Employed to Serve
The Warmth Of A Dying Sun


4.0
excellent

Review

by Chamberbelain CONTRIBUTOR (213 Reviews)
May 13th, 2017 | 148 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Perfectly cohesive and suitably destructive hardcore.

Considering that the band was originally conceived as a mere bedroom project only 6 years ago, not many bands are ascending through the underground scene as swiftly as Employed to Serve. Having built a solid foundation of furious, invigorating hardcore on their debut album, “Greyer Than You Remember”, their new album, “The Warmth of a Dying Sun”, is another, stronger, more matured statement of intent and signals that this band is well on their way to widespread acclaim.

Fans of Botch and Converge should recognise the familiar territory that Employed to Serve is founded on. While “The Warmth of a Dying Sun” is undeniably full of unrestrained energy and veering dynamics, the structure of each song is meaningful and each swerve is not without purpose. “Church of Mirrors”, is full of jittering riffs and smashing drums solely dedicated to creating a tormented disposition. “Void Ambition” also shares this zero-tolerance: maximum offence attitude via jagged grooves and merciless breakdowns. The mark of a good harsh vocalist is where you can comprehend every word they speak while their vocals still sound agonising; Justine Jones is an excellent vocalist. Her shrieks echo across Employed to Serve’s sophomore album with fierce conviction, moreover, they reinforce the intense instrumentation that her bandmates establish.

The general concepts behind the songs on “The Warmth of a Dying Sun” convey mental health issues. Arguably, Hardcore is a go-to genre for expressing these kinds of concepts as the dynamic abrasiveness allows bands to freely express a sonic representation of the conflicting emotions someone may feel more than other, one-directional genres, such as thrash or doom, could hope to achieve. From start to finish, Employed to Serve delivers a brutal assault on the senses during the “Half Life” and the fantastic title track which details the feelings a sufferer of depression has. The Converge-esque insanity assists in developing an overpowering attitude, similar to how the overwhelming hopelessness of depression uncontrollably dictates one’s mood and actions. Some mental illnesses can even be inherited. The spacious, restful melodies during “Apple Tree” mimic the acceptance and ominous tone one might feel knowing they are doomed, moreover, as the riffs become progressively heavier the inevitability of this sickness becomes all the more crushing.

Despite how Employed to Serve evokes an irate struggle in overcoming a mental illness through their tormenting, schizophrenic soundscape, feelings of doubt and inadequacy will always gnaw away at the first sign of optimism in the back of a victim’s mind. Representing the depressive side of this conflict is Jamie Venning’s anchoring bass. The disheartened, downbeat tone adds a darker layer to the songs which amplify these lurking feelings of insufficiency, regardless of how passionate the other instruments might sound. “Lethargy” is the most obvious choice as the first half features groaning rhythms with yawning bass takes precedence. Although the song contorts into an anguished, invigorating rhythm, it’s the sluggish pace that has the more powerful effect. Following suit with perfect consistency, “I Spend My Days (Wishing Them Away)” revolves around an undulating groove to strengthen this distressing sensation. It’s the punching riffs during “Good For Nothing” that repeatedly plunge the knife into your gut, however, it’s the bass that twists the blade.

Let’s face it, there’s a lot of *** going on in the world right now and this album is an excellent soundtrack to describe the current state of affairs. Nevertheless, at least we can all rejoice over the fact that a band who deals in violence and darkness, ironically, has an exceedingly bright future ahead of them.



Recent reviews by this author
Big|Brave A Gaze Among ThemSunn O))) Life Metal
Raised By Owls DreadfulBrutus (BE) Nest
Louise Lemón A Broken Heart is an Open HeartVenom Prison Samsara
user ratings (112)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Kenneth Timper (5)
Using chaotic metalcore as a vehicle for their ambitious ideas, Employed to Serve cement their name ...

JorgeLazenby (4)
I see your ghost in the bones of my face...

trending all genres albums

I Am Easy to Find

IGOR

Rammstein

Dedicated


Comments:Add a Comment 
Chamberbelain
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2017


141 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album stream:

www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/music/features/employed-to-serve-the-warmth-of-a-dying-sun-album-stream-a7731826.html

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2017


3010 Comments


Sweet review man, looking forward to giving these guys a spin having read this.

DanielNightLewis
May 14th 2017


1028 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I found this one to be a real disappointment. So much intensity lost and all the mid-tempo stuff is super boring.

robotmagician
May 16th 2017


1123 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

really good album. could have been great but those slower parts are boring and don't really go anywhere or do anything for me. the vocalist is awesome though. nice review

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
May 17th 2017


2597 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Slow album to get into. The first few songs are weaker in my opinion than anything on ETS' debut...but once "Lethargy" starts it's clear that the band's songwriting has matured and improved over the course of 2 years. Most of the musicianship here demonstrates what I like to call "controlled chaos", mid-paced material which is both intense and satisfying for the right person. Also, I saw this band back in November at Damnation festival, and they absolutely slayed. Definitely recommend them as a live act.

Chamberbelain
Contributing Reviewer
May 18th 2017


141 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I completely agree- seen them 3 times so far and they always put on a great performance. I'm looking forward to seeing them again at Arctangent and 2000trees too.

Gnodab
May 20th 2017


106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this goes hard

Wildcardbitchesss
May 22nd 2017


3064 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Seriously, Lethargy is so fucking good. Might have to review this but yours is excellent



Pos

JS19
May 22nd 2017


7119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've met these guys quite a few times now through a friend who is mates with them, loveliest people as well

Digging: Tim Hecker - Anoyo

Hawks
May 24th 2017


70716 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is so good.

Digging: Full of Hell - Weeping Choir

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2017


2597 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is so good.



Didn't think this was your sort of jam Hawks. Glad you enjoy it though!

Gnodab
May 25th 2017


106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Damn i thought sput would be all over this, this deserves more attention.

Killer album

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2017


2597 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's not that surprising to me given that this band have only been around for like 5 years. That said, they do represent a brilliant uprising of Northern UK hardcore acts, and are arguably the frontrunners of such a scene. That's what I believe anyway, evidentially from both albums being awesome and the fact that they're an excellent live act.

Gnodab
May 25th 2017


106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I can imagine this being absolutely insane live, sadly only touring in the UK for now..

Wildcardbitchesss
May 26th 2017


3064 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yea, saw on their IG that they were making plans to come to the US. Would love to see them headline but idk if they're big enough. Which sucks, because this is a early AOTY contender. Amazing fucking record.

JS19
May 26th 2017


7119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Erm they're not from the North??

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
May 26th 2017


2597 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They're not?

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
May 26th 2017


2597 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My mistake, just found out the band is based in Woking, which isn't Northern UK at all.



OK, I should have said "UK hardcore acts" rather than shoehorning "Northern" in there. Strange, I was convinced they'd come from Sheffield/Hull area...

JS19
May 26th 2017


7119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah they play most of their shows down here in the South, and Justine works for Holy Roar who are London-based



They are absolutely destructive live though if you get the chance see em

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
May 26th 2017


2597 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They are absolutely destructive live though if you get the chance see em



I know this too well, having seen them live at last year's damnation festival. Awesome set.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy