Palm (PA)
Shadow Expert


4.0
excellent

Review

by Conmaniac CONTRIBUTOR (72 Reviews)
June 16th, 2017 | 65 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: history in the making?

Within the first 10 seconds of listening to Shadow Expert you’re able to sense that Palm’s sound is going to be an anomaly, at least for another few years. Sure you can lump the band under a multitude of genres; math rock for the strange time signature changes, noise rock for the dissonant and sometimes abrasive guitar licks, and even "experimental" for all the risks they take throughout the EP. However, you can also make a strong argument against each of these genres as the bright, twinkly riffs are nowhere to be seen, the distorted guitar tones are rarely used, and despite the risks, experimental is really just a cop-out genre description. When compared to their debut LP, Trading Basics, the production appears a bit cleaner and the vocal effects are a bit more subdued, but that doesn’t take away from how weird this band sounds. Maybe I’m exaggerating, yet every time I put Palm on I think to myself, “is this what it’s like to watch the birth of a new genre?”.

As for the individual songs, all six seem to bury themselves comfortably within a niche of their own sound. Yet, unlike their previous effort, the album doesn’t ever feel like a Pollock; a splatter of new ideas thrown beautifully onto a canvas, chaotic and gnarled. The band even said in an interview that this was their attempt at a cohesive piece, and it really shows throughout all of the tracks. ‘Walnut’ proves to be the centerpiece for a reason as its angular, quirky guitar melody drives the song into many off-kilter climaxes while lead singer Kasra Kurt croons nonchalantly over the unpredictable mess. Opener ‘Walkie Talkie’ is the most direct callback to their earlier work with its stop-start rhythm section and duel male/female vocals who both directly reference the title of their previous album. Lastly, closer ‘Sign to Signal’ is an exploration into noise pop as both guitars devolve into abrasive yet bubbly riffs, seemingly paying no attention to the beat yet still finding a way to keep in time. If there’s any obvious strength that Palm displays, it’s that the four-piece is able to thrive within the nonsensical. Figuring this EP out is a tiring task, yet a rewarding one because once you do you’ll realize they have something special no other band has right now.



Recent reviews by this author
Childish Gambino 03.15.20Prince Daddy and The Hyena Cosmic Thrill Seekers
Ski Mask The Slump God StokeleyJoji BALLADS 1
GHOSTEMANE N / O / I / S / EJoey Purp Quarterthing
user ratings (61)
3.7
great
related reviews

Rock Island

Comments:Add a Comment 
Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 16th 2017


25601 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hi servers are back and so am I. this came out today but it's been streaming for the past four days here: http://www.stereogum.com/1946383/stream-palm-shadow-expert-ep/music/album-stream/

really special band here. feedback always appreciated too (:

pjorn
June 16th 2017


4405 Comments


cool band, will check later.

sweet review conboi

VaxXi
June 16th 2017


4418 Comments


i read your review, are you happy now?

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 16th 2017


25601 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

no.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 16th 2017


25601 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

damn monte coming in with that 3....he 3s everything I love it seems like

butcherboy
June 16th 2017


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

second half off the EP, from Walnut on is killer! and a class write-up, Con..

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 16th 2017


25601 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

last three are my favs for sure

literallyzach
June 16th 2017


519 Comments


lovely album art, i'll check this out

hesperus
Contributing Reviewer
June 16th 2017


1157 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this was definitely interesting. i think you nailed the weird combination of genres they're working with. when i read this review, i was actually re-listening to the new Pile album, which is also angular, experimental indie rock that's hard to categorize, so i kind of expected this to sound similar. then i listened, and yeah, it does a little (though it's more upbeat and mathy).

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 16th 2017


25601 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yes Pile is a great comparison. need to get more into those guys.

hesperus
Contributing Reviewer
June 16th 2017


1157 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you really do

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 16th 2017


25601 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

listening as we speak aha

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
June 17th 2017


3275 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sweet write-up as per usual, Con. Your descriptions are super intriguing, will check immediately. Been looking for noise pop.

Digging: Emily Keener - I Do Not Have To Be Good

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 17th 2017


25601 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hey thanks blush. not really noise pop but i'm sure you'll at least appreciate the weirdness of this

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
June 17th 2017


3275 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's fantastic. Kinda reminds me of earlier Collections of Colonies of Bees.

ianblxdsoe
June 17th 2017


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

always the best reviews around man ,, i wonder if i'd dig this

AsleepInTheBack
Contributing Reviewer
June 17th 2017


6323 Comments


Cracking review bud, spiritual pos. Definitely going to check this.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 17th 2017


25601 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks asleep and ian (: lemme know what ya guys think! it's a weirdddd album but it's so cool

Maniac!
June 17th 2017


28153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This rules





It's like Slowdive meets Minus the Bear. I think.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 17th 2017


25601 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

never would've said that but i can maybe see it? idk..but glad ya dig!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy