Emmure
Look at Yourself


2.0
poor

Review

by Mort. CONTRIBUTOR (55 Reviews)
March 4th, 2017 | 410 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Even Josh Travis can't save this band.

Look at Yourself is simultaneously Emmure’s best record and their most disappointing. Josh Travis (Glass Cloud/Tony Danza) was supposed to do wonderful things for the band. He was supposed to usher in a new era, defined by a technical, atonal flair; one that would fit in nicely with the relentless chugging and overabundance of testosterone Emmure already rely on. But sadly even he can’t fully redeem them. The dissonant atmosphere he brings to the table may improve things slightly - but it doesn’t stop the chugging being as unvaried as ever. Furthermore, his presence does nothing to prevent Palmeri’s contrived vocal affections, who spends most of Look at Yourself trying to sound as ***ing hardcore as possible, alternating between cocky half-baked raps and angst-y muttering, which is a shame because he can’t pull it off and his plain old harsh vocals are relatively hard hitting. Moreover, his lyrics are a detriment to the supposed seriousness of the album; lines like “I am your ***ing saviour/I am the ***ing antichrist” smack of future school-shooter edginess without a hint of irony. Repeatedly he detracts from the atmosphere Travis lays down with his presence, removing any sense of real vitriol or pain through his artificially emotional vocals. I guess replacing all the members of your band doesn’t achieve a whole lot when it’s you that’s the problem.



Recent reviews by this author
Kero Kero Bonito TOTEPThe Garden U Want The Scoop?
Wolf Alice Visions of a LifeSeeYouSpaceCowboy... Fashion Statements of the Socially Aware
Unsane SterilizeGeotic Neptune
user ratings (233)
Chart.
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
lecolumbus (2.5)
Mixing Emmure and late Glass Cloud turns out to be like mixing milk with skim milk....

John7 (3.5)
I guess we have to take Emmure seriously now......


Comments:Add a Comment 
Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2017


14242 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

not much to say about an album that is super samey

Digging: Xiu Xiu - Plays The Music Of Twin Peaks

SteveOffProbation
March 4th 2017


1445 Comments


bam, one paragraph to rule em all.

nailed it right on the head with this one

JeetJeet
March 4th 2017


6328 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Let's be real, Josh had no chance of saving this band. Frankie is Emmure and Emmure is Frankie. Band will always be the same as long as he's in it. Good review. Laughed at “future school-shooter edginess”

Digging: Rico Nasty and Kenny Beats - Anger Management

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2017


14242 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i think he had a slim chance



and cheers

Nocturtle
March 4th 2017


937 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this album is lit tho



monster grooves all over

Snide
March 4th 2017


7050 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Gonna have to write a review of this since all the other ones are negative.

Good review Mort.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2017


14242 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

some of its lit



so many riffs and shit i like here



AND THEN FRANKIE OPENS HIS MOUTH

peartnoy
March 4th 2017


1388 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The end of Russian Hotel Aftermath is pretty good.

Nocturtle
March 4th 2017


937 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@mort- yeah frankies a massive doucher but he's vox are dope when he's not rapping



turtle in a hare is the best song here

lecolumbus
March 4th 2017


159 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

gotta agree on frankie being the biggest problem on the album, I don't think I emphasized that enough with my review.

I reckon he wanted to get an album out there quickly to prove himself or some shit like that so that's why there's so many rushed songs. I'm probably giving the glass cloud blokes too much credit though

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2017


14242 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yeah his vox are dope when hes not rapping



he has some really solid harsh roars

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2017


8941 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Color me surprised, this doesn't immediately suck. Dare I say they actually improved



Kick out Frankie and throw in a competent vocalist and we might be on to something here

Snake.
March 4th 2017


21587 Comments


does this djent or derp

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2017


8941 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Frankie's still in it so it does both

danielcardoso
March 4th 2017


11770 Comments


Nice one Mort.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2017


14242 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

thanks daniel

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2017


8941 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I really do feel like they could take this style, subtract some chugging, and add in a better vocalist with better lyrics (drop the rap pls) and we'll get a pre solid 3 - 3.5 album.

bloc
March 4th 2017


55105 Comments


Looking forward to increasing my numbers with this album

Digging: The Chemical Brothers - No Geography

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2017


8941 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

It's their best yet if that means anything whatsoever

bloc
March 4th 2017


55105 Comments


I just need songs like Protoman and MDMA



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy