Greatest Love Songs Vol. 666



by Nightside USER (7 Reviews)
June 20th, 2006 | 6 replies

Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist

HIM (His Infernal Majesty) is:
Ville Valo-Vocals
Daniel Lioneye (Linde)-Guitar
Gas Lipstick-Drums

This is the first album released by the Finish Goth rockers in 1997. Greatest Lovesongs Vol.666 is known to many fans as their heaviest album. This includes tracks such as their covers - "Wicked Game" by Chris Isack and their unique "Don't Fear the reaper" by blue Oyster cult. This album even includes some ballads such as "The Heartless" and the passionate "When Love and Death Embrace".

Your sweet Six Six Six (4:12)
The opening track off this album starts off with some heavy, raw, distorted guitar and a nice drum beat. During the verse things get a bit softer, however it comes right in with another catchy guitar riff followed by some more bass and drums. During the chorus Ville sings "I'm waiting for your call and I'm ready to take your sweet six six six in my heart...". This song is certainly passionate - you can tell through Ville's high pitched vocals and the loud screeching guitar. This is also a great opener and will give you a nice perspective on how the album will generally sound. (5/5)

Wicked Game (3:54)
The track "Wicked Game" is originally performed by Chris Issack. HIM gives this track some more life to it by adding some catchy, also heavy guitar. I would have really enjoyed a nice solo by Linde but this does okay. This was HIM's first single and one of their most well known. I believe HIM did a great job with this cover. (4/5)

The Heartless (4:02)
The first ballad off this album is one of my favorites by HIM. This is a very melodic and atmospheric track. This song is about a person that has no one to love and can't seem to find anybody in life. (I guess you could tell from the title). At about 2:30 in the song it gets quiet and you think itís just about over, however you are smacked in the face with a heavy distorted breakdown. The song finishes with a chorus and fades away. (4.5/5)

Our Diabolical Rapture (5:20)
This track starts out with some creepy guitar riff that is played through out most of the song. It soon gets quiet and the verse is played. This song seems a bit bland, but as well as enjoyable because it does set a nice atmosphere. This is another HIM song about someone that is desperate about a girl and he will do anything for her. This song seems to drag on and is a bit more then a tentative listen. (3/5)

It's All Tears (Drown In This Love) (3:43)
This song is wicked, probably my favorite off the album. Ville does this high pitched voice and this low voice - some excellent dual vocals. I was surprised to hear that he keeps it this way even at concerts. Gas has superb drum beats through out this song and really stands out. During the verse Ville sings "come closer my love I'll violate you in the most sensual way" and you hear a girl screaming. Scary. I don't see why this wasn't released as a single"! (5/5)

When Love And Death Embrace (6:08)
This is another single released off this album. I enjoy this song occasionally. It really drags on and on and goes up to 6:00 min. the lyrics are very short and bland. "When love and death embrace... oh when love and death..." - ok I get it. Despite lyrics, this song really isn't that bad; it includes a nice guitar solo towards the end and once again, really sets a nice atmosphere. (3.5/5)

The Beginning of The End. (4:07)
Another distorted, creepy guitar intro followed by some nice drum beats. I can barely hear the bass though. This song seams a bit jazzy in a way, also very diabolic. Ville sings "come closer my dear it is just the beginning of the end" and "save your happiness for tomorrow and today we'll drown in your tears, a drop of your blood tastes like wine." At the end of the song Ville continuously signs "Let it rain". (4/5)

Don't Fear the Reaper (6:24)
This song was originally done by Blue Oyster Cult. HIM decided that they would sing much slower and drag it out a bit, however it sounds really nice. It starts out with some beautiful piano and in a few seconds all instruments come in. I believe that the girl singing with Ville should shut up it gets annoying IMO. It gets quiet all of a sudden around 3:25 and you hear creepy sound affects - then piano comes in and the chorus is played once more before the song ends. (4/5)

For You (3:58)
Once again, their is a keyboard intro and in a few seconds a heavy guitar is played. The atmosphere of this song is beautiful, also evil in a way. Halfway through the song it becomes quiet and you hear a women singing ohh ahh's and unexpectedly Ville comes in with this evil voice and sings "In 666 ways I love you and my heaven's wherever you are!" (4.5/5)

During the 66th track on the sixth minute their is this creepy tune that is played and their is no vocals. I will not bother rating it. It just adds to the atmosphere of the album.

Feel free to leave any comments you liked or disliked about my review and if you think I need improvement. Thank you - Nightside :)

Recent reviews by this author
HIM Uneasy Listening Vol. 1HIM 666 Ways to Love: Prologue
HIM Deep Shadows and Brilliant HighlightsHIM Razorblade Romance
HIM Dark LightHIM Love Metal
user ratings (264)
other reviews of this album
AleksiS (3.5)
Chapter I - The Beginning of the End...

Krazydrummerrob (4)

megalodon (4)
What was that album before "Razorblade Romance"?...

Comments:Add a Comment 
Brain Dead
June 20th 2006


Man, you're serially reviewing these H.I.M. albums. You're getting better at your intros, but need to work on those conclusions. Maybe you should try a non-TBT soon.

June 20th 2006


Album Rating: 5.0

I'll start writing reviews on other bands when I'm done with HIM. Oh and i think I'll stick with TBT. Thanks

June 20th 2006


It takes time to free yourself of the wretched TBT. Confidence is needed. I pretty much agree with everything Braindead stated.

June 20th 2006


Adequate review. What's with the cover?

March 22nd 2007


Album Rating: 4.5

it would really help the credibility if you'd fix a few things.

1. the song is called Our Diabolikal Rapture.

2. the guitarist's name is Mikko Viljami Lindström. Daniel Lioneye is just another pseudonym.

3. the bassplayer's name is Mikko Henrik Julius Paananen

4. the keyboardist you're talking about's name is Janne Johannes Puurtinen. but he doesn't even play on this album. Antto Einari Melasniemi does.

5. The drummer you're talking about's name is Mika Kristian Karppinen. but he doesn't either appear on this album. Juhana Tuomas Rantala is the drummer on this album.

and PS, mr. HIMself's middle name is Hermanni, if you wanna use his full name.This Message Edited On 03.22.07

March 22nd 2007


Album Rating: 3.0

It'd really help your credibility if you didn't rate it a 5.

Just kidding.

This album is alright. HIM definitely aren't as bad as they're made out to be.

You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile


Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy