SikTh
The Future in Whose Eyes?


2.6
average

Review

by Rowan5215 STAFF
June 5th, 2017 | 160 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Is it future, or… is it past?

When I reviewed Opacities back in 2015, I was grudgingly but deeply optimistic about SikTh's future. With the possibility of any music increasingly unlikely with every calendar page that flipped up after Death of a Dead Day – which, to be fair, what an album to go out on – Opacities was almost too good to be true, a short-and-sweet EP that took all SikTh's best qualities and revived them for a scene which SikTh had helped to create, and which had stagnated in their wake. Revived them in a way that, two years and one new album on, is starting to feel more and more like just compressing them into digestible, bite-sized, user-friendly chunks.

The Future in Whose Eyes" sounds like a tribute band doing a really good SikTh impersonation, a carefully crafted facsimile that just about holds up until you're up close and the cracks in the paint start to show. And believe me, there are cracks. Mikee's spoken word solo ventures – once a hilarious, creepy treat, now a thing you know will happen eventually and kind of have to sit through, and hey, this time around we get three for the price of none! - have started to feel more formulaic than earned. His ridiculous ability to do the voices of about two thousand people at once is completely wasted on the whole album, in favour of basically going back and forth between a mid-range nu-metal yell and an annoying budget Australian accent (honestly, "When It Rains" sounds like a knockoff Nick Cave writing a sequel to "Fitter Happier"). Joe, or 'new guy who's not Justin' has a decent voice, but it's immediately clear he could never carry a song like "Peepshow" or "In This Light", those entirely necessary breaths of beautiful, over-dramatic air. On the whole, Joe's forgettable interjections into the songs make him come across less a member of the band than a guy they brought in to sing in the bits where Mikee had to catch breath.

Opacities foreshadowed a lemon-scented fresh SikTh with ultra-modern sensibilities, extending/devolving their original fascination with environmental decay – remember "When Will the Forest Speak"" Hard not to miss, isn't it" – into the kind of all-encompassing "man, how bad is society" writing that tries to pass for political commentary a lot these days. The EP kind of pulled it off, because the songs were really good and the runtime was short, but across The Future In Whose Eyes"'s patience-trying, incessantly mid-tempo duration, you get beat around the head with their new-found wokeness so often you'll end up sounding like one of Mikee's animal impersonations on The Trees Are Dead.... Meaningless snippets of half-commentary like 'money makes the world go round/they weave the web without a sound' present themselves without an ounce of self-awareness, with the blackly comic sadsack humour of songs like "How May I Help You"" and "Such the Fool" barely a speck in the rearview mirror. Everyone in the band can still beat the crap out of their instruments, undoubtedly, but what does that matter when you're playing in a shop front window and the audience are mannequins"

I'm tempted to say that SikTh's first two albums were an anomaly – the kind of once-in-a-lifetime thing that only happens when an inventive, talented band hire a semi-demented preacher/shaman/voiceover artist as their frontman, which to be fair is a pretty damn once-in-a-lifetime event. But it just isn't entirely true. The real SikTh, the SikTh of both past and future are bubbling under the surface, chaotic and lovely, stupid and brilliant, hungry to break out and growl and scream about Yetis and skies of millennium night. There's just a unexceptional support act starting the show. They look like them, play like them, to a point they even sound like them, but don't be fooled – the real act is waiting in the wings.



Recent reviews by this author
Vince Staples FM!Coheed and Cambria The Unheavenly Creatures
Lupe Fiasco DROGAS WaveBrockhampton Iridescence
Big Red Machine Big Red MachineFoxing Nearer My God
user ratings (191)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
cloakanddagger (4)
A welcome return, featuring socially conscious lyrics and retaining the band's signature (if somewha...



Comments:Add a Comment 
Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2017


40741 Comments

Album Rating: 2.6

I'm sad now

ComeToDaddy
June 5th 2017


1774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Jesus that was savage. Great rev and right on point with most of my problems with it though, was surprised by the fairly positive reception it's been getting.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2017


40741 Comments

Album Rating: 2.6

was hoping less for savagery and more just to communicate my weary disappointment, but I'll take it

undertakerpt
June 5th 2017


1573 Comments


What a cracking read! As a longtime fan, I feel exactly the same. "The real act is waiting in the wings" sums up what a lot of people feel after hearing this. I'm preying to god that if they do decide to continue making music that this album is just the awkward finding your feet phase. There needs to be more killer guitar riff hooks like the end of "way beyond the fond old river" and the drummer and bassist arnt being utilised at the level they are capable of. It's like the passion is gone.

I did enjoy "crack of light" though.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2017


40741 Comments

Album Rating: 2.6

Crack of Light and Ride the Illusion aren't too shabby, bumped it above a 2.5 for those two really

ConcubinaryCode
June 5th 2017


4386 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hey, nice review! A lot of this feels accurate but I still think it's a real solid listen.

I also listened to opacities after I heard this and really came to like that more.

MO
June 5th 2017


22449 Comments


good review. I wasn't looking forward to this after hearing what they sounded like on Opacities, will check this but won't hold my breath during it

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2017


40741 Comments

Album Rating: 2.6

I still like Opacities though to be fair I haven't listened to it in about a year. this is just diet SikTh

Cryio
June 5th 2017


120 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've given a few spins to the album and I'm .... bewildered. The 3 lead songs they've released on Youtube are really, really good: Vivid, No Wishbones and Golden Cufflinks (though the last one sounds like the mathcore version of Meteora era Linkin Park). The other songs though? Most sound random, without purpose. Meandering vocals and instrumental. I need to listen some more.



PS: Will no one comment on how No Wishbones on Youtube is better edited than the album version? The "FEAR!" section flows so naturally at 3:08 on YT, while there is some dead air in the album track, and the "FEAR" sections is delayed pointlessly to 3:21.

undertakerpt
June 5th 2017


1573 Comments


I was disappointed with opacities and the 3 singles off this because I know what these guys are capable of. I feel there may be some sort of mainstream pressure on them to create more accessible songs, now that they have had success in touring with bigger names.

VanFullOfSpooks
June 5th 2017


23 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

This was a good review but your score is WAY too low.

I admit its a little disappointing to hear them tone their music down but it still sounds like Sikth and is a solid 3 or 3.5. This is no where near the insane awesomeness of their older albums but they still have some really good stuff on here and the vocals (while toned down) still sound fantastic.



This is just a "Okay" album. Its not bad but its no where near the same level as their older work. Still the album is better then a 2.6 in my opinion.

VanFullOfSpooks
June 5th 2017


23 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Oh and I actually loved Opacities unlike some people here. I thought it was a great album that was toned down but still very good. This album tones down the "chaotic" sound a lot more then opacities and that is why I can not go above a 3.5 review. They are playing it WAY too safe.

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 5th 2017


28390 Comments


This was a good review but your score is WAY too low.

Review score: 2.6
Your score: 3.0

Joke?

Digging: John Nolan - Abendigo

VanFullOfSpooks
June 5th 2017


23 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Fixed, I meant to give them a 3.5, anything higher is being generous. Its ATLEAST a 3 but again, that is just my OPINION.

TheMrAlexK
June 5th 2017


10443 Comments


The cover made me think this was a new Montana of 300 album

undertakerpt
June 5th 2017


1573 Comments


@concubinarycode, vanfullofspooks.

I just gave opacities another go. It's a lot better this time round. Probably a 4/high 3.5, Justin's vocals are better than ever and even though it's not as mental as previous efforts, the songwriting is solid.

"Diet Sikth" is a fitting description for this though. But then, I remember that following DOADD is like telling your wife you secretly have aids.

LunaticSoul
June 5th 2017


1064 Comments


Great review

Completely agree after a couple of listens.

Opacities was great and to the point

Wizard
June 5th 2017


20202 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I'm tempted to say that SikTh's first two albums were an anomaly – the kind of once-in-a-lifetime thing that only happens when an inventive, talented band hire a semi-demented preacher/shaman/voiceover artist as their frontman, which to be fair is a pretty damn once-in-a-lifetime event.



I would actually say to this that they're the type of albums that sound cool at first until you realize how shallow/ hallowed out their actual songs are with initial listens. All flash, big bang and nothing to show for it.



This was a total waste of my time. Totally grown out of this gimmicky sub genre.

Emim
June 5th 2017


27657 Comments


Lol

Kusangii
June 5th 2017


2052 Comments


Just Wiz things



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy