Deafheaven
Ordinary Corrupt Human Love


4.5
superb

Review

by Daisy99 USER (1 Reviews)
July 9th, 2018 | 23 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Celebrating life that the previous record wanted to end

Deafheaven is a band that always changed. Be it going to huge, warm walls of noise on Sunbather or the cold and dark chugging on New Bermuda, they changed from album to album, and their latest record, Ordinary Corrupt Human Love, is no exception to this rule. Following their arguably heaviest album is their easily softest and the most experimental record, which has a warm, spacey sound which, rather than trying to punch you, like the previous records, covers you in warm blanket. The sound of the album is closer to Radiohead's In Rainbows rather than any black metal record. The most Deafheaven-like songs are the two previously released singles, Canary Yellow and Honeycomb, and a song which plays out later on the record, Glint, but not even they could escape the change. Even though they are heavy and feature Deafheaven's signature walls of noise with blast beats, tremolo guitars and screaming, they sound uplifting. Quick octave chords fly by in opening minutes of Honeycomb, sounding more like an indie rock gone metal, rather than metal band going soft, while gang vocals near the end of Canary Yellow make you wish the song'd just go on forever.

On the more experimental side of things though, it's impossible not to name Night People and Near, which both feature clean singing for the first time ever in the history of the band. Both are some of the most beautiful pieces of music the band has put together, with the shy melodies over dreamy instrumentals. Night People is also notable for featuring duet with Chelsea Wolfe. Opening track You Without End is also interesting in this regard, starting with several minutes of post rock instrumental with piano and guitar with vocal sample over it. The band has truly mastered their post rock parts there.

The lyrics have also undergone a change of style. They are still dark, but rather than to be about George's pain, they are more poetic and abstract, refering nature a lot, and again, we can see George moving on with his life and embracing the change, even if one step at a time

I'm reluctant to stay sad
Life beyond is a field
A field of flowers


Band also makes sure to put their influences on the display here, especially in the songs which break into new territory for them. Fortunately, they do it in a respectful way rather than ripping them off. Glint opens up with Slint-esque guitar before breaking into aforementioned Deafheaven-signature moody wall of noise, while both Near and Night People carry sound of Radiohead, Slowdive and My Bloody Valentine.

Ordinary Corrupt Human Love isn't Deafheaven's most original piece of work, but it just might be their best. Record sees the band moving forward while respecting their roots and their influences, joy of trying new things and, following the depression of New Bermuda, it sounds like they're enjoying life again. The record sounds like celebration of the life that the previous record wanted to end.


user ratings (559)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Chamberbelain CONTRIBUTOR (4)
Looking at ordinary life through rose-tinted glasses....

Thompson D. Gerhart STAFF (5)
Subverting expectations to bring you closer to emotional reality: pain and beauty are one in the sam...

SherlockChris9021 (4.5)
Ordinariness-Free Heavy Metal Sonic Artwork....

GooGooGajoob (3)
Hi. You may remember me from such things as 2013's Sunbather or 2015's New Bermuda....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Daisy99
July 9th 2018


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My first review I felt is good enough to be published, so any and all feedback appreciated

Doctuses
July 9th 2018


1822 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Good review have a pos

SherlockChris9021
July 9th 2018


129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wow, congratulations on your first review. You really put out some good points here, which makes me much more eager to listen to it. Have a pos.

Veldin
July 9th 2018


3477 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

when is this sucker gonna be on Spotify?

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 9th 2018


24067 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Friday

Digging: Majestic Mass - Savage Empire of Death

Veldin
July 9th 2018


3477 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ah, thank you. I enjoy the singles, so I'm interested to see where this goes. Good first review, mate. Pos'd

Daisy99
July 9th 2018


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Doctuses. @Veldin and @Sherlock thank you so much, means a lot!!!!



And yeah, it officially comes out on 13th, them streaming it sooner made it a bit confusing to me as well haha. Anyway yeah I think they chose singles well. I hope youll enjoy it as much as I did

zaruyache
July 9th 2018


19530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

You can probably still stream it on NPR, Vel.

Digging: Infernal Coil - Within a World Forgotten

hal1ax
July 9th 2018


11306 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ya u can

or dload a 128 off slsk

Hawks
July 9th 2018


59782 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

The stream seemed to be of good quality yeah.

Digging: Convulsing - Grievous

Veldin
July 9th 2018


3477 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fuck a 128 dl. Yeah, I might just cave and listen to the NPR stream, because I have free time today and I've been hearing so much hype.

inca829
July 9th 2018


21 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I really like that summary

Daisy99
July 9th 2018


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank you, inca. I was thinking about what to put there and the last line of the review just felt like the right summary for this record.

BrushedRed
July 9th 2018


2771 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

More positivity for the album. I love it!

Dewinged
July 10th 2018


11062 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice first review Daisy, solid writing.



Listening to Canary Yellow now for the first time (I'm fairly new to these guys) and, the same as I said in the Sunbather thread, I dig the music but the voice feels sort of weak to me.



Gonna wait until friday to jam the whole thing (I know there is a stream already).

Digging: Emma Ruth Rundle - On Dark Horses

Egarran
July 10th 2018


7065 Comments


That is the most heavy handed album title I have ever seen.

Good review.

Digging: Chthe'ilist - Passage Into the Xexanotth

Daisy99
July 10th 2018


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank you, Dewinged, means a lot.



Oh I'm sorry to hear that, I personally love the way George's voice fits to the music, but it's understandable in this case. But yeah, these guys could be instrumental band and still be just as great. I hope you'll enjoy the record though, maybe the ones with clean vocals are gonna fit you better.

Daisy99
July 10th 2018


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank Egarran as well!! I agree, though I grew to kind of like it over the time.

SherlockChris9021
July 10th 2018


129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Don't you guys think this is their brightest and happiest album in the discography? Because Sunbather and New Bermuda are really self-loathing, yet you've got the lyrics like "I'm reluctant to stay sad" in this album.

Daisy99
July 10th 2018


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I definitely do think so, and while there are times where I'd appreciate more post rock/black metal depression jams by these guys, I'm glad they're happier, especially after New Bermuda which was really bleak.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy