SeeYouSpaceCowboy...
Fashion Statements of the Socially Aware


3.5
great

Review

by Mort. CONTRIBUTOR (53 Reviews)
October 15th, 2017 | 35 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist


Seeyouspacecowboy are a band that I would label as spazz-sass-scene-grind-whatever-core, and that is my (pseudo) professional opinion. Fashion Statements of the Socially Aware is 8 minutes of chugging grinding screechy chaos - so much chaos in fact, in so many guises, that it’s hard to pin a label on it. That’s sort of a good thing though, because easy labelling usually equates to easy and generic music. Anyhow, they’re like a ridiculously heavy, vocal cord destroying Heavy Heavy Low Low, but one who actually knows how to write songs with dissonant bits that don’t just chug indefinitely. There’s a fair bit of clever metallic guitar interplay here, an interesting mixture of chugs, sharp bursts of dissonance and sliding wacky Daughters-esque ***ery that straddles the line between impressive and mad. The vocals are painfully caustic and sort of remind me of Art Damage era Fear Before, as do the pounding rhythmic sections that work off the tauntingly sassy vocals which make their way in occasionally. So basically, Seeyouspacecowboy are a band that I would label as spazz-sass-scene-grind-whatever core, and that is my (pseudo) professional opinion.



Recent reviews by this author
Wolf Alice Visions of a LifeUnsane Sterilize
Geotic NeptuneGeotic Duchenne Smile
Dizzee Rascal RaskitYowie Synchromysticism
user ratings (15)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2017


13296 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

bruh i lit just fixed it

Digging: The Physics House Band - Mercury Fountain

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2017


13296 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

as always sach would like ur polite but brutally soul destroying criticsm

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2017


13296 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"the descriptions paint a picture but the picture is one painted in thick brushstrokes -- the foundation is there but the details are fuzzy and vague"



i would totes agree tbh. this is something of a concious decision on my part, seeming as i dont read long revs i try to be strsight to the point and be as general (yet accurate) as possible so ppl can just get an idea of what the album is like. that does sacrifice detail tho yeh.



and yeah i try to stay away from personal inspiring "heres how much i liked this and why" to try and just give an idea of what it sounds like. that also sacrifices detail and any personal aspect. then again, i didnt have much personal to say about this tbh.



cheers for the critique tho. i am trying to find the right balance between personal and objective (eurgh) critique.

SteakByrnes
October 15th 2017


4573 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Is this just the intro to Cowboy Bebop 6 times?

Digging: Ghost Atlas - All Is In Sync, and There's Nothing Left to Sing

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2017


13296 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yes

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2017


15226 Comments


beboy cowbop

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2017


13296 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

cowbe boybop

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2017


13296 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ok i am calling a ban on any more

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2017


15226 Comments


primemort bopcow

can't stop me

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2017


13296 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

get out!!!!!

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2017


15226 Comments


outget powcop

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2017


15226 Comments


we can do this until i pass out, pebbles

americanohno
October 15th 2017


1869 Comments


the song titles and description of the music makes me think this should have been released in 2005

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2017


13296 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you could be forgiven for thinking this was myspace era white belt grind yeh

americanohno
October 15th 2017


1869 Comments


Makes me wanna get this honestly been listening to Me and Him Call it Us lately and it good stuff

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2017


13296 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ya this reminds me of them a bit good shout

PostMesmeric
October 15th 2017


702 Comments


This is actually pretty good.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2017


13296 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

GLAD U agree

foxblood
October 15th 2017


7357 Comments


gotta check this at some point

accompliceofmydeath
October 16th 2017


4615 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Jesus, this just transported me to 2005. These guys took all the best elements of that era and really crafted something pretty cool here.

Digging: Gatecreeper - Sweltering Madness



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy