Lil Pump
Lil Pump


2.5
average

Review

by posevrlord CONTRIBUTOR (92 Reviews)
October 6th, 2017 | 868 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Lil Pump's hair has more personality than he does.

The yogurt headed rapper from Florida has, at the very least, had a bit of clout in the modern pop-trap scene, for lack of a better term. His story, his appearance, and his style are all things we've seen from artists like XXXTenacion, Lil Uzi Vert, and other upcoming rap freshmen. It isn't his fault that he’s not the only rapper to spawn on Internet sites like Soundcloud, but much of his output hasn't made him stand out too much. With ties to modern rap icons like Gucci Mane & Chief Keef, this lemonade tornado has been given ample opportunities to really prove himself, but this first major release is extremely bland.

His flow and his approach to rapping are both extremely simple, shouting his lyrics in a similar manner to previously mentioned XXX, but has the benefit of having an immensely small amount of melody and restraint. His humdrum ability is even more apparent when placed next to the larger than life artists who feature on this album, such as Gucci, Keef, 2 Chainz, who are people who have become big because of their iconic and fun styles. In contrast, Lil Pump is playing second fiddle on many of the better songs that are contained here. The rappers that make this apparent are understandingly not pulling out their best lines for this yelping 17 year old, but their contributions still remind the listener who’s still sitting at the kiddie table.

What Pump is spitting isn't incredibly fun or witty, with his cheesy bars being almost devoid of the cleverness and slight amounts of silliness of many people he shares the spotlight with here. Most of his attempts at one-liners fall flat of enjoyment, as lines like “diamonds so yellow it look like piss” and “Side bitch still got a iPhone 5 / Main bitch still got a iPhone 7” display the lackluster lyricism showcased here. Much of the liveliness that pokes up from time to time is mostly from the occasionally enjoyable beats, which come from producers like Bighead and CBMix. Despite the heavy and pestering bass boosting, which is a genre regular today, plenty of the songs have moments of amusing progression. On the other hand, this record also contains bland beats that boringly follow trap staples.

And, despite the surplus of problems, this can still be a bit of fun if you turn your mind off. Pump isn't a great emcee, but he’s got a bit of potential and is far from the worst rapper in the scene right now. There are the few moments when the bright haired individual can keep up with the rest of the album. These things said, this record also has barely enough to finish its 36 minute runtime with dignity, with almost all his features stealing the barely existent show. It’s a spot of fun in the moment, but I’m not sure if I’ll remember this tomorrow morning.



Recent reviews by this author
Butthole Surfers Locust Abortion Technician21 Savage i am > i was
Butthole Surfers Rembrandt PussyhorseGucci Mane Evil Genius
Butthole Surfers Cream Corn From the Socket of DavisButthole Surfers Psychic... Powerless... Another Man's Sac
user ratings (234)
Chart.
2.3
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
Bloon
Contributing Reviewer
October 6th 2017


2309 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Stream the release here: https://soundcloud.com/wavey-hefner/sets/lil-pump

Keep an eye out for Ianblxdsoe's much more positive review.

Digging: The Prodigy - The Fat of the Land

StarlessCore
October 6th 2017


5864 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

he just blowssss



some of the beats were cool tho, and i liked the features



and d rose is lit except for the parts where he actually says d rose

Digging: Chief Keef - The Leek 7

Ryus
October 6th 2017


16882 Comments


bad

Drifter
October 6th 2017


15026 Comments


I've only heard d rose and it is indeed lit

Bloon
Contributing Reviewer
October 6th 2017


2309 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

what are even talking about

cant you accept that i dont like this and you do?

StarlessCore
October 6th 2017


5864 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

he just sounds bad tho



not pleasurable for the most part



not objectively bad just sounds bad and hes literally worthless himself on the beats. features were cool tho but he ruined the potential of most of this for me



idk maybe the beats good enuf to warrant a 2

Bloon
Contributing Reviewer
October 6th 2017


2309 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

the beats had their moments and so did he

the dudes got potential but he put out a mediocre release imo

StarlessCore
October 6th 2017


5864 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

he got the potential to lick this nut in all honesty



will i get banned for that its actually the truth

Bloon
Contributing Reviewer
October 6th 2017


2309 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

lmao

Ryus
October 6th 2017


16882 Comments


beat selection is good but his flows and lyrics are so incredibly repetitive that i just cant love him

Bloon
Contributing Reviewer
October 6th 2017


2309 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i mean he sounds like others imo, idk man just take what i say with a grain of salt i dont feel like arguing

StarlessCore
October 6th 2017


5864 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

his ability to ride a beat isnt top tier dear god he like doesn't even do anything



tbh beat selection in trap shouldnt be that hard if you even have a shred of musicality in your veins. choosing some of the beats that ended up on here, however much he was actually involved in that process as it varies a bit from artist to artist, is not impressive



yea rick ross is whack thooo

hal1ax
October 6th 2017


12682 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

lolz we got hella controversy up in the pump thread



EEESSSKEEEEEEDIIIIIT

FullOfSounds
October 6th 2017


15771 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

might check this out of curiosity - good review bloon

Bloon
Contributing Reviewer
October 6th 2017


2309 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

im gonna skrt skrt the fuck outta here

plz no controversy

Bloon
Contributing Reviewer
October 6th 2017


2309 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

also thanks for some kind words guys

StarlessCore
October 6th 2017


5864 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

lol bloon y would you do a review of lil pump of all people if you dont want arguments bahaha

Bloon
Contributing Reviewer
October 6th 2017


2309 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

BRUH I CANT BUY NEW EARS UNLESS I GO ON THE BLACK MARKET

Bloon
Contributing Reviewer
October 6th 2017


2309 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

sorry starless

StarlessCore
October 6th 2017


5864 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

"and then you've gotta pick beats that fit your flow"



not rlly flow more like he opens his mouth and words come out and it matches the rhythm



dont rlly get how you think 21 sucks but this guy doesnt. kinda absurd. BUY NEW EAARZ



god dam d rose bangs tho but how do you not make a dope song with that beat





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy