many years and I know that many of you may actually like it (both my writing and the band).

The Nietzsche is an odd ball. They play a pretty heavy dramatic music, but dress silly for their live performances, lyrics of their songs are an actual poems from famous poets of different times, and the attitude of their social presence is just plain hilarious. And now they announced that their third EP will be theirs final, hence the name, but no one really believes this, the hope is that they will finally begin work on a proper full-length. Time will tell.

So the Finals are just five tracks, okay not just, but whole five insanely great songs. They are all different, one thing in common is that every song has this massive chorus which gets stuck in your head like for weeks. EP starts with a punch in your face, Prancer comes to mind when you hear such instant attack on your eardrums. One thing it’s in Russian, but only first and last tracks are in Russian, rest are in English. In Kharms Way ends with such heart-breaking chorus that will make you sweat. Record shifts its pace to a more upbeat sound reminiscent of Frank Carter, but with a catchy hook that I hope one day will shake some bigger venues. Next two songs have landed on Converge territory with a very fierce breakdowns and d-beats. Guitar tone on this record is something to adore, bass and drums sound like they were melted together and overall I think it’s the best production I’ve heard in the genre. Too bad it all ends too soon with an epic closer Vasyl, but thank god for a repeat button.

The central aspect of this EP is definitely the vocals. Eugene’s delivery is very precise, his screams are so full of emotions and power, and the clean singing and melodies are just too good for the metal music, I can hear his voice fit perfectly in something more mainstream and popular. The versatility of the vocals on these five songs is just over the roof, it’s really all over the place. The way the singer shifts between different styles and techniques without losing the cohesiveness is incredible. Here he sounds like Jacob Bennon and now he’s Troy Sanders of Mastodon, Mike Patton flip-flops with Keith Buckley, and yet there’s always something unique in Eugene Tymchyk’s voice.

Yeah, there’s no point in dragging it, I love the record. I know that the vocalist has another band Septa that is somewhat bigger than The Nietzsche and I still need to get into them. But for now all I can hope that it’s all just a stupid joke and they will continue on with this band. This post-TDEP world needs you.


user ratings (94)
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
StarvingArtist (3.5)
The Nietzche have possibly been saving the best for last, with their allegedly final EP containing s...


Comments:Add a Comment 
XingKing
August 30th 2018


14868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

EP is out now. Good stuff.

ScrantonStrangler
August 30th 2018


10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Beat me to it!

Abscurat
August 31st 2018


117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think now I owe you a T-shirt or something.

anthonyonfire
September 11th 2018


10 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Spot on, my thoughts exactly!

ilhor
November 14th 2018


5 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I think this is a unique band in its genre. The vocal melodies drive you crazy, forcing you to sing the lyrics over and over, the guitar riffs break through from the inside and it all fits into one greatest EP.

SherKhan
November 15th 2018


2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

EP of the year, hands down!

beker
November 15th 2018


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

To use the words of poets by imposing them on emotional melodic parts, backing it all up with evil and insane instrumental, you get The Nietzsche - Finals. - no wonder there is a point! One of the best release of 2018



XingKing
November 16th 2018


14868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Calm down, guy

Abscurat
November 17th 2018


117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So we have a little fan club forming up here, that's gotta be nice!

Son of Mr. Pain
November 17th 2018


24873 Comments


I thought the band name was bad.

Then I got a look at those album titles. Hoo boy

iLikeSchlager
November 20th 2018


92 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Stuff is good.

DDDeftoneDDD
November 26th 2018


8095 Comments


Ok...I haven't listened or heard about this band but something tells me I'm gonna like it

Digging: Persefone - Core

XingKing
November 27th 2018


14868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You will definitely love these guys

ScrantonStrangler
November 28th 2018


10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wow, my review got the ball rolling here! Better write the next one soon.

KeyT
November 29th 2018


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

We are waiting for the next releases and a collection of live!

spunch
December 6th 2018


2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Very high quality sound and powerful songs.



xlopxlop
December 6th 2018


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

These guys never cease to amaze! Continue in the same spirit!

unhook
December 7th 2018


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good stuff



DDDeftoneDDD
December 7th 2018


8095 Comments


shit is hitting #2
still gotta check

Abscurat
December 7th 2018


117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fuck me, we're number 1 metal album, how come?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy