Palehorse/Palerider
Burial Songs


4.5
superb

Review

by neekafat CONTRIBUTOR (58 Reviews)
February 4th, 2018 | 31 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Something is coming.

Sometimes all I need to convince myself to check an album is the cover. And with a cover that evokes such an image of ancience and omniscience, mystery and spirituality, well I just couldn’t resist.

The whole of Burial Songs sounds like an ancient hymn, transposed through time. But it’s modern recording style and instruments don’t make it sound any less mystical. The lyrics often are indecipherable from the ever-changing soundscape, rendering them into murmured prayers. The vocals are just another instrument with which to paint the canvas, and in instances such as when they combine with the pounding drums and soaring guitars of “Tamam Shud,” they’re not there to evoke meaning rather than feeling. They exhibit alluring melodies as on the powerful opener “Sundowning,” but still sound somehow distant at the same time.

Something about the sound represented on Burial Songs seems more than human, something sculpted and shaped millennia of years prior, the way a Roman statue is familiar and alien at the same time.

The only tangible flaw here is “Sundowning”’s complete dominance. It’s so good that the remaining songs merely feel like an extension, a reason to have forty minutes of excellence instead of ten. But that isn’t really a bad thing, especially when the later tracks do go and form their own sound, such as the far more aggressive (but equally beautiful) “Nero.” Sure, there’s a concrete sound that doesn’t deviate greatly between the album’s four gargantuan slabs, but taking issue would be as strange as negatively remarking on the similarity between several exquisite marble busts. The sound is there, and changing it any more than they do might taint it beyond its power to move. There’s a purity here that can’t be tarnished, and is hard to find elsewhere.

The only thing this evokes musically for me is the oppressive trudge of Have a Nice Life’s “Guggenheim Wax Museum,” although this is far less unnerving and depressive. No, it’s brighter, more hopeful. This is a call to arms, whether it be from God, the spirits of those before us, or even the stars themselves. They’re speaking to us, they’re trying to tell us something. What exactly that is, I’m not sure we’re ready to know.



Recent reviews by this author
Common Holly When I say to you Black LightningThe Curls Bounce House
Mariee Sioux Grief in ExileCage The Elephant Social Cues
Glen Hansard This Wild WillingNilufer Yanya Miss Universe
user ratings (19)
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Papa Universe
February 4th 2018


22440 Comments


"convince me"
convince myself

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2018


17132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Woah this is short. Not sure how I feel about this review, don't know it's one of my better or worse ones, but this was one of my favorites of 2017 and this is what I had to say, just knocked me off my feet.

Anyway, check "Sundowning" here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uCAjh4EZnBU

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2018


17132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Shit thanks Uni, this is what happens when I don't get blush to proof my writing :/

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2018


3490 Comments


Stop being so good at writing, punkass. Love the imagery, especially the usage of a a Roman sculpture when describing familiarity and lack thereof. I’ll note that the actual descriptions of music are quite fleeting but going by your last para, I’ll trust that’s with good intention. Pos/10 dude, will check this out.

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2018


17132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hahaha thanks ramon! Appreciate it (:

And yes this might actually be my shortest review but the music's very hard to describe without just throwing words at it yknow? ...so I guess I decided not to!

Be sure to let me know whatcha think!

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2018


16959 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review neeka! So glad this got love around here, and it needed a review, so thanks!

Digging: The Stargazer Lilies - Occabot

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2018


17132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks man, it's just so good! (:

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
February 4th 2018


3096 Comments


One of your most straightforward, but also one of your best. Great work, Neeks.

Digging: Keaton Henson - Six Lethargies

Buccaneer
February 4th 2018


742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review. This album is superb. The tracks 'Tanam Shud' into 'Into the Abyss' are particularly wonderful

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2018


17132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks so much everyone!

@Dark, that's the band that keeps popping up whenever I'm too lazy to write these guys' full name haha

@Blush appreciate it Blush, your words always mean so much (:

@Buccaneer I love both of those but "Into the Abyss" actually stands out the least for me!

Papa Universe
February 4th 2018


22440 Comments


oh crap, forgot:

POShorse/POSrider

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2018


17132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not the worst one I've seen so far, keep it up uni

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2018


25013 Comments


this actually looks rly good neeka, nice lil rev pos

theBoneyKing
February 4th 2018


17665 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dece review for a good album neek, what I would say is you describe well that the album sounds like through the use of imagery but don’t spend enough time describing the actual sound of the album - if I hadn’t already hear the album, aside from the Have a Nice Life reference, I wouldn’t be quite sure what how album actually sounds. But still, good job.

Digging: Cocteau Twins - Treasure

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2018


25013 Comments


got enough of a taste to perk my ears but not enough to get a full scope. I think that's part of a review's job tho, to get a listener intrigued but only listening to it will give ya the full idea.

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2018


17132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks Con! Let me know if you decide to check it (:

@Boney Yeah I'll admit this isn't one of my best, though I am fond of the imagery. I guess I did try at some points to describe the sound, but it's so out there compared to what I usually listen to that I had trouble... Does that make any sense?

Aberf
May 30th 2018


2505 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hey, I think I recommended this.

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
June 22nd 2018


17132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hey, you did (;

Mentasm
June 22nd 2018


567 Comments


I need this

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
June 22nd 2018


16959 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I did rec it on the Pallbearer thread too... I think



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy